Research Guide for Japanese Studies

CiNii Articles Japanese academic journal search portal with links to digital contents when available.

J-STAGE Operated by the Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST). Humanities titles are growing as well. 2,692,280 articles are available as of October 15th, 2015.

Zasshi kiji sakuin shūsei dētabēsu 雑誌記事索引集成データベース ID Covers early Meiji to present, citation only. 

Web Oya-Bunko ID Index to the Oya Soichi magazine collection, with many popular titles dating back to the early Meji period. Over 5.8 million entries. 

東洋学文献類目 Bibliography of Oriental Studies Monographs and journal articles on East Asian studies in Chinese, Japanese, Korean, and Western-languages.

中国・アジア研究論文データベース

Prange Database 占領期雑誌新聞記事データベース Covers 1945-1949, citation only. Yenching library holds full sets of newspapers and journals in microform.

DOAJ-Directory of Open Access Journals

Arts and Humanities Citation Index: Web of Knowledge ID 

JSTOR ID

Project MUSE ID

E-Research @ Harvard ID

ProQuest ID Full texts of dissertations and theses.

Google Scholar ID 

京都大学発行電子ジャーナル A portal for E-journals published by Kyoto University.

Cipango – French Journal of Japanese Studies. English Selection  Vol. 1 (2012) and 2 (2013) are available.

Contemporary Japan Journal of the German Institute for Japanese Studies.

Cross-Currents East Asian History and Culture Review

Early Modern Japan: an interdisciplinary journal

East Asia Forum Based out of the Crawford School of Public Policy at the Australian National University, the Forum is a joint initiative of two academic research networks: the East Asian Bureau of Economic Research (EABER) and the South Asian Bureau of Economic Research (SABER).

EJCJS (Electronic Journal of Contemporary Japanese Studies)

Gaiko 外交 Web

International Inoue Enryo Research 『国際井上円了研究』

Japan Focus Asia-Pacific Journal: Japan Focus.

Japan Forum Official journal of the British Association for Japanese Studies.

Japanese Studies  Issued by the Japanese Studies Association of Australia.

Japonica Humboldtiana Yearbook of the Mori Ogai Memorial Hall, Humboldt University. Available full-text in PDF;  #1-12(1997-2008). 

Journal of Asian Humanities at Kyushu University (JAH-Q)

Journal of Asian Studies

Les Cahiers d'Ebisu no. 3

New Voices in Japanese Studies 

『日本漢文学研究』 Nihon kanbungaku kenkyu

Phantastopia  #1 (March 2022) 東京大学大学院表象文化論コースWebジャーナル

PMJS (PreModern Japanese Studies) Papers

Positions : East Asia cultures critique

Social Science Japan Journal

Springboard Japan Translates 

Studies in Japanese Literature and Culture

Trans Asia Photography Review An international refereed journal devoted to the discussion of historic and contemporary photography from Asia. Free access online.

『東洋文庫報』 Available from No 1 (1969)

『東洋学報』 Available from Vol. 1 (1911)

国文学論文目録 日本文学研究論文の総合目録データベース（明治・大正・昭和・平成）

早稲田文学総目次

Bibliography of Japanese Sociology 日本社会学文献情報データベース
Comprehensive bibliography of scholarship on sociology published in Japan from 1945 to the present.

女性文献情報データベース、国立女性教育会館

教育研究論文索引

東亜同文書院･東亜同文会雑誌記事データベース

東洋文庫研究部 Including the Toyo Bunko Repository and Modern Asian Studies Review

東方学 (Eastern Studies) 目次一覧

ユリイカ　1988-Present

現代思想　1996-Present

Imago 1990-1996

『明六雑誌』 国立国語研究所作成　第１−４３号 （1874−75）

『国民之友』 国立国語研究所作成　第１−36号 （1887-88）

『写真週報』 創刊号ー３５２号 （1938−1944）

『満州技術協会雑誌』 (1925-1941) Journal of Manchuria Technical Association

『満州建築協会雑誌』 (1924-1944) The Journal of Manchuria Architectural Association

「栄養と料理」 (1925-1988) Full image view.

『学習研究』 奈良女子大学刊 （1922-1941、1946-1961）

『伸びてゆく』 奈良女子高等師範学校刊 （1921-1927）

『家事及裁縫』 東京家事講習所刊 （1927-1944）

『醫學中央雜誌』 (1903-1989) via National Diet Library

「東洋経済新報」　「週刊東洋経済」　明治28年11月ー昭和20年12月 ( The Oriental Economist, weekly. 1895-1945, 1946-2015) via JapanKnowledge ID

岩波書店「思想」Shiso ID  （1921-1949）

日本歴史 ID（1946年6月−1960年12月）MeL

JKBooks文藝春秋アーカイブズ  ID (1923-1950)

『演藝 畫報』(1907-1920) via Hathi Trust

Series: 「婦人雑誌」がつくる大正・昭和の女性像 ; 第 1--5卷 第 6--9卷

婦人グラフ(国際情報社 1924-1928).  女性改造 = Virina rekonstruo (1922-1924).  労働婦人(1927-1934). 愛國婦人.=Aikoku fujin 愛國婦人會機關 (1902-1942). 女学世界 大正期 (1913-1925). 処女の友 (1918-1941). 婦人世界(1906-1933). 輝ク(1933-1941).  黒薔薇 (1925). 新真婦人 (1913-1923). 廓清 = Purity (1911-1945).  

Microfilm: 婦人世界　(1906-1933)  婦人画報　(1905-1944)

Korean: 新女性.Sin yŏsŏng     新家庭.Sin kajŏng.

日本雑誌協会

雑誌各種データ

Mapping Imperial Japanese History through the B-Collection Essay on LC's project “Prewar and Occupation Period Japanese Serials”