Archival Resources and Digital Tools
NB - A search for archives and manuscripts should include HOLLIS, Archival Resources, Archive Finder, and WorldCat (see below).
Abbreviationes 2.6
This tool offers researchers a quick solution to finding common abbreviations in medieval Latin manuscripts, reference works, and other documents. The search screen lets you define whether the abbreviation you are looking for is used at the beginning or end of a term or contained within it. To type any letters on the baseline (lowercase or uppercase), use the keys for the lowercase letters a-z. To type superscript letters, use the keys for the uppercase letters A-Z. To type the common abbreviation mark for ‘con’, use @ (the at sign).
ArchiveGrid
This database contains over 730,000 records (brief catalog descriptions) of archival and manuscript collections, plus more than 48,000 collection guides (detailed lists describing the content of collections, often referred to as finding aids or inventories). The records, but not the guides, duplicate those for archives and manuscripts found in the RLG Bibliographic File (a Eureka database). Records for many Harvard archives and manuscripts plus over 2100 Harvard collection guides are included.
Archive Finder
Archive Finder is a current directory which describes over 220,000 collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland.
In Principio
This resource features over 1 million incipits, covering Latin literature from its origins to the Renaissance. Users have the option of directly entering search terms in one or more fields, searching terms from a browse list, checking "hits" before displaying results, and exporting records.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (U. of Toronto)
Iter was created for the advancement of learning in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) through the development of online resources, including (among others): Iter Italicum, P.O. Kristeller's listing of uncataloged, or incompletely cataloged, humanistic manuscripts of the Renaissance, in Italian and other libraries around the world; the Iter Bibliography of more than 600,000 records for articles, essays, books and reviews; and a growing list of related databases and web sites.
HOLLIS for Archival Discovery
Search engine for the finding aids for archival and manuscript materials held at Harvard University and Radcliffe College.
WorldCat (First Search)
WorldCat is a union (i.e. collective) catalog of records of any type of material (books, periodicals, scores, films, recordings, etc.) cataloged by over 41,000 OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries, primarily but not exclusively, from libraries in the United States, but extending to 82 other nations. There are more than 47 million records in the WorldCat database, whose scope includes everything from Babylonian inscriptions to e-books.
Abbreviationes 2.6
This tool offers researchers a quick solution to finding common abbreviations in medieval Latin manuscripts, reference works, and other documents. The search screen lets you define whether the abbreviation you are looking for is used at the beginning or end of a term or contained within it. To type any letters on the baseline (lowercase or uppercase), use the keys for the lowercase letters a-z. To type superscript letters, use the keys for the uppercase letters A-Z. To type the common abbreviation mark for ‘con’, use @ (the at sign).
ArchiveGrid
This database contains over 730,000 records (brief catalog descriptions) of archival and manuscript collections, plus more than 48,000 collection guides (detailed lists describing the content of collections, often referred to as finding aids or inventories). The records, but not the guides, duplicate those for archives and manuscripts found in the RLG Bibliographic File (a Eureka database). Records for many Harvard archives and manuscripts plus over 2100 Harvard collection guides are included.
Archive Finder
Archive Finder is a current directory which describes over 220,000 collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland.
In Principio
This resource features over 1 million incipits, covering Latin literature from its origins to the Renaissance. Users have the option of directly entering search terms in one or more fields, searching terms from a browse list, checking "hits" before displaying results, and exporting records.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (U. of Toronto)
Iter was created for the advancement of learning in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) through the development of online resources, including (among others): Iter Italicum, P.O. Kristeller's listing of uncataloged, or incompletely cataloged, humanistic manuscripts of the Renaissance, in Italian and other libraries around the world; the Iter Bibliography of more than 600,000 records for articles, essays, books and reviews; and a growing list of related databases and web sites.
HOLLIS for Archival Discovery
Search engine for the finding aids for archival and manuscript materials held at Harvard University and Radcliffe College.
WorldCat (First Search)
WorldCat is a union (i.e. collective) catalog of records of any type of material (books, periodicals, scores, films, recordings, etc.) cataloged by over 41,000 OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries, primarily but not exclusively, from libraries in the United States, but extending to 82 other nations. There are more than 47 million records in the WorldCat database, whose scope includes everything from Babylonian inscriptions to e-books.