Africa
Africa: a guide to reference material, by John McIlwaine. 2nd ed. Lochcarron, Scotland : Hans Zell, 2007, 608 p. HOLLIS Record http://id.lib.harvard.edu/alma/990102261250203941/catalog --Lists general biographical sources (including sources on colonial history) and numerous sources by region and country.
African biography on the Internet https://library.columbia.edu/locations/global/virtual-libraries/african_studies/biographies.html is an annotated list including several specialized online biographical resources.
Kirk-Greene, A.H.M. Colonial Service biographical data: the published sources. African Research and Documentation, no. 46 (1988), pp. 2-16.
Collective Biography
Dictionary of African biography, ed. by Emmanuel K. Akyeampong and Henry Louis Gates, Jr. Oxford; NY: Oxford University Press, 2012, 6 v. Print: http://id.lib.harvard.edu/alma/990130810900203941/catalog Online: http://id.lib.harvard.edu/alma/990105238330203941/catalog
The making of modern Africa: a guide to archives, by Chris Cook. NY: Facts on File, 1995, 218 p. Widener | WID-LC | DT20.Z99 C66 1995x
Lists over 1000 persons, circa 1878-1980s, for whom papers are preserved. Entries include birth/death dates and very brief note on subject’s career together with locations and brief descriptions for surviving papers. Largely Europeans, but some Africans included. Brief terminal bibliography. Archive index lists persons under repository name. Subject index.
African biographical archive
Les Africains / sous la direction de Charles-Andr_ Julien ... [et al.].Paris : Éditions J.A., 1977-78
Widener | WID-LC | DT18 .A64
Includes 131 biographies (about 30 pp.each) from Antiquity to the 20th century. Articles with portraits and references, often including periodical articles. Strongest on North Africa. Chart at end of v. 12 arranges biographees by era and geography.
Brockman, Norbert C. An African biographical dictionary, by Norbert Brockman. Denver, Colo. : ABC-CLIO, 2006. 440 p.
Widener RR 3970.35.10
Includes 713 individuals emphasizing postcolonial era, including living persons. Excludes North Africa and Egypt but covers Mauritius and the Seychelles. Some 19th century figures and non-Africans active in Africa are included. A few portraits. Entries keyed to list of 42 other reference works; some entries have additional sources. More cultural, religious, and professional in the 2nd ed. Appendixes list biographees by nation and area of activity. Africa since Independence: Nations and Major Leaders lists political figures by country. General index includes alternate names and spellings. Six terminal maps show countries, colonial possessions, natural resources, religions, slave routes, and major states circa 1885.
Contemporary Africa Database: People http://africa-database.africanseer.com/
Includes very brief biographical data on over4255 largely living Africans from a wide range of activities. Entries are variable as to completeness of information, but usually include occupation. Some entries have links to online newspaper articles, interviews, and other sources.
Dictionary of African Biography
The new Dictionary of African Biography is now the leading source. The print ed. comprises 2126 200-3000 word entries in six volumes, covering a wide range of occupations and including both living (25%) and deceased figures, with 20% of the entries on women. Figures from ancient times to the present are covered from both North and Sub-Saharan Africa. Those included had a significant impact on African history and culture with available sources sufficient to support a 500 word article. Most of the biographees are of Africans born in Africa, but some colonial figures and other non-Africans and members of the diaspora are included. Each article has a brief list of further readings.
Vol. 6 includes: Places of Birth or Major Involvement, Periods of Activity (list of biographees by majors eras), Occupation and Realms of Renown, Current Heads of African Nations, Directory of Contributors, and General Index (pp. 353-592). Replaces the incomplete Africana Dictionary of African Biography. Also available as an e-reference edition as part of the Oxford reference online and in the Oxford African American Studies Centers. Additional entries are being added to the online version.
Dictionary of African biography. New York : Reference Publications, c1977- v. 1. Ethiopia, Ghana (1977) -- v. 2. Sierra Leone-Zaire (1979) -- v. 3. South Africa-Botswana-Lesotho-Swaziland (1995). Encyclopaedia Africana. "Editor-in-chief : L. H. Ofosu-Appiah."
