Reference Tools
JapanKnowledge + NR enter here for 『国史大辞典』、『日本国語大辞典』、『日本歴史地理大系」、『東洋文庫』 and more.
歴史参考データ Reference pages for reign names, the ancient calendar, and much more.
欧文日本古代史料解題辞典 Dictionary of Sources of Classical Japan (DSCJ)
官制大観 Ver.0.8. 律令官制下の官職に関わるリファレンス
歴史人物画像データベース 国文学研究資料館作成
古事類苑全文データベース Koji Ruien full-text database About 20 % of 67,000 pages are digitized in this on-going project.
Online Glossary of Japanese Historical Terms (日本史用語翻訳グロッサリー・データベース) the project led by the Historiographical Institute , University of Tokyo.
Historical Images
国立公文書館絵巻物 National Archives' scroll collection.
錦絵データベース （東大史料編纂所）
長崎大学所蔵幕末明治期日本古写真コレクション Japanese Photographs from the Bakumatsu-Meiji period.
写真の中の明治・大正：東京編 500 searchable photos of prewar Tokyo (1868-1945).
横浜歴史画像集 Historical Images of Yokohama including photos, prints, trademarks, posters.
華北交通アーカイブ 日中戦争期に中国北部・西北部（華北）の交通インフラを管轄していた華北交通株式会社が所蔵していた3万8千点あまりの広報用ストックフォトをもとに構築された統合型の研究データベース
Asahi shinbun Historical Photo Archives 10,000 photos taken by Asahi journalists dispatched to Asia, 1930-1945. (ID/PIN)
The Sino-Japanese War of 1894-1895: as seen in prints and archives 235 prints held by the British Library, comprised of 179 woodblock prints or lithographs produced in Japan and 56 prints and leaflets made in China.
Ancient Period 古代
奈良時代古文書フルテキストデータベース 東京大学史料編纂所作成
『平安遺文』フルテキストデータベース 東京大学史料編纂所作成
奈良地域関連資料画像データベース （奈良女子大作成）
Guide to Shosoin Research 正倉院研究ガイド Compiled by Bryan Lowe and Chris Mayo.
正倉院紀要 第1号（昭和54年）- 第37号（平成27年）Contents available in pdf.
正倉院宝物検索 Shosoin treasure hunt search.
Medieval Period 中世
日本の中世文書WEB 代表的な様式の文書を選んで、読み方を文字と音声で示しています。
中世記録人名索引データベース 『経俊卿記』・『勘仲記』（ただし途中まで）・『吉続記』・『花園天皇日記』・『教言卿記』・『満済准后日記』・『看聞日記』など、東京大学史料編纂所作成
『鎌倉遺文』フルテキストデータベース 東京大学史料編纂所作成,
吾妻鏡データベース 国文学研究資料館作成
古記録フルテキストデータベース 東京大学史料編纂所作成 『大日本古記録』収載の平安時代から室町時代の公家日記、戦国時代の武家日記など
淡輪文書 Tannnowa monjo Princeton and Kyoto universities collaboration Kyoto site
大吉文庫 日本中世の「家」と記録 maintained by 高橋秀樹
Translation Archive, The Project for Pre-Modern Japanese studies,USC
Early Modern Period 江戸時代・近世
Denki-etcetera Biographical data for 173 late-Edo intellectuals, created by Anna Beerns.
江戸時代紀行文集 （奈良女子大学）
間宮林蔵『東韃地方紀行」 （文化７年）1810
女性関連資料 （奈良女子大学） Includes 69 books for women including Onna chōhōki 女重寶記.
貝原益軒アーカイブ （中村学園）「養生訓」「大和本草」「和俗童子訓」『筑前国続風土記」「花譜」「菜譜」
Aftermath of the East Asian War of 1592-1598 The project, designed and created with the support of the European Research Council, includes "A bibliography of research on the Imjin War."
Modern History 近代
官報 Government's official daily Kanpo (1883-1952), as well as the English edition (1945-1952), have been fully digitized by the National Diet Library. 明治16（1883）年7月2日の官報創刊日から昭和27（1952）年4月30日までの官報、および昭和21（1946）年4月4日から昭和 27（1952）年4月28日の期間のみ刊行されていたOFFICIAL GAZETTE; ENGLISH EDITION（英文官報）.
官報情報検索サービス ID (May 3, 1947-present) for access, contact the librarian for the Japanese Collection
Japan Center for Asian Historical Records (JACAR) アジア歴史資料センター
国会図書館憲政資料室 Archives of Modern Japanese Political History at National Diet Library
『明六雑誌』 国立国語研究所作成 第1-43号 （1874−75）
近代化黎明期翻訳本全文画像データベース Full text image database of translations of western books from the dawn of modern Japan.
20世紀・21世紀年表データベース 東京大学田中明彦研究室作成
Japan at War and Peace, 1930-1949: U.S. State Department Records on the Internal Affairs of Japan
Joseph Clark Grew papers, 1904-1948
広島･長崎の記憶 "Memories of Hiroshima and Nagasaki--Messages from Hibakusha (atomic bomb survivors)" First hand accounts from hibakusha, in both Japanese and English.
