Australasian biographical archive
Who's who in Oceania, 1980-1981 / Comp. By Craig, Robert D.,; Clement, Russell T. Laie, Hawaii : Institute for Polynesian Studies, Brigham Young University--Hawaii Campus, 1980 NIS
"The majority of entries ... deal with personalities in the fields of government, education, science, and religion. Admission was based on subjective decisions regarding the position of responsibility held and the level of achievement attained by the individual." Pref. In most cases, information was supplied by the biographee. Serves as a successor to “Who’s who in the Pacific Islands” which appeared in the 9th (1963) and 10th (1968) eds. of the Pacific Islands year book. 520884 Full text of 10th ed. (1968) in Australasian biographical archive. 283635 SUBMITTED
Checklist of collective biographies / compiled by D.H. Borchardt. Bundoora, Vic.: La Trobe University Library, 1988. 201 p. (La Trobe University Library publication ; no. 34 )
Widener | WID-LC | CT2803.Z99 C49 x, 1988 OK In
Lists over 450 works arranged by subject. Index of persons occurring in works covering 50 or less people. Subject/author indexes. Complements Borchardt and Marshall’s Biography chapter in Australians: A Guide to Sources. 374300 ok SUBMITTED
Walsh, Kay. Australian autobiographical narratives: an annotated bibliography. Canberra: Australian Scholarly Editions Centre, University College, ADFA: National Library of Australia, 1993- LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC CT2803.Z99 W35 1993x Library has: v. 1-2 OK In
Lists 774 autobiographies with substantial summaries. Vol. 1: to 1850, vol. 2: 1850-1900. Includes narratives by travelers in Australia. Indexes of names, places and subjects. SUBMITTED
Australian biographies microform / prepared by Frances Brown. Melbourne : Council of the State Library of Victoria, 1991- pts. on microfiches : negative, ill., ports. Microforms (Lamont) | Microfiche W 4391
Australian dictionary of biography. [Melbourne] Melbourne University Press; London, New York, Cambridge University Press - v. + index to v. 1-12.
Widener | WID-LC | DU82 .A9
Over 10,000 articles, with source lists, of 500-6000 words. Includes both eminent persons in Australian history and shorter articles on representative Australians, especially for early Australian history. Covers full range of occupations. Online version offers biographee, occupation, and article author browses.
Print version contents: v. 1, 1788-1850, A-H; v. 2, 1788-1850, I-Z; v. 3,
1851-1890, A-C; v. 4, 1851-1890, D-J; v. 5, 1851-1890, K-Q; v. 6, 1851-1890,
R-Z; v. 7, 1891-1939, A-Ch; v. 8, 1891-1939, Cl-Gib; v. 9, 1891-1939, Gil-Las;
v. 10, 1891-1939, Lat-Ner; v. 11, 1891-1939, Nes-Smi; v. 12, 1891-1939, Smy-Z; v. 13, 1940-1980, A-De; v. 14, 1940-1980, Di-Kel; v. 15, 1940-1980, Kem-Pie; v. 16, 1940-1980, Pik-Z. Vol. 17, 1981-90, A-K, scheduled for 2007. Supplement 1580-1980 (2005) includes additional entries and cumulative biographee index. Index vol. to v. 1-12, 1788-1939, includes name, occupation, and birthplace indexes, plus consolidated corrigenda. Name index includes biographees and other persons who receive “three lines of text and two pieces of data”.
Brief history of the ADB together with a discussion of other sources in article
“Biographical dictionaries”by Barry Jones in the Oxford companion to Australian history. 521105
The ADB staff collects biographical references from a wide range of sources in a file including about 300,000 Australians. About 8000 entries, about 50 words each, have been published as A Biographical register, 1788-1939: 521129 notes from the name index of the Australian dictionary of biography. The ABD staff will consult the Register for remote users http://adb.anu.edu.au/bioregister.php. SUBMITTED
Australian Biographical and Genealogical Record. Series 1, 1788-1841, with series 2 supplement, 1842-1899 / edited by John T. Spurway ; assistant editor, Allison Allen. Sydney : Published by A.B.G.R. in association with the Society of Australian Genealogists, 1992. 523 p. Widener | WID-LC | CT2802 .A938 1992 In Genealogy Secondary Done
Monash biographical dictionary of 20th century Australia. Port Melbourne, Victoria, Australia: Reed Reference Publishing, c1994. LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC CT2802.M66 1994x OK In
Over 2200 entries with references. Terminal bibliography. Revised and expanded versions of 545 entries, including some new biographies and with additional sources added to the articles, were published as A sense of purpose: great Australian women of the 20th century. 551253
Other one-vol. biographical dictionaries covering both living and deceased persons include The dictionary of famous Australians 538011 (1st ed., 1992; 2nd ed. 1995), which has an occupation index, and 1001 Australians you should know 538023, arranged by broad occupation with name index and concentrating on off-beat figures. SUBMITTED
1001 Australians you should know / Toby Creswell and Samantha Trenoweth. North Melbourne : Pluto Press Australia, 2006. 738 p.