Widener | WID-LC | DT18 .D5
v. 1. Ethiopia, Ghana (1977); v. 2. Sierra Leone-Zaire (1979; v. 3. South Africa-Botswana-Lesotho-Swaziland (1995). The idea for the dictionary originated with W. E. B. DuBois and has been carried forward as a cooperative effort of the African states. Signed, one-two page articles with sources, many with portraits, on deceased individuals significant in the history of their countries. Each volume with historical introductions for each country, maps, and index of names and topics. Contributors include some European and American, as well as African, scholars. Vol. 3, which was completed just before the majority-rule election, has been criticized as having few references after 1983 and emphasizing South Africa at the expense of the smaller countries. Number of entries: Ethiopia, 146; Ghana, 138; Sierra Leone, 137; Zaire, 103; South Africa-Botswana-Lesotho-Swaziland, 228. Originally projected to be in 20 volumes.
Lipschutz, Mark R. Dictionary of African historical biography / Mark R. Lipschutz & R. Kent Rasmussen. 2nd ed., expanded and updated. Berkeley : University of California Press, 1987, 328 p.
Widener | RR 1870.10
Provides biographical information and brief source lists for major figures, primarily political, from Africa south of the Sahara from the earliest period to the 1980s. Besides updating and revising many of the entries in the 1st ed. (1978), the authors have included African leaders, 1960-80, in a supplement, pp. 258-290. Includes a bibliography of secondary sources, a subject index, and a name index. Indexed in biography and genealogy master index. Full text in African biographical archive.
Political leaders of contemporary Africa south of the Sahara : a biographical dictionary / edited by Harvey Glickman. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1992, 361 p.
Widener | RR 1670.3
Wiseman, John A. Political leaders in Black Africa : a biographical dictionary of the major politicians since independence, by John A. Wiseman. Aldershot, Hants, England ; Brookfield, Vt., USA : E. Elgar, 1991. xxiii, 248 p.
Widener | RR 1670.14
--Full text in African biographical archive.
Political leaders of the contemporary Middle East and North Africa: a biographical dictionary. New York: Greenwood Press, 1990. LOCATION: Widener: RR 1634. 6.5
See CJ417 Indexed in BIOGRAPHY AND GENEALOGY MASTER INDEX
Who's Who in Africa: leaders for the 1990s, by Alan Rake. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1992. LOCATION: Widener: RR 1670.13
See CJ419. Indexed in BIOGRAPHY AND GENEALOGY MASTER INDEX. Full text in African biographical archive.
Makers of modern Africa. London, England : Published by Africa Journal Ltd. for Africa Books Ltd., 1981- v. : ill. ; (( Know Africa ) )
Widener | RR 1870.5 Latest
Widener | WID-LC | DT18 .M34x Earlier
Third edition has about 640 biographies of living and deceased persons with portraits. Some biographies in the second edition have been dropped. 1st ed. 1981, 2nd ed. 1991, 3rd ed. 1996. Full text of 1981, 1991 eds. in African biographical archive.
Núñez, Benjamín. 1995-96. Dictionary of Portuguese-African civilization. London; New Jersey : Hans Zell Publishers, 2 v.
Location : Widener WID-LC DT352.4 .N86 1995x
Incomplete contents : v. 1. From discovery to independence -- v. 2 From ancient kings to presidents.
Thorough coverage of Portugal’s African colonies (Angola, Mozambique, Guinea-Bissau, Cape Verde, and São Tomé) and of Portuguese activities in Ethiopia, Kenya, Madeira, the Azores, and North Africa. Vol. 1 covers organizations, places, and topics ; vol. 2 is a biographical dictionary. Paragraph-length articles. Each article cites a source from the terminal bibliography in each vol. Vol. 2 includes over 2000 persons. Discussion of errors in R. A. H. Robinson’s and M. Newitt’s reviews in African Affairs (Vol. 96, No. 382 (Jan., 1997), pp. 124-127)
Southern African dictionary of national biography, by Eric Rosenthal. London, Warne, 1966, xxxix, 430 p.
Andover-Harv. Theol | Ref. | CT1923 .R6
About 2,000 brief biographical sketches of deceased persons who figure in the history of the Republic of South Africa, South West Africa, Rhodesia, Zambia, Malawi, Mozambique, Swaziland, Bechuanaland, and Basutoland. A classified list of entries by profession or occupation precedes the dictionary proper. Full text in African biographical archive.
Shavit, David. The United States in Africa : a historical dictionary. New York:: Greenwood Press, 1989. 298 p.
