Books (and more)
WorldCat including Ebooks and numerous other databases.
HathiTrust Digital Library ID Searchable digital content from over 50 institutions, totalling over 7.9 million volumes.
NDL Online The National Diet Library's main search portal for its vast collection, including over 150,000 volumes of digital books.
NDL Search A search portal of National Diet Library, which aims to be an access point for multi-format materials in public libraries, archives, museums, academic research institutions and NDL.
Japan Search operated by NDL the platform searches over 30 million metadata in Japan.
国文学研究資料館古典籍総合目録 Union Catalog of Early Japanese Books including holdings of European and US libraries.
CiNii Books Search Japanese university library collections.
Japanese Multi-Volume Titles Finding Aids Collection
Journal Articles and Dissertations
CiNii Articles Japanese academic journal search portal with links to digital contents when available; Refworks compatible.
Zasshi kiji sakuin shūsei dētabēsu 雑誌記事索引集成データベース ID Covers early Meiji to present, citation only.
Bibliography of Asian Studies ID Citation only.
JSTOR ID
Find Databases and E-Resources ID
Dissertation and Thesis full text (ProQuest) ID
Japanese Dissertations via NDLOpac Citation only.
Scholarly Communication and Copyright
Harvard's Office for Scholarly Communication
Harvard Library Policy on Access to Digital Reproductions of Works in the Public Domain
Copyright Resources to Support Publishing and Teaching A useful guide created by Penn Libraries.
US Copyright Law Relevant for teaching, learning and scholarship.
Writing Tools
Writing Guides Created and maintained by the Harvard Writing Project
Research Management and Citation Tools at Harvard Comparisons and information regarding Endnote, Refworks, Zotero, and more.
Zotero Free citation management software.
Chicago Manual of Style 16th ed., fully searchable.
Quick Guide on Citation Style for Chinese, Japanese and Korean Sources: Yale's site offers handy citation examples
Transliteration Tables for non-Roman Scripts The definitive guide for transliterating words, names, titles, or text from a non-Roman script into the Roman script.
Research aids
Reference Club Portal for a variety of reference sources in Japan.
Waseda Research NAVI 早稲田大学リサーチNAVI
J-GLOBAL Database on Japanese researchers
The NDL international reference service
Academic Resource Guide Created and maintained by Makoto Okamoto, who reviews Japanese academic resources on the web.
Japanese Digital Resources NCC's Digital Resources Committee maintains this guide.
East Asian Research
Institute for Advanced Studies on Asia, University of Tokyo 東京大学東洋文化研究所
Besides its library collection catalogs, the site offers useful databases including Korean Genealogies 朝鮮族譜データベース , Index to Chinese Modern Literature 中国近現代文学関係雑誌記事データベース articles, and a Tibetan-Sanskrit Dictionary (Tibetan-Sanskrit 構文対照電子辞書プロジェクト).
Center for Informatics in East Asian Studies, Institute for Research in Humanities, Kyoto University 東アジア人文情報学研究センター List of databases, including the Bibliography of Oriental Studies 東洋学文献類目, a citation index for scholarly literature on East Asia in Chinese, Japanese, Korean, and Western languages. Includes journal articles and monographs. Coverage is strongest for Chinese, Japanese, and Western languages.
Database for Books and Magazines on Modern Korea 近代朝鮮関係書籍データベース
Bibliographic database of books and magazines on Korea published in Japan between 1868 and 1945.
