Harvard Faculty Personal Archives and Papers

La Driere, James Craig, 1910-1978. Comparative literature (Field of Study).

• Papers of James Craig Ladriere, circa 1930-1980. (9 document boxes, 1 pamphlet binder).

 

La Piana, George, 1879-1971. History and Religion (Fields of Study).

• A collection of papers by George La Piana, cuttings and reprints from various periodicals. (1 document box).

 

Lake, Kirsopp, 1872-1946. Religion and History (Fields of study).

• Letter from Kirsopp Lake to Charles H. Barrows, 8 November 1913. (1 pamphlet binder).

 

Lakoff, Sanford A., born 1931. Government (Field of study)

• Papers of Sanford A. Lakoff, 1953-1965. (1 document box).

 

Lamb, Arthur Becket, 1880-1952. Chemistry (Field of Study).

• Papers of Arthur Becket Lamb, 1900-1952. (59 containers).
• Papers of Arthur Becket Lamb [accessions], 1880-1956. (9 record cartons, 2 letter document boxes, 1 half-letter document box, 2 flat boxes).

 

Lamberg-Karlovsky, C.C., born 1937. Archaeology (Field of Study).

• Carl C. Lamberg-Karlovsky personal archive [accession], 1957-2014. (10 record cartons).

 

Lambie, Morris B. (Morris Bryan), 1888-1962. Government (Field of study).

• Papers of Morris B. Lambie, 1917-1947 (inclusive), 1942-1947 (bulk). (6 document boxes)
• Papers of Morris B. Lambie [accessions], 1953-1962. (1 folder).

 

Landes, David S., 1924-2013. Economics and History (Fields of Study).

• David S. Landes personal archive [accessions], 1930-2007. (38 record cartons, 1 accordion folder).

 

Lane, George Martin, 1823-1897. Classics (Field of Study).

• Papers of George Martin Lane, 1797-1897. (8 document boxes, 2 flat boxes, 1 record carton, 2 volumes, 3 pamphlet binders, 1 portfolio folder, 1 card box, 1 framed diploma).

 

Lang, Andrew Richard, 1924-2008. Physics (Field of Study).

• A collection of miscellaneous papers by Andrew Richard Lang, 1956-1957. (1 folder).

 

Langdell, C. C. (Christopher Columbus), 1826-1906. Law (Field of Study).

• General information about Christopher Columbus Langdell. (1 pamphlet binder).

 

Langer, William L. (William Leonard), 1896-1977. History (Field of study).

• Papers of William Leonard Langer, 1912-1991. (67 document boxes, 5 folders, 1 record carton).
• William Leonard Langer writings and publications, 1920s-1970s. (2 volumes, 1 document box, 1 pamphlet binder, 1 accordion folder).
• William L. Langer self-published autobiography and reprint on infanticide, 1974-1975. (1 document box).
• A collection of news clippings and reprints by William Leonard Langer, 1926-1964. (1 accordion folder).

 

Lanman, Charles Rockwell, 1850-1941. Sanskrit (Field of Study).

• Papers of Charles Rockwell Lanman, 1825-1938 (inclusive), 1863-1938 (bulk). (72 document boxes, 17 half document boxes, 16 volumes, 13 pamphlet folders, 4 flat boxes, 2 folders, 1 legal document box, 1 accordion folder, 1 record carton, 1 microfilm box, and 1 other container).

 

Larrabee, Ralph Clinton, 1870-1935. Medicine (Field of Study).

• Papers of Ralph Clinton Larrabee, 1886-1935. (1 volume, 2 document boxes).

 

Lashley, Karl S. (Karl Spencer), 1890-1958. Psychology (Field of Study).

• Correspondence related to Karl S. Lashley, 1957-1959. (1 pamphlet binder).
• A collection of miscellaneous papers by Karl S. Lashley. (1 folder).

 

Le Corbeiller, Philippe Emmanuel, 1891-1980. Physics, Mathematics and Engineering (Fields of Study).

• A collection of articles by Philippe Emmanuel Le Corbeiller, reprinted from periodicals, etc., 1948-1959. (1 pamphlet binder).

 

Leary, Timothy, 1920-1996. Psychology (Field of Study).

• Writings by Timothy Leary and colleagues at Harvard, 1962. (1 pamphlet binder).
• Helping the helpless. (1 manuscript).
• Thinking, talking and doing. (1 manuscript).

 

Leet, L. Don (Lewis Don), 1901-1974. Geology (Field of Study).

• Papers of Lewis Don Leet, 1922-1948. (1 flat box).
• A collection of papers by Lewis Don Leet, mainly cuttings and reprints from various publications, 1935-1957. (1 folder).

 

Leighton, Delmar, 1897-1966. Economics (Field of Study).

• Papers of Delmar Leighton, circa 1924-1965 (inclusive), 1940-1965 (bulk). (1 document box).
• Delmar Leighton personal archive [accessions], 1905, 1917. (1 pamphlet binder).

 

Lennox, William Gordon, 1884-1960. Medicine (Field of Study).

• A collection of papers by William Gordon Lennox, mainly cuttings and reprints from various periodicals. (1 folder).

 

Leontief, Wassily, 1906-1999. Economics (Field of Study).

• Wassily Leontief personal archive, 1928-2001. (333 document boxes, 3 portfolio folders, 2 flat boxes, 2 media containers).