Widener | WID-LC | DT38.1 .S53 1989
Largely a biographical dictionary of Americans of all occupations in Africa. Includes lists of biographees by area of activity and of Chiefs of American diplomatic missions in Africa, 1863-1986. Index.
Sheldon, Kathleen E. Historical dictionary of women in Sub-Saharan Africa / 2005 405 p. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press
Weidman, Conrad. Deutsche Männer in Afrika : Lexicon der hervorragensten deutschen Afrika-Forscher, Missionare, etc. Lubeck : B. Nöhring, 1894.
Widener | Afr 530.12
Covers roughly 800 persons, many with portraits, emphasizing explorers, scientists, missionaries, etc., rather than administrators and soldiers. Also entries for organizations with lists of members. Terminal list of German expeditions by country.
Contemporary
Africa who's who. London: Published by Africa Journal Ltd. for Africa Books, 1981- (Know Africa)
Widener | WID-LC | CT1920 .A33x
Latest (1996) ed. offers biographical sketches on about 14,000 Africans from all nations and professions. Eds.: 1996, 1991, 1981. Full text of 1991 ed. in African biographical archive.
An earlier effort under the auspices of Africa journal was the Africa year book and who's who (1st ed., London : Africa Journal, 1976), which included a biographical section with about 2500 entries.
Africa South of the Sahara. London, Europa Publications Ltd. (Regional surveys of the world) 1971-1982/83
Widener | RR 4370.30 = Latest
Widener | Afr 1.118 = Earlier
Includes “Who’s who in Africa South of the Sahara” section, containing about 900 entries per vol. Full text of eds. 1-4, (1971-1974), 6 (1976-77), 11 (1981-1982) in African biographical archive. Eds. 8 (1978-79) - 12 (1982-83) indexed in Biography and genealogy master index.
The Middle East and North Africa. 11th ed. (1964-65)- London : Europa Publications, 1964-
Widener | RR 4334.12 Latest
Widener | Asia 27.10 Earlier
The Middle East and North Africa from 1948-1982/83 includes “Who's who in the Middle East and North Africa” section, containing around 400 (1948)-700 (1982/83) entries on both North Africans and Europeans. Titled The Middle East, 1948-1963. Includes Egypt from 1948, and the Sudan and Libya from early 1950s. Morocco, Spanish North Africa, and Tunisia included from 1964 on. Full text of eds. 1 (1948) and 11 (1965) in Arab-Islamic biographical archive. 283511 Eds. 25 (1978-79) - 29 (1982-83) indexed in Biography and genealogy master index.
Who's who in East Africa. Nairobi, Kenya : Marco Surveys, 1964- Widener | Afr 6398.5 1st-3rd (1963/64-1967/68) --Full text of 1967/68 ed. in African biographical archive.
Smith, Patrick. Africa Confidential Who's Who of Southern Africa. 1998.
Africa Confidential
Brief biographies of about 450 living persons of a wide range of occupations, but emphasizing politics and business, from Angola, Mozambique, South Africa, Zambia, Zimbabwe. Includes personal details as well as standard biographical and contact information. Person’s context and significance discussed in Commentary section of each entry. Covers negative as well as positive figures in the region. Online
Who's who of Southern Africa. Johannesburg [South Africa] : Argus Printing and Publishing ; New York : Available from International Publications Service, Collings, Inc., [1959-
Widener | RR 1695.2 Latest (2003)
Widener | Afr 8055.10 Earlier
Africa (By Country)
Algeria
Collective Biography
Memoire algerienne: le dictionnaire biographique, by Achour Cheurfi. Alger: Dahlab, 1996 896 p.
Widener | WID-LC | DT295.55.A1 C48 1996x
About 3000 cultural figures, living and deceased, from ancient times to present, but largely 20th century. Includes chronology of Algerian history (ancient-1995), short bibliography and list of biographees by broad area of activity. FUTURE IN SAUR
Les Elites algeriennes. Paris : Ediafric, La Documentation africaine, 1985. 2 v.
Widener | Harvard Depository | DT274 .E45x 1985
--Covers about 1000 political (v. 1) and economic (v. 2) figures. Arranged by government dept. or area of activity with name index in v. 2. Full text in African biographical archive.