A sense of purpose : great Australian women of the 20th century. Port Melbourne, Vic. : Reed Reference Australia, 1996. xi, 220 p. : ill. ; 25 cm. Widener | WID-LC | CT3800 .S46 1996
Atkinson, Ann. The dictionary of famous Australians. 2nd ed. St Leonards, N.S.W. : Allen & Unwin, 1995, 268 p.ports. Widener | WID-LC | CT2802 .A85 1995x
Women in Australia microform / prepared ... and index compiled by Frances Brown. Melbourne : Council of the State Library of Victoria, 1991. 11 microfiches : negative, ports. Microforms (Lamont) | Microfiche W 4425
Who's who in Australia. Melbourne, Australia : Colorgravure Publications, v. ; Widener | RR 1666.2 Latest Widener | Oc 4900.15.10 Earlier
The 43rd ed. (2007) has entries for 13,000 persons, list of titled Australians and of senior government officials, and an obituary drawn from entrants in previous edition. First appeared as Johns’s notable Australians (1906). Title and publisher varies. Full text for 1929, 1935, 1944, 1955, 1965 in Australasian biographical archive. 283635 SUBMITTED
Earlier sources include:
Contemporary Australian women (1996). Over 2000 women. Occupation index with broad categories.
Contemporary Australians (1995). Most entries with portraits.
Debrett's handbook of Australia. (3rd ed. (1987); 4th ed. (1989); 5th ed. (1991). Continues: Debrett's handbook of Australia and New Zealand. 1st ed. (1982), 2nd ed. (1991)
Who's who of Australian women (1982). Full text in Australasian biographical archive. ZA
Contains brief biographical entries derived from questionnaires returned by 1,425 noteworthy living Australian women. Includes an index by occupation. CT3800.L63 1982
Notable Australians (1978). Most entries with portraits. Full text in Australasian biographical archive.
Contemporary Australian women, (1996/97). Brasch, Nicolas, ed. Port Melbourne, Victoria, Australia : Reed Reference Australia, 1996, xvii, 306 p. Not at Harvard
Contemporary Australians. Port Melbourne, Victoria : Reed Reference Australia, c1995- v. Widener | WID-LC | CT2802 .C66 NIS
Debrett's handbook of Australia. South Perth, Western Australia : Debrett's Peerage (Australasia), v. : ill. ; Widener | RR 1665.5 NIS 3rd ed. (1987); 4th ed. (1989); 5th ed. (1991).
Debrett's handbook of Australia and New Zealand. Sydney : Debrett's Peerage, c1982, 1991 ; Widener | Harvard Depository Consult Circ. Desk 1-2nd eds
Lofthouse, Andrea, 1943- Who's who of Australian women / compiled by Andrea Lofthouse ; based on research by Vivienne Smith. North Ryde, [Australia] : Methuen Australia, 1982. 504 p. : ports. ; Widener | RR1666.10
Notable Australians. Sydney, Australia, New York, N.Y., Prestige Pub. Division, Paul Hamlyn Pty Ltd. Widener | WID-LC | CT2802 .N67
Berwick, Sam. Who's who in Fiji : Fiji's golden book of record / Sam Berwick. 1st ed. Suva, Fiji : Berwicks Pub. House, 1990. 307 p.
Widener | WID-LC | CT2940.3 .B47 1990x NIS MISSING Replaced
Roughly 800 persons in the who’s who section. Includes a directory of government and other institutions, along with general background information on Fiji. An appendix, Who was who in Fiji, gives about 170 short biographical essays, with portraits, on historical figures, both Fijians and resident Europeans.
