Cambridge Ancient History
New Cambridge Medieval History
Database of Latin Dictionaries
Digital Loeb Classical Library
Dyabola: Census of Antique Art
International Medieval Bibliography
Lexikon des Mittelalters
Library of Latin Texts (CLCLT)
Monumenta Germaniae Historica
New Jacoby Online
New Pauly Online
Oxford Classical Dictionary
Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium
Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
Perseus: Greek and Roman Materials
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
Thesaurus Linguae Latinae
Vetus Latina Database
Abbreviations in Latin Inscriptions
A list of abbreviations used in Latin inscriptions.
American Society of Greek and Latin Epigraphy
Links to Web-based epigraphical resources, conferences, colloquia, seminars and lectures, museum inventories and more.
Archivum Corporis Electronicum
This database allows access to the collection of squeezes, photographs and bibliographical references maintained by the research centre of the Corpus Inscriptionum Latinarum (CIL), sorted by inscription-number. Digital images of inscriptions and squeezes (when available) can be viewed at different resolutions. The CIL includes the Latin inscriptions from the entire area of the former Roman empire, arranged by region and by inscription-type.
Corpus Inscriptionum Latinarum
A multi-volume collection of ancient Latin inscriptions from the whole territory of the Imperium, geographically and systematically arranged (also see Archivum Corporis Electronicum, above). HOLLIS record
Corpus Inscriptionum Latinarum II
Provided by the University of Alcalà, this site contains epigraphic images from new volumes of the CIL II.
Indexes for CIL I2, part 2, fasc. 4 and CIL XVII, part 4, fasc. 1.
Concordances for the volumes of the CIL.
CIL database of photographs and bibliographic references.
Current Epigraphy Blog
Electronic Archive of Greek and Latin Epigraphy (EAGLE)
Researchers can use EAGLE to search the following databases: EDB, EDH, EDR (see below). Note: the EAGLE search engine seems to conflict with the Safari browser. Use Mozilla Firefox or Chrome for best results.
EpiDoc: Epigraphic Documents in TEI and XML
A growing, global collaboration of humanists and information technologists whose joint aim is the creation of flexible but rigorous standards and tools for the digital encoding and interchange of epigraphic documents.
Epigraphic Database Bari (EDB)
Epigraphic Database Roma (EDR)
Epigraphik-Datenbank Clauss / Slaby (EDCS)
Large archive of Latin inscriptions from various collections (AE, CIL, and others). Brief User's Guide
Epigraphic Database Heidelberg (EDH)
Hispania Epigraphica Online
Roman inscriptions from the Iberian Peninsula.
Hundred of images of Greek inscriptions from IG1 and IG2.
InsAph: Inscriptions of Aphrodisias
The aim of this project is to publish the nearly 2,000 inscriptions from Aphrodisias, a city in south-west Turkey that flourished from the second century BC until the early seventh century AD.
Late Antique and Early Medieval Inscriptions
A collection of links to on-line databases, books, dissertations, and articles on late antique and early medieval inscriptions, covering the period from A.D. 300 to 900.
Latin Inscriptions Site
Photographs and transcriptions of 200 inscriptions, with a beginner's guide to epigraphy in 28 inscriptions.
Lexicon of Greek Personal Names
Established to collect and publish all ancient Greek personal names, drawing on the full range of written sources from the 8th century B.C. down to the late Roman Empire.
Packard Humanities Institute's CD-ROM 7: Greek Documentary Texts
This CD-ROM contains over 80,000 Greek inscriptions and over 32,000 papyri. It is available by request at the Widener Reference Desk.
Photographs of inscriptions from Ostia and Portus
A collection of resources for the study of epigraphic texts, with a focus on Greek inscriptions.
Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum
The SEG systematically collects newly published Greek inscriptions as well as publications on previously known documents. It presents complete Greek texts of all new inscriptions with a critical apparatus; it summarizes new readings, interpretations, and studies of known inscriptions, and occasionally presents the Greek text of these documents. The online edition includes all SEG volumes.
Contains links to many epigraphic resources and catalogs.
Vindolanda Tablets Online
An online edition of the Vindolanda writing tablets, excavated from the Roman fort at Vindolanda in northern England.