Angola
Collective Biography
Dicionário de biografias angolanas (séculos XV-XVII), by Adriano Parreira 2003 1. ed. Portuguese 254 p. Luanda : Edições Kulonga
Benin
Collective Biography
Dictionnaire bio-bibliographique du Dahomey. [Porto-Novo]: Institut de Recherches Appliquees du Dahomey, I.R.A.D., 1969-
LOCATION: Widener: Harvard Depository Afr 5353.2 Library has: v. 1
Biographies, with lists of works and sometimes references, of 100 deceased and living persons, native and foreign, from the 17th century to the present. Further volumes apparently never published. Full text in African biographical archive.
Cameroon
Collective Biography
Les Elites camerounaises. 3eme ed. Paris: Ediafric-IC publications, 1987.
LOCATION: Widener: Harvard Depository CT2556.E45 1987 --Full text in African biographical archive.
Chad
Collective Biography
El_ments pour un dictionnaire biographique du Tchad et du Niger (T_da et Daza), par Albert Le Rouvreur, avec la collaboration de Paule Deville et Joseph Tubiana. Paris : Éditions du Centre national de la recherche scientifique, 1978. 48 p. (Contributions _ la connaissance des _lites africaines ; fasc. 1 ) Widener | Harvard Depository | DT18 .C66x fasc. 1
About 100 biographies, often very brief and without dates. Cross-references for variant name forms. Name and population group index. Full text in African biographical archive.
Congo (Democratic Republic) (formerly Zaire)
Collective Biography
Academie royale des sciences d'outre-mer. Biographie coloniale belge. Belgische koloniale biografie. Bruxelles, Librairie Falk fils, 1948- LOCATION: Widener: Harvard Depository Afr 7900.5
Who's who in Belgium, including the Belgian Congo. Brussels, Intercontinental Book & Pub. Co. 2 v. 1957/58-1962.
Widener | Neth 1961.50
Contemporary
Nouveaux cadres --Covers around 600 Democratic Republic of the Congo political figures.
Cote d'Ivoire
Cote d'Ivoire: 100 homes de pouvoir. Indigo publications. 1ere ed. (1996)- [Paris]: Indigo Publications, 1960-
LOCATION: Widener: Harvard Depository CT2463.V4x
Political who’s who. Appendixes list government officials by dept., national organizations, and political party. Detailed name index.
Les Elites ivoiriennes. 3e ed. Paris: Ediafric, 1982.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC DT545.82.A2 E43 x, 1982 F
--2nd, 1978; 1st, 1976 (1st and 2nd both Numéro spécial du Bulletin de l'Afrique noire and subtitled: Who's who in Ivory Coast).
Egypt
Collective Biography
Biographical dictionary of modern Egypt Arthur Goldschmidt, Jr. Boulder, CO : Lynne Rienner Publishers, 2000, 299 p.
Widener | WID-LC | DT97 .G65 2000x
Covers 400 persons from the late 18th century to the present. Excludes the Sudan and Egyptians living overseas but includes some French and British in Egypt. Articles have excellent references in English, French and Arabic. Substantial terminal bibliography and subject index.
Contemporary
Who's who in Egypt. 1994-1995- Cairo, Egypt: Ummah Press Service, 1995-
LOCATION: Widener: RR 1634.3 = latest (2000)
WID LC DT76.W46x = earlier
About 700 biographies without contact information. Alphabetical under categories: Statesmen and Politicians, Media persons and Writers, Economists and Businessmen, Professors and Scholars. Name index. See also Who's who in the Arab world and the earlier sources mentioned in its annotation.
Ethiopia
Collective Biography
The Dictionary of Ethiopian biography, ed. By Belaynesh Michael, S. Chojnacki, Richard Pankhurst. Addis Ababa: Institute of Ethiopian Studies, Addis Ababa University, 1975-
Widener | WID-LC | CT2153 .D53
Includes persons of any nationality of significance in Ethiopian history. Signed articles; source lists. Contents: v. 1, From early times to the end of the Zagwe dynasty c. 1270 A.D. Largely “kings, religious leaders, warriors and other personalities who appear on coins, inscriptions and in manuscripts." Pref. No more published.
Ghana
Contemporary
Ghana who's who. Accra, Bartels Publications (Ghana) Ltd. v. illus. Widener | WID-LC | DT510.A1 G48 --In African Biographical Archive
Kenya
Collective Biography
Kenya : the top 100 people, by Isabelle Verdier. 1st ed, Paris: Indigo Publications, 1998, 222 p.
