Digital resources

Japan Search National platform to discover over 21 million items with 3.1 million contents publicly accessible. Created by National Diet Library of Japan.

Cultural Japan  Launched in August 2020, a discovery site for over 1 million Japanese items

National Diet Library Digital Collection 

国会会議録検索システム (1947-2020), 帝国議会会議録検索システム  (1891-1947)

20世紀・21世紀年表データベース　東京大学田中明彦研究室作成

Search & Discovery

HOLLIS ID

FirstSearch Includes WorldCat,

NDL Search

Zasshi kiji sakuin shūsei dētabēsu 雑誌記事索引集成データベース ID Covers early Meiji to present, citation only. 

JAIRO - Japanese Institutional Repositories Online

CiNii Articles Japanese academic journal search portal with links to digital contents when available;

Google Books Search (GBS)

 

Newspapers

Online Historical Newspaper Databases

Kikuzo Visual II for Libraries 聞蔵IIビジュアル for Libraries ID 朝日新聞 (1879-present).

Yomidas Rekishikan 読売新聞 (1874-present) ID Including Daily Yomiuri (1989-present).

Nikkei Telecom 21 日経テレコン21 ID Nihon Keizai shinbun 日本経済新聞 (1876-present) 

Maisaku 毎日新聞 ID (1872-Present) 

Keijo nippo 京城日報 / Kyŏngsŏng ilbo 경성일보 (1915-1944) ID 

Taiwan nichinichi shinpō 臺灣日日新報 (1898-1944) ID

Manchuria Daily News (1912-1941) ID

Japan Times (1897-2018) ID. including Japan Advertiser (1913-1940) 

Japan Chronicle Weekly (1902 – 1940) ID

Microform and Print

朝日新聞外地版 (1935-1945),  每日新聞外地版 (1926-1944),  満洲日日新聞  (1907-1943),  大連新聞（1920-1935),  上海日日新聞 (1931-1937),  新京日日新聞  (1933-1940),  中外日報 (1897-2011),  時事新報 (1882-1936),  日本 (1889-1906)

For Full list > News/Media

Journals

JapanKnowledge: 「太陽」(1895-1928), 「風俗画報」(1889-1916), 「文藝春秋」 (1923-50),「東洋経済新報／週刊東洋経済」(1895-2015),  The Oriental Economist (1934-1985)

岩波書店「思想」Shiso (1921-49)

官報 Government's official daily Kanpo (1883-1952), as well as the English edition (1945-1952), have been fully digitized by the National Diet Library. 明治16（1883）年7月2日の官報創刊日から昭和27（1952）年4月30日までの官報、および昭和21（1946）年4月4日から昭和 27（1952）年4月28日の期間のみ刊行されていたOFFICIAL GAZETTE; ENGLISH EDITION（英文官報）.

For Full listing > Journals

Images

East Asia Image Collections photographs, negatives, postcards, and slides of imperial Japan (1868-1945), its Asian empire (1895-1945) and occupied Japan (1947-52). Images of Taiwan 台湾, Japan 日本, China 中国, Korea 朝鮮, Manchuria 満州国, and Indonesia are included. Created and maintained by Lafayette College Libraries.

Asahi shinbun Historical Photo Archives 10,000 photos taken between 1930-1945 by Asahi journalists dispatched to Asia. ID

Manchukuo related postcards of Harvard-Yenching Library Some 2400 cards are digitized  in 2018

Occupation period (1945-51)

日本占領関係資料 over 30,000 digitized items drawn from the US National Archives, made available by the NDL.

The Gordon W. Prange Collection  University of Maryland The contents of the Prange Collection once constituted the files of the Civil Censorship Detachment (CCD), an operating unit of the Supreme Commander of the Allied Powers (SCAP) Press, Pictorial and Broadcast Division. Between 1945 and 1949, the CCD was responsible for reviewing all Japanese publications to identify violations of the Code for the Japanese Press. How to use materials in the Gordon W. Prange Collection  Yenching library holds a complete set of magazines and newspapers from the Prange collection in microform.

Prange Digital Children's Book Collection Some 1600 picture books (ehon) and 2000 comics (manga) are digitized.

プランゲ文庫資料の検索 Compiled by the NDL.

GHQ film records list リスト 映像で見る占領期の日本

Gordon W. Prange Collection magazines 13,783 magazines published in Japan  during 1945-1949, in microfiche (in 62,977 sheets)

Guide to the Gordon W. Prange magazine collection, the University of Maryland Libraries = [メリーランド大学図書館所蔵ゴードン・W・プランゲ文庫雑誌目錄]

Gordon W. Prange Collection of newspapers and newsletters 18,047 newspapers and newsletters in microfilm (in 3,826 rolls)

Guide to the Gordon W. Prange newspaper collection, the University of Maryland Libraries = メリーランド大学図書館所蔵ゴードン・W・プランゲ文庫新聞目錄​

Japanese Censorship Collection held by Library of Congress, over 1000 items are digitized and viewable.