E-books
Maruzen E-books Currently 3056 titles are available for Harvard readers.
E-book Publishers includes: 岩波書店、東京大学出版、吉川弘文堂、平凡社、みすず書房、勉誠出版 and more.
To request/suggest titles to add, please contact Kuniko Yamada McVey.
Internet Archive includes 2598 Japanese books published recently. Books are available to one borrower at a time using controlled digital lending.
JapanKnowledge
JapanKnowledge ID Over 80 titles of essential reference books and multi-volume sets are available online. Selected titles are below. Access to individual contents via the main entry of JapanKnowledge.
平凡社 東洋文庫 (772 volumes)
小学館 新編 日本古典文学全集 (88 volumes)
東洋経済新報／週刊東洋経済 (1895-2015)
人物叢書 新装版 (270 volumes)
Archival materials
J-DAC ジャパンデジタルアーカイブズセンター
楠田實資料： 佐藤栄作官邸文書 Prime Minister Eisaku Sato's archive, 矢部貞治関係文書 -- 大平正芳関係文書 -- 大来左武郎関係文書 -- 三木武夫関係資料
社会文化史データベース : 性風俗稀少雑誌コレクション, 「日本心霊」
Japanese Open Access resources
Japan Search National platform to discover over 21 million items with 3.1 million contents publicly accessible. Created by National Diet Library of Japan.
Cultural Japan Launched in August 2020, a discovery site for over 1 million Japanese items
National Diet Library Digital Collection
IIIF Discovery in Japan Over 470,000 titles of Japanese materials that are digitized in Japan are searchable and accessible. Contributing 19 institutions include National Diet Library, University of Tokyo, Kyoto University, National Institute of Japanese Literature and more.
Selected e-books titles
The Cambridge History of Japan, ID 1988-1999. Hollis listing
Newspapers
Kikuzo Visual II for Libraries 聞蔵IIビジュアル for Libraries ID 朝日新聞 (1879-present).
Yomidas Rekishikan 読売新聞 (1874-present) ID Including Daily Yomiuri (1989-present).
Nikkei Telecom 21 日経テレコン21 ID Nihon Keizai shinbun 日本経済新聞 (1876-present) and other three Nikkei papers.
Maisaku 毎日新聞 ID (1872-Present)
Keijo nippo 京城日報 / Kyŏngsŏng ilbo 경성일보 (1915-1944) ID
Taiwan jihō 臺灣時報 ID (1898-1945)
Taiwan nichinichi shinpō 臺灣日日新報 ID (1898-1944)
Manchuria Daily News (1912-1941) ID
The Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection Hoover Institution, Stanford University
海外邦字新聞 海外邦字新聞のなかからサンパウロ、サンフランシスコ、ブエノスアイレスにて発行された9紙
Japan Times (1897-2018) ID
Japan Advertiser (1913-1940) included in Japan Times Archive
Japan Chronicle Weekly (1902 – 1940) ID
The Times Supplements: Japanese Section (1910-1916) ID
The Trans-Pacific (Sep 1919 - 1921) Via Hathi Trust.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive
Japan Weekly Mail 1870 (Vol.1, #1-50)
The Anglo-Japanese Gazette (Vol. 1-2, July 1902-June 1903)
Guide to Newspapers and Newspaper Indexes
Digitized Harvard collection
Petzold Scrolls Collection
424 scrolls held by Yenching Library are viewable.
Japanese Books in Google Books Search
Harvard-Yenching Library Japanese Digital Collection- Rare Books
Religion
Buddhism in the Pandemic a collaborative repository for pedagogical resources related to Buddhism and the coronavirus pandemic
法隆寺金堂壁画写真ガラス原板 the glass photographic plates of the murals at the Kondō, or the Golden Hall, of Hōryūji Temple in Nara
Scholarship in/on Pandemic
the Asia-Pacific Journal: Japan Focus (Volume 18, No.14, Special Issue: Pandemic Asia, Part I)
"Corona Cartoons, Japan" by Ryan Holmberg in The Comic Journal, Part 1 & Part 2
