Anthropological Literature is an e-resource produced at Harvard University under the direction of the Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology that currently indexes about 660 journals in the fields of anthropology, archaeology and related interdisciplinary research primarily from the collection of Harvard's Tozzer Library, as well as some open-access journals. International in scope, this resource contains more than 710,000 articles in over 50 languages The following are selective examples of foreign-language journals indexed in Anthropological Literature :

Bulgarian:  Arkheologiia  Indexed 1947-
Chinese:  Ren lei xue xue bao = Acta anthropologica sinica  Indexed 1982-
Czech:  Archeologické rozhledy  Indexed 1947-
Danish:  Nationalmuseets arbejdsmark  Indexed 1945-
Dutch:  Berichten van de Rijksdienst voor het Oudheidkundig Bodemonderzoek  Indexed 1952-2006
Estonian:  Arheoloogilised välitööd eestis = Archaeological field works in Estonia  Indexed 2004-
French:  L'Anthropologie  Indexed 1890-
Georgian and Russian:  Akad. S. Janašias saxelobis sak'art'velos saxelmcip'o muzeumis moambe  Indexed 1941-1979
German:  Baessler-Archiv : Beiträge zur Völkerkunde  Indexed 1911-
Hebrew/English:  Mi-teḳufat ha-even  Indexed 1970-
Hungarian:  Anthropológiai közlemények  Indexed 2004-
Icelandic:  Árbók hins Íslenzka fornleifafélags  Indexed 1949-1980
Italian:  Rivista di antropologie  Indexed 1911-2003
Japanese:  Kōkogaku Zasshi   Indexed 1914-
Macedonian/English:  Makedonsko nasledstvo = Macedonian heritage  Indexed 2005-
Maya and Spanish:  Yikal maya than  Indexed 1939-1954
Polish:  Archeologia (Rocznik Panstwowego Muzeum Archeologicznego...) = Bulletin of the Slovenian Ethnological Society   Indexed 1947-
Russian:  Vestnik antropologii   Indexed 1996-
Serbo-Croatian (Cyrillic):  Starinar  Indexed 1954-
Slovak:  Studijné zvesti Archeologického ústavu Slovenskej akadémie vied   Indexed 1957-
Slovenian:  Glasnik Slovenskega etnoloskega drustva  Indexed 1981-
Swedish:  Budkavlen  Indexed 1983-
Ukrainian:  Arkheolohichni studii   Indexed 2000- dating from the 18th century to the present; 10,000 new citations are added annually in monthly updates. This unique, comprehensive database provides both keyword and subject analysis as well as links to full-text material.

         Article records may contain language reflecting past practices and methods of analysis that are no longer acceptable. The Peabody Museum is committed to addressing the problem of offensive and discriminatory language present in the Anthropological Literature database. Our museum staff are continually updating records, adding to and improving content. We welcome your feedback and any questions or concerns you may want to share.

About this site

Basket and cover
Peabody ID: 08-4-10/73277
Peabody Collections Online

This site is a guide to the many features of the Anthropological Literature e-resource. It includes tools to assist users in understanding and utilizing the resource to its fullest extent and resources for support and training.

In addition, it highlights the rich interdisciplinary content of the database as well as links to current research in the field of anthropology at Harvard.

Click on the Research Spotlights tab at top to view examples of selected research topics and article records taken directly from the database.

 

All images on this website are from the Peabody Collections Online (unless otherwise noted) and are ©President and Fellows of Harvard College, Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology.

From the Peabody Collections

Lidded sewing basket
Peabody ID: 2017.8.32
Peabody Collections Online

 

Animal figure effigy vase with double stirrup sprout
Peabody ID: 46-77-30/5369
Peabody Collections Online

Feather cape
Peabody ID: 11-65-70/84100
Peabody Collections Online

Beaded whimsey in the shape of a red high heeled boot
Peabody ID: 995-29-10/73437
Peabody Collections Online

Links to the Anthropological Literature database

Access to the Anthropological Literature e-resource requires privileges at an institution with a subscription to the database.

View Credits
Web site design, thanks to
Megan Garlie, Assistant Editor
Ben Danner, former Indexing assistant, Anthropological Literature
Susan Berstler, Computer Support Associate, Cabot Library

Additional thanks to
Cynthia Mackey, Associate Registrar for Rights and Reproductions
Enrique Diaz, Designer/Multimedia Specialist, Harvard College Library
Janet L. Steins, Associate Librarian for Collections and Research Librarian, Tozzer Library, retired
Ralph Montilio, former Public Services Assistant, Tozzer Library

Images
Jessica R. Desany, former Imaging Services Coordinator, Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology
Barbara Fash, Director, Corpus of Maya Hieroglyphic Inscriptions Program & Mesoamerican Laboratory, Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology
Emily Moss, Editor/Indexer, Anthropological Literature, retired
Christopher Linnane, former Rights & Licensing Specialist, Harvard Art Museum
Nanni Deng, Asian Art Bibliographer, Fine Arts Library
Sheila Connor,  Horticultural Research Archivist, The Arnold Arboretum of Harvard University, retired
Ray Lum, former Librarian for Western Languages, The Harvard-Yenching Library, The Hedda Morrison Photographs of China
Jeffrey Spurr, former Islamic and Middle East Specialist, Fine Arts Library
Lisa DeCesare, Head of Archives & Public Services, Botany Libraries
Dana Fisher, Asst. to the Librarian/Special Collections/Archives, Ernst Mayer Library, MCZ
Daniel E. Lieberman, Edwin M. Lerner II Professor of Biological Sciences, Harvard University
Jason Ur, Professor of Anthropology, Harvard University
Rowan Flad, John E. Hudson Professor of Archaeology, Harvard University

Many thanks to the Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology for its generous permission to use images from the Peabody Collections Online database
which are all ©President and Fellows of Harvard College, Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology.

Banner images (left to right):
Der Chimpanse Molly des Berliner Aquariums, Zeitschrift für Ethnologie, Bd. 4 (1872), Taf. V
Alterhümer von Zaborowo, Zeitschrift für Ethnologie, Bd. 6 (1874), Taf. XV 
Cast of figure on terrace on east of Great Plaza, Peabody Collections Online, ID 42-19-20/14376
Wooden face mask, Peabody Collections Online, ID 29-76-50/H1091 
The ball court, painting by Tatiana Proskouriakoff, Peabody Collections Online, ID 50-63-20/18488

 

Hide Credits