Search & Discovery

HOLLIS ID

FirstSearch Includes WorldCat, Ebooks and numerous other databases.

NDL Search

Zasshi kiji sakuin shūsei dētabēsu 雑誌記事索引集成データベース ID Covers early Meiji to present, citation only. 

CiNii Research Japanese academic contents and data search portal with links to digital contents when available.

IRDB - Japanese Institutional Repositories Database

J-STAGE an electronic journal platform

Google Books Search (GBS)

国文学研究資料館古典籍総合目録 Union Catalog of Early Japanese Books including holdings of European and US libraries.

Digital Collections, Search and Access

National Diet Library Digital Collection  For all digitized contents of NDL collection in all formats.

Japan Search 

Cultural Japan Discover digital resources on Japanese Culture from all over the world.

早稲田大学 古典籍総合データベース Digital library of Waseda University's rare books collection

青空文庫

EBSCO eBook Collection ID

Project MUSE ID

HathiTrust Digital Library

Ebook and Texts Archive, Internet Archive

Open Library Including 4000 E-Books from Aozora Bunko.

ColBase:  Integrated Collections Database of the National Museums, Japan

Nichibunken Digital Collection International Research Center for Japanese Studies 

Text search

Next Digital Library As of March 2022, texts and illustrations of 366,000 titles of books are searchable.

Amazon 本・コミック・雑誌 詳細検索

JapanKnowledge

JapanKnowledge+ ID 30 reference books, over 800 books, and more - Full Text.

Historical Newspapers

Kikuzo Visual II for Libraries 聞蔵IIビジュアル for Libraries ID 朝日新聞 (1879-present).

Yomidas Rekishikan 読売新聞 (1874-present) ID Including Daily Yomiuri (1989-present).

Nikkei Telecom 21 日経テレコン21 ID Nihon Keizai shinbun 日本経済新聞 (1876-present) and other three Nikkei papers.

Maisaku 毎日新聞 ID (1872-Present)

Japan Times (1897-2014) ID

Dissertations

Japanese dissertations 博士論文 National Diet Library provides 15,000 dissertations in full-text online, and 140,000 bibliographic records of dissertations submitted 1991-2000.

CiNii Dissertations

ProQuest ID Full texts of dissertations and theses.

Global ETD Search Search the 5,999,919 electronic theses and dissertations contained in the NDLTD archive

Audio-Visual contents