Web Links
Ancient World Mapping Center
The Ancient World Mapping Center promotes cartography, historical geography and geographic information science as essential disciplines within the field of ancient studies through innovative and collaborative research, teaching, and community outreach activities.
ARTFL Project
A growing collection of historical language dictionaries and humanities computing projects. Includes FRANTEXT, nearly 2,000 French scholarly editions in many genres, Provencal poetry databases, the Corpus de la litterature narrative du Moyen Age au XXe siecle, and more.
Atlas Bibliographique de l'Antiquité Classique
This project provides interactive maps of areas/provinces in the graeco-roman world, along with thematic bibliographies and webliographies and descriptive entries of archaeological sites in the collections of the Lille 3 University library.
AWOL The Ancient World Online
The primary focus of the blog will be notice and comment on open access material relating to the ancient world, but it also includes other kinds of networked information as it becomes available. The ancient world here is conceived as it is at the Institute for the Study of the Ancient World at New York University. That is, from the Pillars of Hercules to the Pacific, from the beginnings of human habitation to the late antique / early Islamic period.
Bibliotheca Augustana
A rich collection of ancient Greek and Latin texts indexed both chronologically and alphabetically. Includes links to some useful online Latin reference works as well (dictionaries, bibliographies, grammars, etc.). The Bibliotheca Augustana also contains canonical works in Old and Middle English, medieval Italian, Old and Middle German, and other languages.
Biblioteca Classica Selecta
Jacques Poucet's comprehensive bibliographic guide to Classics. The bibliography (or print and digital resources) is searchable by subject. Sections on e-resources, e-publications, and French translations of Classics works.
Bryn Mawr Classical Review
Bryn Mawr Classical Review publishes timely reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies (including archaeology). This site is the authoritative archive of BMCR's publication, from 1990 to the present.
De Imperatoribus Romanis
Online biographical encyclopedia of Roman and Byzantine emperors (arranged both alphabetically and chronologically), including usurpers. Biographies are written by scholars and accompanied by bibliographies.
Digital Scriptorium
An image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts, intended to unite scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research.
Diotima: Women and Gender in Ancient World
Diotima serves as an interdisciplinary resource for anyone interested in patterns of gender around the ancient Mediterranean. Contains a superb bibliography and image database. A superb site.
E-Resources for Classicists: Second Generation
The first version of this survey was published in the February 1994 issue of the New England Classical Journal. In 1996 "Electronic Resources for Classicists" and its author moved to the University of California, Irvine, to a server maintained by the TLG Project. This is one of the most up-to-date portals. Highly recommended.
Enluminures
This site provides access to 80,000+ text images and 4,000+ medieval manuscript images from selected French municipal libraries. Search by author, title, library, decorative style or subject.
Gallia Romana
A database of Gallo-Roman manuscripts, inscriptions, and iconographical artifacts spanning 15th-17th centuries from 60+ archeological sites, 200+ monuments, and 50+ manuscripts. Researchers can conduct simple and advanced searches and browse by "sites," "authors," and "bibliography of sources."
Greek Abbreviations
Tables of Greek abbreviations used in ancient writing, often in order to complete a word at the end of a line. "By abbreviations here are meant combinations of letters made for the sake of the meaning of a word or words rather than for the purpose of rapid writing." For finding common abbreviations in medieval Latin manuscripts, reference works, and other documents, see the following Harvard E-Resource: Abbreviationes 2.3.
InsAph: Inscriptions of Aphrodisias Project
A searchable database of epigraphic materials from Aphrodisias, a city in south-west Turkey that flourished from the second century BC until the early seventh century AD.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook
The goal here then has been to construct a sourcebook from available public domain and copy-permitted texts. It is organized as three main index pages (Selected Sources, Full-Text Sources, Saint's Lives), with a number of supplementary documents.
KIRKE
Katalog der Internetressourcen für die Klassische Philologie. Superb collection of images and links.
Labyrinth
The Labyrinth at Georgetown University is a World Wide Web server at Georgetown and provides free, organized access to electronic resources in medieval studies.