-- 3rd ed. 2003
Contemporary
Who is who in Kenya, 1982-1983, ed, by Mutuku Nzioki, M.B. Dar. Nairobi, Kenya : Africa Book Services, 1982. viii, 376 p.
Widener | RR1692.3
Biographical dictionary of contemporary figures arranged by occupational or professional categories. Many entries provide only an address, not a biographical sketch. No more published.
Madagascar
Collective Biography
Hommes et destins : dictionnaire biographique d'outre-mer. Paris : Acadmie des sciences d'outre-mer, 1975-1995. 10 v. ; (( Vol. 1-5: Publications de l'Acadmie des sciences d'outre-mer. Travaux et mmoires ; nouv. sr., no 2, 5, 59, [10-11] ) )
Widener | WID-LC | CT1014 .H6
Madagascar : dictionnaire des personnalités historiques / Dominique Ranaivoson. Saint-Maur-des-Fossés: Sépia ; Antananarivo, Madagascar : Éditions Tsipika, c2005. 218 p.
Widener | Harvard Depository | DT469.M282 R36 2005
Includes roughly 300 biographies of persons, largely deceased, connected with the history of Madagascar, 18th-20th centuries, including natives, colonials and travelers. Short introductory history highlights many names found in the biographical part. Index by occupation. Terminal glossary and bibliography.
Malawi
Collective Biography
Guide to the historical manuscripts in the National Archives of Rhodesia.
Contemporary
Who is who of Malawi, ed. by Denis M'Passou and Mary C. Piringu. Mulanje, Malawi : Spot Publications, 1995. 61 p.
Widener | WID-LC | DT3234 .W46 1995x
--About 150 biographies emphasizing politicians but including other occupations.
Mali
Collective Biography
Konare Ba, Adam. Dictionnaire des femmes celebres du Mali: des temps mythico-legendaires au 26 mars 1991. Bamako, Mali: Editions Jamana, 1993.
LOCATION: Widener: Harvard Depository CT3760.K66 1993
Biographies of about 340 women, living and deceased, from ancient times to the present. In chapters by area of activity with name index. Includes essay on women in Mali and appendixes with lists of organizations, etc.
Mauritius
Mauritius included in Who’s who in southern Africa (1963- ) and another??
Collective Biography
Dictionnaire de biographie mauricienne = Dictionary of Mauritian biography. Port Louis : Esclapon, 1941- v. ; (v. 29-49: Socit de l'histoire de l'Ile Maurice [Publication] ; 2 )
Widener | Afr 5849.82
Scholarly biographies (1-2 pp.) of deceased Mauritians with sources, references to portraits, and locations of personal papers. Appears in short fascicles with occasional cumulative indexes; the biographical articles are unordered. Articles in French or English. Latest no. 54, 2000(?).
Morocco
Contemporary
Who's who in Morocco. [S.l. : Editions Media C.O.P.E, 1998-
Widener | WID-LC | DT325 .W56x F ed.1(1998)-ed.2(2001)
Introductory material on royal family and government precedes about 1300 biographies of government officials, academics and other professionals. In French.
Mozambique
Included in Who’s who in southern Africa
Namibia
Included in Who’s who in southern Africa
Niger
Collective Biography
El_ments pour un dictionnaire biographique du Tchad et du Niger (T_da et Daza) / par Albert Le Rouvreur, avec la collaboration de Paule Deville et Joseph Tubiana. Paris : Éditions du Centre national de la recherche scientifique, 1978. 48 p. (Contributions _ la connaissance des _lites africaines ; fasc. 1 )
Widener | Harvard Depository | DT18 .C66x fasc.
About 100 biographies, often very brief and without dates. Cross-references for variant name forms. Name and population group index. Full text in African biographical archive.
Nigeria
Bibliography
National Library of Nigeria. A bibliography of biographies and memoirs on Nigeria. Lagos, 1968. 11 p. (National Library publications 9 )
Widener | Harvard Depository| Afr 6203.22
Lists 143 works, including travel accounts. Alphabetical by biographer, not biographee. No index.
Collective Biography
Eminent Nigerians of the twentieth century, by C. O. O.Ugowe. Lagos : Hugo Books; Ibadan, Nigeria : Ebony Bookmakers, 2000, 331 p.