NAGASAKI ATOMIC HISTORY AND THE PRESENT (NAHP) supported by the Colgate University, the website is an online educational resource intended for American high school and college students to learn about the atomic bombing of Nagasaki, Japan, and consider what the effects of a nuclear weapon on their hometowns might be.
Japan Air Raids.Org 日本空襲デジタルアーカイブ Includes English language materials.
Records of the U.S. Strategic Bombing Survey = 米国戦略爆撃調査団文書 Over 25,000 documents digitized by the NDL.
NHK戦争証言アーカイブズ Audio-visual Pacific War Archive, includes many interviews with Japanese soldiers and citizens.
Okinawa Peace Learning Archive 沖縄平和学習アーカイブ Testimonials and photo materials are supplemented with spatial and temporal data, allowing the user to freely move about in the skies of Okinawa in the 1940s.
戦争を語り継ぐ証言集 Collection of recollections of Japanese war experiences.
『疎開の子ども 600日の記錄』 (1994) Hollis listing.
Japan Digital Archives Center J-DAC ジャパンデジタルアーカイブズセンター
楠田實資料： 佐藤栄作官邸文書 Prime Minister Eisaku Sato's archive, 矢部貞治関係文書 -- 大平正芳関係文書 -- 大来左武郎関係文書 -- 三木武夫関係資料
Pamphlets on Japan, Manchoukuo, and Japan in the Pacific War
日本軍の慰安所政策について 京都大学永井和教授による問題点のまとめ
Occupation Period 1945-1951
日本占領関係資料 over 30,000 digitized items drawn from the US National Archives, made available by the NDL.
モージャー氏撮影写真資料 304 photos taken by Robert Mosier during the Occupation period are fully digitized.
The Gordon W. Prange Collection University of Maryland The contents of the Prange Collection once constituted the files of the Civil Censorship Detachment (CCD), an operating unit of the Supreme Commander of the Allied Powers (SCAP) Press, Pictorial and Broadcast Division. Between 1945 and 1949, the CCD was responsible for reviewing all Japanese publications to identify violations of the Code for the Japanese Press. How to use materials in the Gordon W. Prange Collection Yenching library holds a complete set of magazines and newspapers from the Prange collection in microform.
Prange Digital Children's Book Collection Some 1600 picture books (ehon) and 2000 comics (manga) are digitized.
プランゲ文庫資料の検索 Compiled by the NDL.
GHQ film records list リスト 映像で見る占領期の日本
日本降伏関連サイトへのリンク集
Gordon W. Prange Collection magazines 13,783 magazines published in Japan during 1945-1949, in microfiche (in 62,977 sheets)
Gordon W. Prange Collection of newspapers and newsletters 18,047 newspapers and newsletters in microfilm (in 3,826 rolls)
Japanese Censorship Collection held by Library of Congress, over 1000 items are digitized and viewable.
John L. Cooper papers from the U.S. Occupation of Japan, Sept. 3, 1945- July 1, 1951
Japan's Imperial Past
East Asia Image Collections photographs, negatives, postcards, and slides of imperial Japan (1868-1945), its Asian empire (1895-1945) and occupied Japan (1947-52). Images of Taiwan 台湾, Japan 日本, China 中国, Korea 朝鮮, Manchuria 満州国, and Indonesia are included. Created and maintained by Lafayette College Libraries.
Asahi shinbun Historical Photo Archives 10,000 photos taken between 1930-1945 by Asahi journalists dispatched to Asia. ID
朝日新聞外地版 (1935-1945)
每日新聞外地版 (1926-1944)
満洲日日新聞 (1907-1943)
大連新聞 （1920-1935）
上海日日新聞 (1931-1937)
新京日日新聞 (1933-1940)
『満州技術協会雑誌』 (1925-1941) The Journal of the Manchuria Technical Association
『満州建築協会雑誌』 (1924-1944) The Journal of the Manchuria Architectural Association
『土木満州』(1941-1944)
Transcolonial Film Coproductions in the Japanese Empire: Antinomies in the Colonial Archive Cross-Currents E-Journal (No. 5) ISSN: 2158-9674, December 2012.
『日本軍慰安所管理人の日記』 （日本語翻訳版）1943-44年、ビルマとシンガポールの日本軍慰安所の帳場に勤めていた朝鮮人の日記
『敎科書に書かれなかった戦争』シリーズ （梨の木舎、1984－）
Grassroots Operations of the Japanese Empire: Translated Primary Sources for Teaching Purposes maintained by Sayaka Chatani
Medicine 医学史
16 works by Hanaoka Seishu （華岡青洲）早稲田大学図書館蔵
Hanaoka Seishu's "Surgical Casebook" held by National Library of Medicine
Japanese medical manuscript notebooks, 1810-1849 and undated Duke University. The sixty-three Japanese manuscript volumes in this collection were created from 1810 to 1849.
Thank you: Feng-en Tu
Historical Documents 古文書
日本古文書ユニオンカタログ 東京大学史料編纂所作成 Union Catalog of Japanese manuscripts, University of Tokyo.
東京国立博物館所蔵古文書データベース Tokyo National Museum historical manuscripts database.