Lacus Curtius: A Gateway to Ancient Rome
A collection of resources including a Roman gazetteer; over 50 selected classical Greek and Latin texts, some with English translation; and a number of reference essays and topical sub-collections.
Latin Library (Ad Fontes Academy)
A useful collection of public domain texts drawn from different sources presented for on-line reading or for downloading for personal or educational use. The texts are "not intended for research purposes nor as substitutes for critical editions." Many typographical errors exist due to "scanner artifact." Unlike the Perseus Project, no morphological or vocabulary aids are presented with the texts.
Latin Place Names
The Bibliographic Standards Committee of the Association for College and Research Libraries, Rare Books and Manuscripts Section has created this list of vernacular equivalents of Latin place names based on the following works: R.A. Peddie's Place Names in Imprints: An Index to the Latin and Other Forms Used on Title Pages (Widener: RR4025.7) and J.T.G. Graesse's Orbis Latinus: Lexicon Lateinischer Geographischer Namen des Mittelalters und der Neuzeit (Widener: RR 4025.5.5). See also: E.W. Burke's A Hand-List of Latin Place Names and Their Modern Equivalents (Widener: WID-LC G107 .B87 1999x).
Liber Floridus
A vast collection of digitized manuscripts from research libraries in France. Users can browse by library, author, title, etc., conduct advanced searches of the collections, create their own personal albums, and request reproductions.
Mediaevum
Dedicated to studies in medieval German and Latin culture, Mediaevum seeks to provide an extensive and reliable compilation of current information, sources and tools for medieval studies. Its primary focus is German and Latin literature of the High Middle Ages, but it also includes sources for the Late Middle Ages and Humanism as well.
Nestor
Nestor is an international bibliography of Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields. It is published monthly from September to May (each volume covers one calendar year) by the Department of Classics, University of Cincinnati. An Authors Index accompanies the December issue. Nestor is distributed in 30 countries world-wide. It is currently edited by Carol Hershenson.
Netserf: Medieval Resources
NetSERF contains 2000+ web links, 900+ news items, and about 1500 glossary terms! A superb gateway for searching all things medieval on the WWW. New features include a RSS feed for Medieval News and PDA versions of selected Netseft content.
Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies
An online research portal for medievalists. Check out the useful ORB online encyclopedia.
Perseus Digital Library
The Perseus Project at Tufts University contains texts in Romanized Greek and English translation, the Intermediate Liddell-Scott Greek Lexicon, morphological analyses for all Greek texts in the database, catalog entries for more than 1400 vases, sculptures, coins, buildings, and sites, an atlas of Greece, and an historical survey.
Repertorium Fontium Historiae Medii Aevi
Published by the Istituto Storico Italiano per il Medioevo, Repertorium provides bibliographic data on thousands of medieval Latin Literature titles. The "lemmario" offers a searchable index to those titles by keyword.
Roman Numeral and Date Conversion
Online forms allow researchers to convert dates from the Julian or Gregorian calendars into Roman equivalents. The calculator also translates Roman numerals into Arabic numerals (or vice versa). There is also an online Roman numeral calculator.
Stoa Consortium
The Stoa Consortium seeks to foster a new style of refereed scholarly publications in the humanities by developing and refining new models for scholarly collaboration via the internet, helping to insure the long-term interoperability and archival availability of electronic materials, and supporting resolutions to copyright and other issues as they arise in the course of scholarly electronic publication.
Textkit: Greek and Latin Learning Tools
Textkit is the Internet's largest provider of free and fully downloadable Greek and Latin grammars and readers. With currently 146 free books to choose from, Greek and Latin learners have downloaded 485,145 grammars, readers and classical e-books.
Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg
A terrific resource from the Univarsitaetsbibliothek of Heidelberg. One can order articles from journals or books in their library - one of the best in the world for Classics - and they will scan the relevant pages, put them on-line and send you a link that allows you to download and/or print the PDF. Costs 4 euros per article.