WID-LC DT551 .U44 2000
Includes 42 deceased Nigerians (no Europeans) of wide range of occupations.
Eminent Nigerians of the nineteenth century, a series of studies originally broadcast by the Nigerian Broadcasting Corporation. Cambridge, University Press, 1960, 97 p.
Widener | Afr 6298.60
People in the news, 1900-1999 : a survey of Nigerians of the 20th century / [Bayo Onanuga, editor in chief]. Lagos, Nigeria : Independent Communications Ltd., 2000, 498 p.
Widener | WID-LC | CT2526 .P46 2000
Biographies, with photographs, of 100 living and deceased Nigerians from many occupations. Appendix of about 125 additional paragraph-length biographies without photographs.
Contemporary
Who’s who in Nigeria / ed. by P. Ishaka. 2nd ed. Lagos, Nigeria : NIBC, 2003.
Old Widener RR 1684.15.5
Over 5000 biographies from a wide range of occupations, with 1500 new in 2nd ed. The terminal Unforgettables section gives biographies of about 100 deceased, largely 20th century, Nigerians, including some dying since 1999. 1st ed.: The new who's who in Nigeria (1999).
Other Nigerian who’s whos include:
Who's who in Nigeria, by Bankole Makinde. Ikeja, Lagos State, Nigeria : Newswatch, 2nd ed. 2001, 1387 p. --Over 4000 entries; 1st ed., 1990 HOLLIS Recordhttp://id.lib.harvard.edu/alma/990019147720203941/catalog) (Offsite storage)
2000 foremost Nigerians, ed. by Olugbemi Fatula. Ibadan, Nigeria : Caltop Publications (Nigeria) Ltd. ; Ile-Ife, Nigeria : UNIFECS, Obafemi Awolowo University, 2 v. 2000, 2002
HOLLIS Record http://id.lib.harvard.edu/alma/990086224380203941/catalog
--The two published volumes of this projected series cover 200 and 100 living persons from a wide range of occupations. Vol. 1 has portraits, vol. 2 not. No contact information.
Who's who in Nigeria; a biographical dictionary. 2d ed. Apapa, Nigeria, Printed by Times Press, 1971, 232 p.
WID-LC CT2523 .W48 1971
Has about 1350 largely political entries in 1983 ed. (WID-LC CT2522 .W56x 1983). Earlier eds. (1971, 1956) are less political.
Biographia Nigeriana: a biographical dictionary of eminent Nigerians, by S. A. Orimoloye. Boston: G. K. Hall, 1977, 368 p.
WID-LC CT2526 .O74
--Includes about 1100 entries with some emphasis on academics (full text in African biographical archive).
Additional who’s whos available. https://hollis.harvard.edu/primo-explore/search?query=sub,exact,Nigeria%20--%20Biography%20--%20Dictionaries.,AND&sortby=date&vid=HVD2&mode=advanced&browseQuery=Eminent%20Nigerians%20of%20the%20twentieth%20century&browseScope=title&innerPnxIndex=-1&numOfUsedTerms=-1&fn=BrowseSearch&docCount=1
Seychelles
Collective Biography
Seychelles: personalities of yesterday, by James R. Mancham. Mahé, Seychelles: Mahe Publications, 2005 127 p.
Over 350 short biographies, most with photographs, of deceased largely 20th century figures of a wide range of occupations.
Sierra Leone
Contemporary
Who's who in Sierra Leone. [1981 ed.] [Freetown? : Lyns Publicity, 1981] 108 p. Widener | Harvard Depository | CT2446 .W48 1981 --The 1981 ed. (latest published?) contains approximately 250 short entries.
Sierra Leone year book. Freetown: Daily Mail Publication, 1956-78 Widener | WID-LC | DT516.A2 S5 --Includes a who’s who section.
South Africa
Bibliography
A select bibliography of South African autobiographies, by Rowse Ushpol. University of Cape Town, School of Librarianship, 1958. LOCATION: Widener: Afr 8028.135
Author list of 143 autobiographies with brief summaries and occupation and title indexes. Full text in African biographical archive.