 

LeVine, Robert A. (Robert Alan), born 1932. Anthropology, Psychology and Education (Fields of Study).

• Robert Alan LeVine personal archive [accessions], 1955-2016. (22 record cartons, 1 document box).

 

Lewalski, Barbara Kiefer, 1931-2018. Literature (Field of study).

• Barbara Kiefer Lewalski personal archive [accessions], 1954-2010. (20 record cartons).

 

Lichtenstadter, Ilse, 1907-1991. Arabic and Middle Eastern Studies (Fields of Study).

• Papers of Ilse Lichtenstadter [accessions], circa 1880-1988.  (9 record cartons, 2 flat boxes, 2 document boxes, 1 glass negative box).

 

Lida, Raimundo, 1908-1978. Romance Languages (Field of Study).

• Papers of Raimundo Lida, circa 1940-1979. (17 document boxes)

 

Little, David, 1896-1954. English (Field of Study).

• Papers of David Little, 1921. (1 document box).

 

Lockwood, Lewis, born 1930. Music (Field of Study).

• Papers of Lewis Henry Lockwood [accessions], 1955-2008.  (14 record cartons, 1 flat box).

 

Loehr, Max, 1903-1988. Fine Arts (Field of Study).

• Max Loehr personal archive [accessions], 1950-1985. (1 document box).

 

Lombard, George F. F. (George Francis Fabyan), 1911-2004. Business administration (Field of study).

• Collection of pamphlets by George F. F. Lombard, mainly cuttings and reprints, 1950.

 

Lord, Albert Bates, 1912-1991. Literature (Field of study).

• Papers of Alfred Bates Lord [accessions], 1933-2003. (18 record cartons, 2 document boxes, 1 folder).
• A collection of miscellaneous papers by Alfred Bates Lord, 1948-1969. (1 accordion folder).

 

Loring, William Caleb, 1851-1930. Law (Field of Study).

• Correspondence regarding the appointment of William Caleb Loring as lecturer at the Harvard Law School, 1919-1921.  (1 pamphlet binder).

 

Love, James Lee, 1860-1950. Mathematics (Field of Study).

• Grade book, 1899-1901. (1 pamphlet binder).

 

Lovering, Joseph, 1813-1892. Mathematics and Physics (Fields of Study).

• Papers of Joseph Lovering, 1860, 1889. (1 pamphlet binder, 1 volume, 1 flat box).

 

Lovett, Robert W. (Robert Williamson), 1859-1924. Medicine (Field of Study).

• Robert Williamson Lovett lecture notes on spinal curvature, 1905 July 19. (1 pamphlet binder).

 

Lowell, A. Lawrence (Abbott Lawrence), 1856-1943. Government and History (Fields of Study).

• Papers of Abbott Lawrence Lowell, 1861-1945, 1953. (92 document boxes, 17 flat boxes, 4 portfolio folders, 2 microfilm boxes, 1 pamphlet binder).
• Letter from A. Lawrence Lowell to Worthington C. Ford, 1920 June 16. (1 pamphlet binder).
• Recording of a radio address given by Abbott Lawrence Lowell on the Japanese invasion of Manchuria, February 17, 1932. (3 compact disks, 2 audio cassette tapes, 1 phonograph record). Online finding aid.
• Modern constitutions, 1899. (1 volume).

 

Lowell, James Russell, 1819-1891. French and Spanish (Fields of Study).

• Papers of James Russell Lowell, 1838-1919, 1941. (1 document box, 3 volumes, 2 pamphlet binders).

 

Lowes, John Livingston, 1867-1945. English (Field of Study).

• Papers of John Livingston Lowes, 1882-1945. (9 document boxes, 6 volumes, 1 accordion folder, 6 pamphlet binders).
• Papers of John Livingston Lowes [accessions], 1937. (1 document box).
• Lecture notes for English 72 of John Livingston Lowes. (1 folder).

 

Luce, R. Duncan (Robert Duncan), 1925-2012. Psychology (Field of Study).

• R. Duncan Luce personal archive [accessions], 1972-2013.  (79 record cartons, 1 flat box, 1 document box).
• A collection of cuttings and reprints by R. Duncan Luce. (1 pamphlet binder).

 

Lyman, Charles Peirson, 1912-2010. Zoology (Field of Study)

• Papers of Charles P. Lyman, 1952-1982. (6 document boxes).

 

Lyman, Theodore, 1874-1954. Physics (Field of Study).

• Papers of Theodore Lyman, 1900-1955. (2 document boxes, 4 pamphlet binders, 1 volume).
• A collection of miscellaneous papers by Theodore Lyman. (1 pamphlet binder).

 

Lynn, Kenneth Schuyler, 1928-2001. English and History (Fields of Study).

• Kenneth Schuyler Lynn personal archive [accessions], 1943-2009. (6 record cartons).
• A collection of papers by Kenneth Schuyler Lynn, mainly cuttings and reprints from various publications, 1956. (1 folder).

 

Lyon, D. G. (David Gordon), 1852-1935. Archaeology, Theology, Hebrew and Semitic languages (Fields of Study).

• Papers of David Gordon Lyon, 1861, 1872-1935. (16 document boxes, 1 portfolio box, 1 card file box, 1 record carton).