Cambridge Ancient History
New Cambridge Medieval History
Database of Latin Dictionaries
Digital Loeb Classical Library
Dyabola: Census of Antique Art
International Medieval Bibliography
Lexikon des Mittelalters
Library of Latin Texts (CLCLT)
Monumenta Germaniae Historica
New Jacoby Online
New Pauly Online
Oxford Classical Dictionary
Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium
Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
Perseus: Greek and Roman Materials
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
Thesaurus Linguae Latinae
Vetus Latina Database
Databases for Finding Articles
Many thanks to Deborah Brown, Librarian for Byzantine Studies, at
Dumbarton Oaks Research Library and Collection for her contributions to this section.
Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary database that includes citations and abstracts from over 4,500 scholarly publications (journals, magazines and newspapers).
American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES)
ABSEES Online is the electronic version of The American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies.
L'Année Philologique is an international annual index to research on all aspects of greco-roman antiquity, from prehistory to 800 AD. First published in 1924, it indexes books, journal articles, dissertations, and conference proceedings covering a broad range of classical subjects.
Art Full Text (Wilson)
A bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from art and architecture periodicals published throughout the world. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included.
Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984)
A periodical literature database that cumulates citations from the printed version of the Art Index, volumes 1-32 (1929-1984). Subjects covered in the Art Index Retrospective include archaeology, architecture and architectural history, art history, painting, sculpture, and more.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
A multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 7,000 major science and social science journals.
Bibliography of the History of Art
Covering European and American art from late antiquity to the present, the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 4,000 periodicals.
The sole existing professional bibliography for all subfields of Byzantine studies. The Bibliography appears in printed form twice annually in the Byzantinische Zeitschrift, the renowned German-language professional journal for Byzantine studies.
DYABOLA: Census of Antique Art
Online access to the subject catalogs of publications on the history of art and classical archaeology. It includes the subject catalogs of the German Archaeological Institute in Rome ( 1956-2004), the Bibliography of Iberian Archaeology from the German Archaeological Institute in Madrid (1991-2002), and the Archaeology of Roman Provinces from RGK Frankfurt (1992-2004). Dyabola also include the image resources Database of Attic Grave Reliefs, the Census of Antique Art and Architecture Known to the Renaissance and Corpus of Antique Monuments Known to Winckelmann.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
This site covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages published since 1996. Books written by a single author are not indexed.
Gnomon is a restricted, online version of the bibliographic database for the Classics, Gnomon Bibliographische Datenbank (GBD), available in the Widener Library's Loker Reading Room under CD-ROM RR 161. With only about 15% of the GBD, Gnomon Online holds about 36,000 bibliographic references, including a thesaurus of names, places, themes, and other terms associated with the ancient world. The thesaurus is organized hierarchically by subect, with entries for history, literature, mythology, philosophy, histoepigraphy, topography, and more.
Google Scholar enables you to search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. The service can be used to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
Index Islamicus, produced by the Islamic Bibliography Unit at Cambridge University Library, is a bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. Index Islamicus provides access to over 2,000 journals and series. It also covers conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works, and book reviews.
IBR - Internationale Bibliographie der Rezension
The International Bibliography of Book Reviews of Scholarly Literature in the Humanities and Social Sciences (IBR) published since 1971 provides an interdisciplinary, international bibliography of reviews. The database indexes thousands of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, primarily from Europe and North America.
The IBZ is an international and interdisciplinary bibliography of academic periodical literature focusing on the Humanities, Social Sciences and Arts. It contains over 2.550.000 journal articles from about 10.785 journals covering the years 1983ff.
International Medieval Bibliography
A comprehensive, current bibliography of journal articles, essay collections and conference proceedings for all areas of medieval studies.
Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. For complete lists of titles and collections, please refer to http://www.jstor.org/about/collection.list.html
Bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from 1963 to the present.
Russian National Bibliography
The resource includes: Knizhnaia letopis' (guide to books published in Russia), Letopis' gazetnykh statei (citations of Russian newspaper articles), Letopis' zhurnal'nykh statei (citations of Russian journal articles), Letopis retsenzii (citations of book reviews found in the central and regional Russian press), Kartograficheskaia letopis (bibliographic information for all cartography and maps produced in Russia), Letopis avtoreferatov dissertatsii (indexes to all doctoral and masters dissertations abstracts throughout Russia), Notnaia letopis' (index to Russian music-related publications), Letopis' periodicheskikh i prodolzhaiushchikhsia izdanii (comprehensive title-level bibliography of Russian/former Soviet periodicals which describes over 40,000 newspapers, periodicals, bulletins, and continuing publications since 1981).
Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies
This database covers material in the humanities and social sciences published in the Commonwealth of Independent States, in Eastern European countries, and elsewhere, including periodicals, books, and manuscripts.