Collective Biography
Dictionary of South African biography. Cape Town : Published for the National Council for Social Research, Dept. of Higher Education by Nasionale Boekhandel, 1968-c1987. 5 v. Widener | Afr 8055.50
Covers earliest European contact to present. No overall alphabetical or chronological sequence: arrangement alphabetical within each volume with cumulative index in each. The roughly 4500 articles are a page long or more. Persons who have had a significant influence on South African affairs and events are included even though they may never have visited South Africa. Articles are signed with contributor initials, source lists are appended, and there are usually notes on iconography. Vol. 1 includes only those dying before 1950, v. 2 before 1960, v. 3 before 1966, and v. 4 before 1971. Vol. 5 before 1983. Also published in Afrikaans. Full text in African biographical archive. Continued by New dictionary of South African biography
New dictionary of South African biography, ed. by E.J. Verwey. Pretoria : HSRC Publishers 1995- . Widener | WID-LC | CT1924 .N49 1995x
Complements and continues the Dictionary of South African biography. Emphasizes reform politicians, blacks, and women. Articles have source lists and, usually, portraits. Deceased persons only. Each vol. has cumulative indexes of the new and the original Dictionary of South African biography. Vol. 2 available free from HSRC Press website http://hsrcpress.ac.za/product.php?productid=2013.
Suid-Afrikaanse biografiese woordeboek. Kaapstad : Tafelberg-Uitgewers Beperk, 1968- Widener | Harvard Depository | CT1922 .S85x Note for record is :d.1(1968)-d.5(1987)
Joyce, Peter, A concise dictionary of South African biography, by Peter Joyce. Cape Town : Francolin Publishers, 1999. 288 p. Widener | WID-LC | DT1774 .J69 1999
Almost 1500 biographies of living and deceased South Africans. Overlaps considerably with Who did what in South Africa.
De Beer, Mona. Who did what in South Africa. Rev. ed. Jeppestown [South Africa]: Ad. Donker, 1995. LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC CT1924.D4 1995 --1st ed. 1988.
Contemporary
Who's who of Southern Africa. Johannesburg [South Africa] : Argus Printing and Publishing ; New York : Available from International Publications Service, Collings, Inc., 1959-
Widener | RR 1695.2 Earlier in Afr 8055.10
Free online version offers browsing by name and broad occupational category together with name and occupation searches. Separate list of names from countries outside of the Republic of South Africa: Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Swaziland, and Zimbabwe. List of obituaries. Links to news stories by, about, or mentioning the biographee.
Over 3000 entries in current print Who's who of Southern Africa 188433 (2006). Sections on South African representatives abroad and Foreign Missions in South Africa. Arrangement has varied. Non-Republic of South Africa countries have their own sections after mid-1950s; previously all names in one alphabetical sequence. Also available on CD-ROM. Full text (36th ed., 1952; 46th ed., 1962) in African biographical archive. 284331 Information on areas outside South Africa sometimes has been published separately, see McIlwaine’s Africa: A Guide to Reference Material for list.
Also see Black who's who of southern Africa today with two eds. (1979, 1982) which covered Union of South Africa only. General reference section (lists of government officials, etc.) and list of universities and their staffs precede the biographical section. About 2,000 entries in 2nd ed. Full text (2nd ed., 1982) in African biographical archive.
FUTURE Specify mid-1950s
Information on areas outside South Africa also published separately as: Who's who of the Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland, Central and East Africa, 1959- ; Who's who of the Rhodesias, Nyasaland, Central and East Africa (including Mauritius), -1963; Who's who of Rhodesia, Mauritius, Central and East Africa, 1964-<1971> Who's who of Rhodesia, Mauritius, Central and East Africa. Johannesburg. Widener | WID-LC | DT752 .S5x Suppl. The Central and East African who's who. Salisbury, Rhodesia : Central African who's who ltd., "An official, political, social, sporting and commercial survey of the Rhodesias, Nyasaland, Kenya, Uganda, Tanganyika, Portuguese East Africa and the Belgian Congo." Description based on: 1955; title from t.p.
Widener | Afr 55.30 Note
Called South African who's who. Johannesburg : Ken Donaldson, 42 v. ports. Widener | Afr 8055.10 1907-195
Wie is wie in Suid-Afrika. 1958?-1967 In Afrikans or English.
Widener | Afr 8055.12
The Black who's who of southern Africa today. Johannesburg : African Business Publications, 1979-1982.
Widener | WID-LC | CT1926 .B52x
Sudan
Collective Biography
A biographical dictionary of the Sudan, by Richard Leslie Hill. 2nd ed. London, Cass, 1967. 409 p.
