South East Asia: a guide to reference material, by Andrew Dalby. London ; New York : Hans Zell Publishers, 1993, 302 p.
--Biography chapter (pp. 66-82)
Dictionnaire de bio-bibliographie générale, ancienne et moderne de l'auteur par Antoine Cabaton, by Antoine Brebion. Paris, Société d'Éditions Géographiques, Maritimes et Coloniales, 1935, 446 p.( Académie des Sciences Coloniales. Annales, t. 8)
Widener | LSoc 1621.87.10 vol.8
Gallica Full Text
--About 1600 biographies of indigenous persons and Europeans, with lists of their publications (including periodical articles) and secondary works. Covers 16th century to early 20th century. Includes some living persons. Includes several chronological lists, e.g., Kings and Protectors of Cambodia, Missionaries, etc. Subject index to occupations and activities. Published in Annales, Academie des Sciences Coloniales, t. 8.
Horton, A. V. M. Negara Brunei Darussalam : a biographical dictionary (1841-1998). 4th ed, rev. expanded and updated. Bordesley, Worcestershire : AVM Horton, 1999. 2 v. (xxii, 850 p.).
Widener | WID-LC | DS650.44 .H676 1998x Note: Earlier eds. 1995, 1996. 1998.
--Brief information on about 10,000 persons, living and deceased. Sources indicated. Ends with lists of government officials, glossary, and list of abbreviations (including those for cited sources). Full text in Arab-Islamic biographical archive.
Les cles du Cambodge / Raoul M. Jennar. Paris : Maisonneuve et Larose, 1995. 328 p. "Profils cambodgiens" [biographies]: p. -276.
Widener | WID-LC | DS554.7 .J46 1995
--Brief, often very brief, biographical data (pp. 185-276) on about 450 persons living in 1995. Emphasis on government officials but with academics and other occupations represented. Full text in South East Asian biographical archive. 283498
Personnalites du Cambodge. 1.- ed.; 1963- Phnom-Penh, Cambodia, Realites cambodgiennes.
LOCATION: Widener: Ind 10990.4
--Includes about 150 persons, largely government officials but also some professionals and some foreigners. Entries have portraits. Full text in South East Asian biographical archive.
Who's Who in Cambodia 2006-2007. Phnom Penh : MBN International in partnership with Promo-Khmer, 2006. 536 p. 4th ed.
--Largely governmental and commercial information. Biographies of Cambodian kings and other royal family members. Names and photographs of government officials. Not a who’s who in usual sense.
Indonesia is included in South East Asian biographical archive and Who's who in U.A.R. and the Near East (1954-59).
Roeder, O. G. Who's who in Indonesia: biographies of prominent Indonesian personalities in all fields. 2nd ed. Singapore (3808 OCBC Centre, Chulia Str., Singapore 0104): Gunung Agung, 1980.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC CT1596.R63 1980
--Full text (1st and 2nd ed.) in South East Asian biographical archive.
People at the peak : the who's who of Malaysia. Kuala Lumpur : MI Pub., 2004-
Widener | Harvard Depository
New Malaysian who's who. 2nd ed. Kuala Lumpur : Kasuya Pub., 1995. 2 v. (ccli, 1549 p.)
Widener | WID-LC | CT1566 .N48 1995x
--1st ed. 1989/1990.
--Roughly 5500 biographees (1100 photographs in separate section in back) in 3rd ed. Gives addresses and telephone numbers. Terminal list of biographees and index of companies mentioned in individual career summaries. Introductory section on government, political parties, honors and awards, and a general overview of the country. May prove difficult to use for those unfamiliar with Malay names.
For earlier coverage:
Who's who in Malaysia & Singapore (Petaling Jaya, Selangor) Who's who in Malaysia & Singapore. [Petaling Jaya, Selangor] : Who's Who Publications, 1983-
Widener | WID-LC | DS595.5 .L4x
--Includes sections on rulers and government officials, and a section of obituary notices in addition to the regular who's who portions. Publisher varies. Title varies: Leaders of Malaya and who's who (1956-1959/60), Who's who in Malaysia (1963-67), Who's who Malaysia and Singapore (1969-71/72), etc.
Some Philippine biographies included in Archivo Biográfico de España, Portugal e Iberoamérica.
Biographical sources for foreign countries Washington, 1944. I. General.--II. Germany and Austria, compiled by N.R. Burr.--III. The Philippines, compiled by Helen Dudenbostel Jones.--IV. The Japanese empire, compiled by N.R. Burr.
Widener | H 1139.44.10
--Annotated list of biographical dictionaries, directories, and periodicals containing biographical information on living persons of the World War II era. Largely organized by profession. Many of the serial publications listed extend into pre- and post-War era. Vol. I. General, vol. II. Germany and Austria, vol. III. The Philippines, vol. IV. The Japanese empire.
A union catalogue of Philippine biographical reference works, bu Daniel F. Doeppers and Michael Cullinane. Madison, WI : Center for Southeast Asian Studies, Univ of Wisconsin-Madison, 1983. 34 p.
Widener | WID-LC | DS521.Z99 B53x no. 8
--Works listed by occupation/social group and by geography. Appendix on pre-1900 Spaniards. Author index. See also Biographical sources for foreign countries. III. The Philippines for World War II era sources.
Manuel, E. Arsenio, 1909- Dictionary of Philippine biography .... Quezon City, Filipiniana Publications, 1955-95 4 v.
Widener | Oc 9547.5.25
--Covers deceased individuals who have contributed significantly to Philippine history or culture. Articles are extremely varied in length and are arranged alphabetically within each volume. Fairly extensive lists of works by and about the persons. Each volume has its own name and subject index; no cumulative index. Full text in South-East Asian biographical archive. Quirino’s Who's who in Philippine history includes about 550 native-born Filipinos who died before 1985 and offers name and area of activity indexes.
Filipinos in history (full text in South-East Asian biographical archive). Manila, Philippines: National Historical Institute, 1989-<1994>
Widener | Harvard Depository
--Full text in South-East Asian biographical archive.
Who's who in Philippine history, by Carlos Quirino. Manila : Tahanan Books, c1995. 227 p.
Widener | RR 3955.31
Prominent Singaporeans: Sources of Information
--Indexes numerous books, and some periodical articles for 92 deceased and living persons. In sections by nationality. Includes mentions of particular persons in general histories, works of description and travel, etc. Name index.
Who's who in Singapore. Singapore : Who's Who Pub., 2000. xx, 323 p.
Widener | Harvard Depository | CT1572 .W46 2000 NIS OK In (Series, 1981- )
--Around 1200 entries (3rd. ed., 2006). Apparently 1981/82, 2000, 2003, 2006 eds. published. Full text of 1981/82 ed. in South East Asian biographical archive.
See also Who's who in Malaysia & Singapore
Who's who in Vietnam. Laguna Beach, Calif. : Barons Who's Who, 1997-
Widener | RR 1657 Current
Widener | WID-LC | CT1630 .W567 Earlier
--Includes 1133 persons, many with portraits. Index by profession. 2nd half is a business directory. Only 1st ed. (1998/99) published.
For earlier coverage:
Who's who in Vietnam. 1st ed., 1967; 2nd ed., 1972; 3rd ed., 1974. Full text of 3rd ed. (1974) in South-East Asian biographical archive.
Who's who in Vietnam. [Saigon] Vietnam Press 1966. v. 1-5. (looseleaf)
Widener | Harvard Depository | XF 254
--3d ed. Harvard-Yenching | (V) | DS557.A5 W48 1974