Inter Libros

 Bodleian Library: Western manuscripts to c. 1500
The manuscripts form one part of the Department of Special Collections and Western Manuscripts at the Bodleian Library. Search by shelfmark or summary catalogues.

British Library: Manuscript Collections
The British Library Manuscript Collections form the national repository of manuscripts and private papers and archives, mostly in Western European languages.

Cary Collection: Medieval Manuscript Leaves, Western Europe: 12th - 16th centuries
These manuscripts have been taken from books written in various European scriptoria by Benedictine, Franciscan, Carthusian, Dominican, and other orders of monks. The leaves were accumulated and selected and most of the following information was prepared over a period of forty years by the late Otto F. Ege, Dean of the Cleveland Institute of Art and Lecturer on History of the Book at the School of Library Science, Western Reserve University. They are currently part of the Carey Graphics Arts Collection at the Rochester Institute of Technology, Rochester, N.Y.

Codices Electronici Sangallenses (CESG) – Virtual Library
A virtual library containing 100 manuscripts from the medieval codices in the Abbey Library of St. Gall.

Codices Vossiani Graeci
The Codices Vossiani Graeci et Miscellanei Online publishes the 174 manuscripts in Greek, and the 42 manuscripts containing both Latin and Greek, from the world-famous Isaac Vossius manuscript collection at Leiden University Library. This primary source collection offers, in total, 216 manuscripts comprising 27,205 leaves. K. A. de Meyier's Latin-language catalogue of the collection is available in digital format alongside the scanned manuscripts, providing users with essential information on the content, context, and physical appearance of each codex; an English-language summarised and updated version of the catalogue is also provided for each manuscript, including new and recent bibliographical references.

Creating French Culture: Treasures from the Bibliothèque Nationale de France
This project traces the history of the relationship between power, politics, and French culture from Charlemagne (b. 742?-d. 814) to Charles de Gaulle (b. 1890-d. 1970) through the prism of more than 200 magnificent "treasures" on loan from the Biblioth?que nationale de France in Paris.

Digital Scriptorium
The DS website is both an image repository and a collective catalog for a growing consortium of American institutions with collections of medieval and Renaissance manuscripts.

DScriptorium
"Devoted to collecting, storing and distributing digital images of Medieval manuscripts."

e-codices: The Virtual Manuscript Library of Switzerland
High-resolution digital facsimiles of more than 650 complete manuscripts from 28 Swiss manuscript collections.

English Handwriting 1500-1700: An Online Course
Exercises in 'transcription conventions' and in 'dating and describing hands' designed to acquaint scholars with early modern English handwriting.

Enluminures
This site provides access to 80,000+ text images and 4,000+ medieval manuscript images from French municipal libraries. Search by author, title, library, decorative style or subject.

4000 Years of Miniature Books Project: Early Printed Books Through the 18th Century
Wonderful examples from the Lilly Library, Indiana University.

Hand Bookbindings: From Special Collections in the Princeton University Library
An Online version of an exhibit entitled "Hand Bookbindings: Plain and Simple to Grand and Glorious" held at Princeton University's Firestone Library from November 10, 2002 through April 20, 2003.

Heavenly Craft: The Woodcut in Early Printed Books (Library of Congress)
From the Web site: "A Library of Congress exhibition that presents for the first time all the woodcut-illustrated books purchased by Lessing J. Rosenwald at the Dyson Perrins sale, now part of the legendary Rosenwald Collection at the Library of Congress. These books were printed within the first century after Gutenberg mastered the art of printing with moveable type."

Hill Museum & Manuscript Library
Since its founding in 1965, the Hill Monastic Manuscript Library (HMML) has sent teams of researchers and technicians to film more than 25 million pages from nearly 90,000 volumes in libraries and archives throughout Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. Today, HMML represents one of the largest and most comprehensive archives of medieval and Renaissance sources in the world.

Index of Medieval Manuscripts
This database allows the user to locate references to specific medieval manuscripts in a significant corpus of printed texts, including basic studies of French and English literature from the high and late Middle Ages.

Interpreting Ancient Manuscripts
Articles on paleography, manuscript transmission, and early textual criticism. Examines process used to study ancient manuscripts. Glossary of manuscript-related terms.

Leaves of Gold Project: Treasures of Manuscript Illumination from Philadelphia Collections
A well-presented collection of 7,000 medieval and Renaissance miniature paintings showing religious scenes, classical tales, historical events, and medieval romances from the Philadelphia libraries.

Liber Floridus
A vast collection of digitized manuscripts from research libraries in France. Users can browse by library, author, title, etc., conduct advanced searches of the collections, create their own personal albums, and request reproductions.

Medieval Illuminated Manuscripts: National Library of the Netherlands
A database containing information about the illuminated medieval manuscripts of the Koninklijke Bibliotheek and the Museum Meermanno-Westreenianum. View superb examples from the collection in the "Highlights" section.

Medieval Manuscripts in Dutch Collections
This database contains descriptions of all medieval western manuscripts written in Latin script and produced up to c. 1550 now preserved in public and semi-public collections in the Netherlands.

Parker on the Web
An interactive, web-based workspace designed to support research and teaching with the manuscripts of the Parker Library at Corpus Christi College (Cambridge). The completed project will include high-resolution images of the Library’s 538 manuscripts spanning the 6th to the 16th centuries; a fully-tagged version of M. R. James’ descriptive catalog, updated and expanded; plus digitized editions, translations and secondary scholarship.

Treasures in Full: Gutenberg Bible (British Library)
This site presents background information on Johann Gutenberg and the texts he printed, digital versions of the two Gutenberg Bibles at the British Library, and Links, References, and Timelines for further research.