Widener | Afr 4198.5.2.
Includes short notices of some 1,900 people who died before 1948. This volume reprints the earlier edition, A biographical dictionary of the AngloEgyptian Sudan (1951), adding a section of notes and corrections. Asterisk added to a name in the main body of the work signals a reference to the additions and corrections section. Full text in African biographical archive (2nd ed.) 284331 and Arab-Islamic biographical archive (1st ed.) .
Swaziland
Collective Biography
Jones, Huw M. A biographical register of Swaziland to 1902, by Huw M. Jones. Pietermaritzburg : University of Natal Press, 1993. xxxv, 691 p.
Widener | WID-LC | CT1942 .J66 1993 NIS
Information, often very brief, on all known Swaziland visitors or inhabitants, largely on whites and the Swazi ruling class.
Tunisia
Collective Biography
Clausen, Ursel. Tunisie : notes biographiques / Ursel Clausen. Hamburg : Deutsches Orient-Institut, 1976. 476 p. (Mitteilungen des Deutschen Orient-Instituts ; Nr. 9 )
Widener | Asia8.10 Nr.9
Brief biographical data on about 400 persons from 1956-1975 era with political and economic emphasis. Many entries have one or more sources. Lists of government depts. and national organizations with their personnel. Full text in African biographical archive.
Figures tunisiennes, by Sadok Zmerli ; textes r_unis et _tablis par Ham_di S_hili. al-_ab_ah 1. [Bayr_t, Lubn_n] : Dar al-Gharb al-Islami, 1993. 433, 47 p.
Widener | Harvard Depository | DT243 Z64 1993x
Biographies of about 60 deceased Tunesians from a wide range of occupations, 9th century-1970s. Most with portraits. Short bibliography. Revision of the author's Les précurseurs, Les successeurs, and Les contemporains et les autres. Full text in African biographical archive.
Uganda
Contemporary
Who's who in Uganda 1993 94. 2nd ed. Kampala: Fountain Publishers, 1994.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC CT2212.W46 1994x
Over 1000 often very brief entries, some with portraits, from a wide range of professions. 1st ed. 1989.
Zaire see DRC
Zambia (=Northern Rhodesia)
Collective Biography
Guide to the historical manuscripts in the National Archives of Rhodesia, by T. W. Baxter and E. E. Burke. Salisbury, 1970, 527 p.
Widener | Afr 9428.2
Pioneers of Rhodesia, by Edward C.Tabler. Cape Town, C. Struik, 1966, 185 p.
Widener | Afr 9619
Over 400 Europeans between 1836-1880. Articles keyed to terminal list of periodical articles, books and manuscripts.
Zimbabwe
Collective Biography
Guide to the historical manuscripts in the National Archives of Rhodesia, by T. W. Baxter and E. E. Burke. Salisbury, 1970, 527 p.
Widener | Afr 9428.2
Includes short biographies, of varying length, of over 450 colonial officials and other persons represented in the National Archives of Rhodesia. Includes persons active in Northern and Southern Rhodesia, Nyasaland and the succeeding Central African Federation (1953-64), later Malawi, Zambia and Zimbabwe.
Year book and guide of the Rhodesias and Nyasaland, with biographies. Salisbury, S. Rhodesia : Rhodesian Publications, Ltd. 1937-1962?
Widener | Harvard Depository | DT947 .Y4
Pioneers of Rhodesia, by Edward C.Tabler. Cape Town, C. Struik, 1966, 185 p.
Widener | Afr 9619
Over 400 Europeans between 1836-1880. Articles keyed to terminal list of periodical articles, books and manuscripts.
Contemporary
Who's who in Zimbabwe. Harare : Roblaw Publishers, 1992-1994 91/92 93/94v.
Widener | Harvard Depository | CT1970 .W48 F
--About 500 entries, most with portraits, from a wide range of occupations.
Who's who, 1981-82 : nationalist leaders in Zimbabwe, by Diana Mitchell. Causeway, Zimbabwe : D. Mitchell, 1982, 170, Sii, S21 p.
HOLLIS Record http://id.lib.harvard.edu/alma/990041605930203941/catalog
African nationalist leaders in Rhodesia who's who, by Robert Cary and Diana Mitchell. Bulawayo : Books of Rhodesia, 1977, 310 p.
Widener Library WID-LC DT962.6 .C37