Finding Diaries and Autobiographies

In the HOLLIS Catalog find bibliographies of autobiographies and diaries with Subject keyword searches of the form:

Autobiographies Germany Bibliography
Autobiography French authors Bibliography
English diaries Bibliography

General

Inventaire des inventaires de textes autobiographiques, by P. Lejeune, offers a list of bibliographies of autobiographies by country.

Women's diaries, journals, and letters: an annotated bibliography, by Cheryl Cline. New York: Garland Pub., 1989.
LOCATION: Schlesinger: Ref. 016.92 C641w
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC CT3230.Z99 C55x 1989

Arranged by author with lists by broad professional, subject, and geographical categories.

English-Language

Personal writings by women to 1900: a bibliography of American and British writers, by Gwenn Davis. London; New York: Mansell/ Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, 1989.
LOCATION: Schlesinger: Ref. 016.82 D261p
LOCATION: Widener: RR1712.10

Arranged by author, with chronological list under broad year spans (25 years for 19th century) and index by broad subjects.

An annotated bibliography of diaries printed in English, by C. S. Handley. Aldeburgh: Hanover Press, 1997.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC CT25.Z99 H36 1997x F Library has: 4 v.
--Annotated entries, arranged chronologically. Name and detailed topical indexes. Includes author index to Matthew's American, British and Canadian bibliographies (see below)

Indexes (by author):
  • Havlice, Patricia Pate. And so to bed: a bibliography of diaries published in English.
  • Matthews, William. American diaries: an annotated bibliography of American diaries written prior to the year 1861.
  • Matthews, William. British autobiographies: an annotated bibliography of British autobiographies published or written before 1951.
  • Matthews, William. British diaries; an annotated bibliography of British diaries written between 1442 and 1942.
  • Matthews, William. Canadian diaries and autobiographies.

Also includes diaries not in the indexed bibliographies.

And so to bed: a bibliography of diaries published in English, by Patricia Pate Havlice. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1987.
LOCATION: Widener: RR 3623.18.4

Annotated entries, arranged chronologically. Name and topic indexes. Includes author index to Matthew's American, British and Canadian bibliographies.

United States and Canada

American diaries: an annotated bibliography of published American diaries and journals, by Laura Arksey. 2 v. Detroit, Mich.: Gale Research, 1983, 1987.
LOCATION: Lamont: REF.ROOM CT214.Z99 A74x 1983
LOCATION: Widener: RR 3623.18.15

Arranged chronologically with name (author and subject person), subject, and geographical indexes.

American diaries in manuscript, 1580-1954: a descriptive bibliography, by William Matthews. Athens: University of Georgia Press, 1974, 176 p.
LOCATION: Baker Business | Z5305.U5 M32 1974.
LOCATION: Countway Medicine | Rare Books Reference | Z1231.D6 M41.
LOCATION: Houghton | Reading Room | HRR 288.18.5.
LOCATION: Lamont | REF.ROOM | CT211.Z9 M3x.
LOCATION: Widener | RR3623.18.10

Arranged chronologically with author index.

New England diaries, 1602-1800: a descriptive catalogue of diaries, orderly books and sea journalsby Harriette Merrifield Forbes. Topsfield, Mass.: Perkins Press, 1923.
LOCATION: Widener: B 140.9 Library has: Copy A.; Copy B trans. to Harvard Depository.
LOCATION: Widener: RR 3640. 14
LOCATION: Widener: US 10866.2

Arranged by author with topic index. No chronological access.

Personal accounts of events, travels, and everyday life in America: an annotated bibliography, by E. Richard McKinstry. Winterthur, Del.: Henry Francis du Pont Winterthur Museum, 1997, 236 p.
Widener | RR 3623.18.20

Manuscripts included are from the Winterthur collection. Chronological and Comprehensive (topical) indexes to manuscripts. Geographical index to travel accounts

American autobiography, 1945-1980: a bibliography. Madison, Wis.: University of Wisconsin Press, 1982.
LOCATION: Schlesinger: Ref. 016.92 B85a
LOCATION: Widener: RR 1712.6.4

Aranged by author, with name and detailed subject index. Subject index includes terms and names(!) not in the entry annotations.

First person female American: a selected and annotated bibliography of the autobiographies of American women living after 1950. Troy, NY: Whitston Pub. Co., 1980.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC HQ1412.Z99 F57 x

List of Topics of Interest to Women’s Studies keyed to entries.

Through a woman's I: an annotated bibliography of American women's autobiographical writings, 1946-1976, by Patricia K Addis. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1983.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC CT3260.Z99 A32 x, 1983

The published diaries and letters of American women: an annotated bibliography, by Joyce D. Goodfriend. Boston, Mass.: G.K. Hall, 1987.
LOCATION: Schlesinger: Ref. 016.92 G651p
LOCATION: Widener: RR 3623.18.18

Arranged chronologically with name and (broad) subject indexes. Geographic entries under “Locality” in the Subject index.

A bibliography of American autobiographies, by Louis Kaplan. Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 1961.
LOCATION: Baker Business: Z1224.K3
LOCATION: Schlesinger: Ref. 016.92 K17b
LOCATION: Widener: RR 1712.6

Arranged by author, with name/subject index. Subject index contains largely occupations (includes “Immigrants”). Subject entries are repeated under broad geographic categories (e.g., South Atlantic).

American diaries: an annotated bibliography of American diaries written prior to the year 1861, by William Matthews. Boston, Mass.: J.S. Canner, 1959.
LOCATION: Andover-Harv. Theol: Ref. Z5305.U5 M3 1959
LOCATION: Widener: RR 3623.18.5

Arranged chronologically with author index.

Canadian diaries and autobiographies, by William Matthews. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1950.
LOCATION: Widener: RR 3644. 10

Arranged by author with index by broad topics.

United Kingdom

The Autobiography of the working class: an annotated critical bibliography, ed. by John Burnett, David Vincent, David Mayall. Brighton, Sussex : Harvester, c1984-1989. 3 v.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 577.1
LOCATION: Widener | WID-LC | HD8393.A1 Z992 x, 1984

Indexes of topics, places, occupations, type of education, and date (by decade).

British diaries; an annotated bibliography of British diaries written between 1442 and 1942, by William Matthews. Gloucester, Mass., P. Smith, 1967, 339 pp.
LOCATION: Andover-Harv. Theol: Ref. Z5305.G7 M3 1967
LOCATION: Lamont: REF.ROOM CT771.Z99 M37x 1967
LOCATION: Widener: 10468.60.1
LOCATION: Widener: RR3704.2

Arranged chronologically. Name index.

British manuscript diaries of the nineteenth century: an annotated listing, by John Stuart Batts. Totowa, N.J. : Rowman and Littlefield, 1976, 345 p.
LOCATION: Widener | RR3704.3

Annotated entries, arranged chronologically. Name and topic indexes.

British women's diaries: a descriptive bibliography of selected nineteenth-century women's manuscript diaries, by Cynthia Huff. New York: AMS Press, 1985.
LOCATION: Schlesinger: Ref. 016.941 H88b
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC HQ1593.Z99 H83 x, 1985

Women in context: two hundred years of British women autobiographers, a reference guide and reader, by Barbara Kanner. New York: G.K. Hall; London: Prentice Hall Hall [sic] International, c1997.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC HQ1593.A3 Z995 1997x

Annotated entries arranged by author. Indexes: authors by birth year (in 20-year segments), biographical features (e.g., profession, activities, religion, politics, marital status), and subject.