Historical Newspaper Databases
朝日新聞クロスサーチ ID 朝日新聞 (1879-present). Via VPN for remote access.
朝日デジタル ID
Yomidas Rekishikan 読売新聞 (1874-present) ID Including Daily Yomiuri (1989-present).
Nikkei Telecom 21 日経テレコン21 ID Nihon Keizai shinbun 日本経済新聞 (1876-present) and other three Nikkei papers.
Maisaku 毎日新聞 ID (1872-Present)
Keijo nippo 京城日報 / Kyŏngsŏng ilbo 경성일보 (1915-1944) ID Online access to full image reproductions in pdf format of an official Japanese-language newspaper from colonial-period Korea.
Taiwan jihō 臺灣時報 ID
Coverage: 1898-1945
Keyword searching and scanned full text in .pdf format for a Japanese-language journal published by the Japanese colonial government in Taiwan. Search terms may be entered using Chinese or Japanese. Includes the earlier Taiwan Kyōkai kaihō 臺灣協會會報 (note: the texts are in Japanese and the metadata may be searched in Japanese. The website, help files, etc., are in Chinese).
Taiwan nichinichi shinpō 臺灣日日新報 ID
Coverage: 1898-1944
Harvard-Yenching Microfilm FJ-50010 (includes the earlier Taiwan shinpō 臺灣新報)
Including both Japanese (1898.5 - 1944.3) and Chinese (1905.7 - 1911.11) editions. Search terms may be entered using Japanese or Chinese characters. Texts are in .pdf format; citations may be saved or emailed. Continues Taiwan shinpō 臺灣新報 (note: the texts are in Japanese and the metadata may be searched in Japanese. The website, help files, etc., are in Chinese).
Manchuria Daily News (1912-1941) ID
The Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection Hoover Institution, Stanford University
Rafu Shimpo Digital Archive the longest running Japanese American newspaper in the United States. The paper began in 1903 supporting the small but growing Japanese community in the Little Tokyo area of Los Angeles, California. (1914-2018)
海外邦字新聞 海外邦字新聞のなかからサンパウロ、サンフランシスコ、ブエノスアイレスにて発行された9紙
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953) This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Japan Times Archives (1897-2023) ID
Japan Advertiser (1913-1940) included in Japan Times Archive
Japan Chronicle Weekly (1902 – 1940) ID
The Times Supplements: Japanese Section (1910-1916) ID
Japan News Digital Archive ID Launched in 1955, The Japan News is an English-language daily published by The Yomiuri Shimbun. Known by several different names during its history (Japan News, Yomiuri Japan News, The Yomiuri, The Daily Yomiuri), The Japan News adopted its current name in 2013.
The Trans-Pacific (Sep 1919 - 1921) Via Hathi Trust.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive
Japan Weekly Mail 1870 (Vol.1, #1-50)
The Anglo-Japanese Gazette (Vol. 1-2, July 1902-June 1903)
NK News News from North Kore
Guide to Newspapers and Newspaper Indexes
America's Historical Newspapers ID
Nexis Uni ID For most Western media after 1980s.
Westlaw Japan Legal news, publications, and all legal precedents and current laws are searchable in this database.
Microform and Print
From the Harvard collections (links are to Hollis listings):
郵便報知新聞 Yūbin hōchi shinbun (1872-1894)
日本初期新聞全集 Nihon shoki shinbun zenshū (1857-1873) in 67 volumes.
幕末明治新聞全集 Bakumatsu Meiji shinbun zenshu (1853-1870) in 6 volumes.
都新聞（1888－1942）復刻版
朝日新聞外地版 (1935-1945)
每日新聞外地版 (1926-1944)
満洲日日新聞 (1907-1943)
大連新聞 （1920-1935）
上海日日新聞 (1931-1937)
新京日日新聞 (1933-1940)
中外日報 (1897-2011)
時事新報 (1882-1936)
日本 (1889-1906)
産経新聞 (1950-2023)
東京新聞 (1950-2021)
赤旗縮刷版 (1961-2003, missing 1995)
Akahata [Microfilm] (1945-1960)
Gordon W. Prange Collection of newspapers and newsletters 18,047 newspapers and newsletters in microfilm 1945-1949 (in 3,826 rolls)
近代日本キりスト教新聞集成 Kindai Nihon Kirisutokyō shinbun shūsei [microform]
The Daily Yomiuri (1955-2002) [microfilm]
Free Online Newspaper Resources
官報 Government's official daily Kanpo (1883-1952) and English edition (1945-1952) are fully digitized and available through the National Diet Library. 明治16（1883）年7月2日の官報創刊日から昭和27（1952）年4月30日までの官報、および昭和21（1946）年4月4日から昭和 27（1952）年4月28日の期間のみ刊行されていたOFFICIAL GAZETTE; ENGLISH EDITION（英文官報）
神戸大学新聞記事文庫 Database of newspaper clippings from 1910-1943, including papers published in Taiwan, Korea and Manchuria.
Yubin Hochi shinbun #447, Feb. 1875
Early Newspapers
新聞附録錦繪 幕末から明治期錦絵新聞のスクラップ帳
