Full-Text Collections

Aristoteles Latinus Database
This database contains the complete corpus of medieval translations of the works of Aristotle, comprising those texts that have been critically edited in the printed Aristoteles Latinus series, as well as other corpora that have already been published or that are currently in preparation or unpublished. The database is not identical to the printed edition, as it omits the prefaces describing the manuscript tradition; nor does it include the apparatus of variant readings, the Greek-Latin comparative apparatus, or the bilingual indexes of the printed version.

Acta Sanctorum
The Acta Sanctorum Database is an electronic collection of documents examining the lives of Christian saints, organized according to each saint's feast day.

Ædilis
Ædilis is the online portal of the "Institut de recherche et d'histoire des textes" (IRHT, CNRS, "Sciences de l’Homme et de la Société"). Ædilis provides free access to scientific and educational publications by the IRHT on medieval manuscripts and related disciplines, as well as to additional free resources and related platforms on the web.

Analecta Hymnica Digitalia

The Analecta hymnica medii aevi, originally published in 55 volumes from 1886 to 1926, contains texts of hymns of the Christian Church, 500-1400. This complete digital edition allows for searching the full text of the hymns, including the bibliographic references to manuscripts and prints. The user may also search by author and title, and browse by volume.

Bibliotheca Augustana
A rich collection of ancient Greek and Latin texts (as well as canonical works in Old and Middle English, medieval Italian, Old and Middle German, and other languages) indexed both chronologically and alphabetically.

Brepols Miscellanea Online
This database comprises collections of scholarly essays in the histories, literatures, cultures and societies of Medieval Europe. It includes miscellany volumes from 2011 onward, as well as the archive which contains over 5,000 articles from 267 miscellany volumes (2000-2010). The majority of the articles are in English.

Library of Latin Texts (Series A & B)
The world's leading database for Latin texts, containing texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965).

Dartmouth Dante Project
The Dartmouth Dante Project database combines computer technology with more than 600 years of commentary tradition on Dante Alighieri's major poem, the Divina Commedia.

DigiZeitschriften 
Created by the “Verein zur Digitalisierung von wissenschaftlichen Zeitschriften” at the University Library of Göttingen and funded by the German Research Foundation, DigiZeitschriften provides page images and increasing full text of periodicals in Economics, English Languages, Geology, History, Law, Librarianship, Literature, Philology, the Sciences, and Sociology. Providing access to the back issues of German titles, DigiZeitschriften complements JSTOR. Dates of coverage vary by title.

IntraText: Bib Latina
An online digital library of over 700+ Latin texts.

Latin Library (Ad Fontes Academy)
A useful collection of public domain texts drawn from different sources.

Lettres Pontificales
Searchable registers of papal letters from the 13th- and 14th-century popes.

Monumenta Germaniae Historica
A collection of medieval historical sources (to 1517 AD) for the study of Germany, Austria, and Switzerland in the Middle Ages.

Patrologia Graecae
A collection of the writings of the church leaders who wrote in Greek, including both the Eastern "Fathers" and those Western Christians who wrote before the Latin takeover of the West in the third century. Full-text searching is not yet available.

Patrologia Latina
The PLD covers the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes.

Perseus Project
This academic site contains texts in Romanized Greek and English translation, the Intermediate Liddell-Scott Greek Lexicon, morphological analysis tools for all Greek texts in the database, and more.

TEAMS Middle English Texts
This series focuses on Middle English texts which occupy an important place in the literary and cultural canon, but which have not been readily available in student editions.

Vetus Latina
The huge panoply of Latin biblical texts which were in existence and use from the second century AD/CE until the time when the Vulgate became predominant.

Subject Guide

Steve Kuehler's picture
Steve Kuehler