Europe-General
Indexes
Repertoire des sources historiques du Moyen Age: bio -bibliographie, by Ulysse Chevalier. Nouv. ed. ref., corr. et considerablement augm.
HOLLIS Records
Internet Archive full text: vol. 1 -- vol. 2
--The most complete and important work for the medieval period, arranged alphabetically, giving under the French form of each name: (1) brief biographical data, i.e., characterizing phrases and dates of birth and death, and (2) references to books, periodicals, society transactions, etc., where some account of the personage may be found. Very useful for out-of-the-way names, or for complete lists of references on more familiar names.
An annotated index of medieval women, by Anne Echols and Marty Williams.
Widener | RR3602.1.2
--Brief biographies for some 1,500 medieval women living between 800-1500, arranged alphabetically by first name. Covers some 30 countries and a variety of social classes and activities. Instructions for use, p. xiii-xxiv. The main index, listing women alphabetically by name, provides life dates; countries; characteristics, accomplishments; up to ten subject descriptors; and references. Separate indexes for dates, countries, biographical categories, names/titles/estates/regions/ cities. Lists of sources, alphabetical by author; shorter list of sources without authors, alphabetical by title.
Collective Biography
Biographical archive of the Classical World
Key figures in medieval Europe : an encyclopedia / Richard K. Emmerson, editor; Sandra Clayton-Emmerson, associate editor.
Widener | WID-LC | D115 .K49 2006
--Includes around 1000 figures. Covers 500-1500. Articles drawn from the Routledge Encyclopedias of the Middle Ages. Each article has references to a substantial terminal bibliography. Includes a few Asian figures. Many entries are accompanied by illustrations. Appendixes include “A Chronology of Events”, lists of “Popes, Emperors, and Monarchs”, “Colleges and Universities and their Dates of Founding”, “Major Monasteries, Abbeys, and Convents and their Founders and Dates”, and “Individuals Listed by Occupation or Contribution”. Substantial index.
The late medieval age of crisis and renewal, 1300-1500 : a biographical dictionary, ed. by Clayton Drees. (The great cultural eras of the Western world)
--About 350 cultural - artistic, literary, scientific, theological - figures, largely from England, France, Italy. Indexed in Biography and genealogy master index
The rise of the medieval world, 500-1300 : a biographical dictionary / edited by Jana K. Schulman.
Widener | WID-LC | CT114 .R57 200
--About 350 cultural - artistic, literary, scientific, theological - figures, largely from England, France, Italy
Research guide to European historical biography, 1450-present.
LOCATION: Widener: RR 1760.8 Library has: 8 v.
--Covers nearly 450 persons. Vols. 1-4 cover political and military leaders, royalty, diplomats, social reformers, explorers, etc. ; v. 5-8 cover intellectual, cultural, artistic, religious figures. For each person gives a chronological biography, discussion of their activities in historical context, and overview and evaluation of primary and secondary sources. American and British literary authors excluded due to easy availability in other works. Cumulative biographee index in vol. 8.
- Appendices:
- Subjects grouped by periods of historical activity (v.4, v. 8)
- Subjects grouped by areas (e.g., missionary, music) of historical activity (v.4, v.8)
- Subjects grouped by contributions to history ( e.g., Exploration, Financial stability/Reform) (v.4)
- Subjects grouped by wars (v.4)
- Subjects grouped by treaties (v.4)
- v. 1 has Numerous appendixes
Allgemeines Gelehrten-Lexicon: darinne die Gelehrten aller Stände sowohl männ- als weiblichen Geschlechts, welche vom Anfange der Welt bis auf ietzige Zeit gelebt, und sich der gelehrten Welt bekannt gemacht, nach ihrer Geburt, Leben, merckwürdigen Geschichten Absterben und Schrifften aus den glaubwürdigsten Scribenten in alphabetischer Ordnung beschrieben warden, ed. by Christian Gottlieb Jöcher. Leipzig. 4 v.
HOLLIS Records
Online Version
--Comprehensive and still useful compilation of biographical sketches of scholars of many nationalities and periods but particularly strong for the Middle Ages. Includes persons living before 1750. A supplement, Fortsetzung und Erganzungen adds more names from the period covered by the original, as well as others of a slightly later date. In both references are given to sources, and source lists, especially in the supplement, are quite full. The 7 v. of the supplement cover A-Romuleus (no more were published). Full text in the World Biographical Information System.
Contemporaries of Erasmus : a biographical register of the Renaissance and Reformation, ed. by Peter G. Bietenholz.
HOLLIS Record with Online Version
--Major source for the Renaissance. Over 1900 biographical sketches of persons, especially intellectuals, educators, religious reformers, and political figures, mentioned in correspondence or works of Erasmus (1466-1536). “Editorial Notes” section is important for effective use. Sources accompany each article. Strongest on French, Dutch, and Germans; weaker on Italians for whom:
Biographical and bibliographical dictionary of the Italian humanists and of the world of classical scholarship in Italy, 1300-1800, by Mario Emilio Cosenza. 2d ed., rev. and enl. Boston : G. K. Hall, 1962- . 6 v.
HOLLIS Record
Renaissance and Reformation, 1500-1620 : a biographical dictionary / edited by Jo Eldridge Carney.
HOLLIS Record NIS
--Covers cultural - artistic, literary, scholarly, scientific – figures. Lists of biographees by discipline and by country, terminal bibliography, name index.
Who's who in Europe , 1450-1750, by Henry Arthur Francis Kamen. London ; NY: Routledge, 2000, 321 p.
HOLLIS Record
--Very brief information on over 1000 persons. Excludes Europeans with careers outside Europe, and Ottomans in Europe NIS
L’Europe des humanistes (XIVe-XVIIe siècles) / répertoire établi par J.-F. Maillard, J. Kecskeméti et M. Portalier.
HOLLIS Record
--Gives names, dates, brief occupation and references to over 200 biographical dictionaries and other works for manuscript collectors, scholars, editors and others involved in study of the ancient authors.
Handbuch Gelehrtenkultur der Frühen Neuzeit, by Herbert Jaumann.
HOLLIS Record
--First vol. of this work comprises biographical articles with lists of works, editions, and secondary sources (keyed to bibliography in front of vol.) on Renaissance and early modern (15th-early 18th centuries) scholars and intellectuals.
Contemporary
European biographical directory. 8th ed. (1989-1990)-12 (1998-1999).
LOCATION: Widener: Harvard Depository D1070.W48x RR1503.7 Later Moved
--Brief sketches, with addresses, of more than 30,000 prominent citizens of nations in the European Community. Generally ignores celebrities, for whom information is readily found elsewhere, in favor of those unlikely to be found in pan-national sources. 1 st-7th eds., 1965-88, had title: Who's who in