Smetana, Sprzedana narzeczona. Teatr Wielki / juis [Fragment]. Poster for an opera performance at Teatr Wielki in Warsaw. Part of Slavic poster collection : Opera performances at Teatr Wielki in Warsaw.
This guide provides a starting point for research for students, faculty, and visiting researchers in Slavic and Eurasian studies at Harvard University. It includes selective lists of reference resources, both online and in print.
Harvard University holds one of the largest Slavic collections outside the Former Soviet Union and East Central Europe. The main collection of over 850,000 volumes in the areas of the humanities and social sciences is housed in the Widener Library and supported by the Americas, Europe and Oceania Division of Harvard Library. Manuscripts, rare books, and materials in the areas of fine arts, music, anthropology, ethnology, law, and science are found in other libraries of the Harvard College Library (for the list of these locations with details on their Slavic holdings please consult Slavic collections at Harvard section of this guide).
The Harvard Slavic collection has as its mission the documentation of the Slavic and Baltic countries throughout history in order to support the teaching and research at Harvard and to serve as a resource for the scholarly community. To carry out this mission, the Americas, Europe and Oceania Division collects in great depth materials originating in Russia, Eastern and Central Europe, Central Asia and the Caucasus as well as in émigré communities from these areas scattered throughout the world. In addition to books and serials the collection includes microforms, audio-visual materials, databases and special collections of posters, ephemera, and objects of material culture.
For the up to date information on our newest resources and projects please subscribe to Harvard's Slavic Collective newsletter and Slavic, East European and Eurasian Collections (SLEEEC) Canvas module, a central hub for students, faculty and researchers to help them navigate Harvard's Slavic collections.
For requests for new materials and inquiries about the Slavic collections please contact bibliographic specialists at the Americas, Europe and Oceania Division (AEOD) at Widener Library:
Russian/Belarusian/Former Soviet Union collection: Anna Rakityanskaya (617) 495-4797
Ukrainian collection: Olha Aleksic (also Harvard Ukrainian Research Institute) (617) 998-5367
West- and South-Slavic collection: Lev Chaban (617) 998-5368
Davis Center for Russian and Eurasian Studies collection: Svetlana Rukhelman (617) 496-8241
For technical issues concerning this guide:
Anna Rakityanskaya (617) 495-4797
Harvard Library catalog and tips on searching Cyrillic titles
The Harvard Library collections can be accessed via its online catalog HOLLIS. To learn more about HOLLIS, please visit the HOLLIS User Guide. For general tips on using Harvard libraries, see Get Started Using the Libraries.
To render Cyrillic words using Roman characters, HOLLIS uses the Library of Congress system of transliteration. (Please note that most other U.S. library catalogs and databases use the same system, while several other systems are in use in Europe, the former Soviet Union, and in other contexts.)
The ALA-LA Romanization tables page on the Library of Congress website provides transliteration tables for various non-Roman languages, including Slavic and non-Slavic languages that use Cyrillic alphabet:
In addition to this, one can also use the automatic online transliteration tool.