And Who Was Who
O'Reilly, Patrick, 1900- Tahitiens : rpertoire biographique de la Polynsie franaise / Patrick O'Reilly & Raoul Teissier ; ill. et ports. de J. Boullaire, ... [et al.]. 2. d. revue, corrige, et augm. Paris : Muse de l'homme, 1975. 670 p. : ill. ; (Publications de la Socit des ocanistes ; no. 36 ) Tozzer | L.SOC.126.96.36.199 (36) Full text (of 1962 ed. With 1966 suppl.) in Australasian biographical archive.
Includes fairly long articles on people of all periods connected with Tahiti, native and European, and an index by professions. Updated by a Supplement (1966. 103 p.). Full text (of 1962 ed. With 1966 suppl.) in Australasian biographical archive. 283635 SUBMITTED
O'Reilly, Patrick, 1900- Caldoniens : rpertoire bio-bibliographique de la Nouvelle-Caldonie / Patrick O'Reilly. 2e d. Paris : Socit des ocanistes, Muse de l'homme, 1980. 416 p.
Widener | Harvard Depository | CT2980.N48 O73 1980 MISSING Replaced
Includes persons living and deceased who have contributed to the growth and prosperity of the colony: administrators, scientists, engineers, travelers, missionaries, etc., and also the principal Caledonian chiefs. Gives titles of works by authors, and occasional references to sources. Full text in Australasian biographical archive. 283635 SUBMITTED
The Book of New Zealand women = Ko kui ma te kaupapa / edited by Charlotte Macdonald, Merimeri Penfold, and Bridget Williams. Wellington, N.Z. : B. Williams Books, 1991. xiii, 772 p. Widener | WID-LC | CT3805 .B66 1991 NIS
Biographical sketches, averaging about three pages, of more than 300 New Zealand women. Some entries include transcripts of oral history interviews, especially for Maori women. Each biography ends with a list of sources. Illustrated with photographs. Name, author, and subject indexes. SUBMITTED
Dictionary of New Zealand Biography
Over 3000 articles, with source lists, on deceased figures transplanted and aboriginal. Usually 500-1000 words. Searchable by personal name, occupation, region/decade of activity, tribal affiliation, birth/death decade, birth country. Nearly one third of the entrants are Maori and one fifth women. Online version contains additions to the printed Dictionary of New Zealand Biography 278176. Further additions anticipated. Images in online version only. There is a Maori version explained on web site. Printed ed.: Contents: v. 1, 1769-1869; v. 2, 1870-1900; v. 3, 1901-1920; v. 4, 1921-1940; v. 5, 1941-1960. Roughly 600 entries per vol. Each vol. has category (i.e., occupation and tribal affiliation), region, tribal and hapu, and very detailed name indexes, together with a cumulative biographee index. SUBMITTED
The Dictionary of New Zealand biography. Wellington, N.Z. : Allen & Unwin : Dept. of Internal Affairs, 1990-2000. 5 v.
Widener | WID-LC | DU422 .D48 1990
Scholefield, Guy Hardy, 1877- A dictionary of New Zealand biography, edited by G. H. Scholefield ... Wellington, Dept. of internal affairs, New Zealand, 1940. 2 v. Widener | Oc 4900.76
New Zealand Who's Who, Aotearoa. Auckland : New Zealand who's who Aotearoa Ltd., 1992- v. Widener | RR 1667.3 Latest Widener | Harvard Depository | CT2880 .N49x Earlier Current 2001
Current ed. (2001) has over 12,000 entries, some with photographs. Obituaries of those dying since last ed. (1998) in back. Introductory lists of historical prime ministers and officers of Parliament and of current government officials. Also lists of peers and recipients of honors and awards. Preceded by Who's who in New Zealand (1908-1991). 300684 1st ed. (1908) – 4th ed. (1941) titled Who’s who in New Zealand and the western Pacific. Full text (1st, 3rd, 4th, 5th, 7th, 9th eds. 1908-1968) in Australasian biographical archive. 283635 SUBMITTED
Who's who in New Zealand. Wellington : A.H. & A.W. Reed, 1951-c1991. 8 v. Widener | RR 1667.2 Widener | Oc 4900.2
O'Reilly, Patrick, 1900- Hebridais; repertoire bio-bibliographique des Nouvelles-Hbrides. Avec Widener | Harvard Depository | Oc 5803.9 MISSING Replaced
Several hundred biographical sketches of people of all periods connected with the life of the New Hebrides (now Vanuatu), European as well as native. Gives titles of works by authors, but no references to sources. Includes an index by professions. Full text in Australasian biographical archive. 283635 SUBMITTED