Harvard Faculty Personal Archives and Papers

Sibley, John Langdon, 1804-1885. Bibliography (Field of Study).

• Papers of John Langdon Sibley, 1802-1955. (38 flat boxes, 19 volumes, 4 pamphlet binders, 4 microfilm boxes, 3 legal document boxes, 3 legal half-document boxes, 2 accordion folders, 1 document box, 1 half-document box, 1 custom box, 1 card box, 1 folder, 1 CD-ROM).

 

Siever, Raymond, 1923-2004. Geology (Field of Study).

• Papers of Raymond Siever [accessions], 1969-1985. (1 record carton, 2 document boxes).
• A collection of papers by Raymond Siever, mainly cuttings and reprints from various publications. (1 pamphlet binder).

 

Silverman, Leslie, 1914-1966. Public Health and Engineering (Fields of Study).

• A collection of miscellaneous papers by Leslie Silverman, 1944-1960. (1 accordion folder).

 

Silz, Walter, 1894-1980. German (Field of Study).

• Student notes of Walter Silz, 1915-1922. (2 boxes).

 

Simpson, Sidney Post, 1898-1949. Biology (Field of Study).

• A collection of papers by Sidney Post Simpson, mainly cuttings and reprints from various periodicals. (1 folder).

 

Sizer, Theodore R., 1932-2009. Education (Field of Study).

• Theodore Ryland Sizer personal archive [accessions], 1962-2000.  (1 record carton, 1 flat box, 1 portfolio folder).

 

Skinner, B. F. (Burrhus Frederic), 1904-1990. Psychology (Field of Study).

• Papers of Burrhus Frederic Skinner, 1928-1979. (82 containers).
• Papers of Burrhus Frederic Skinner [accessions], 1903-1986. (11 record cartons, 2 document boxes, 1 flat box).

 

Slichter, Sumner H. (Sumner Huber), 1892-1959. Economics and Industrial relations (Fields of Study).

• Papers of Sumner H. Slichter, 1932-1959. (24 document boxes, 1 pamphlet binder).
• Papers of Sumner H. Slichter [accession], 1941-1948. (1 document box).
• Collection of papers by Sumner H. Slichter, mainly cuttings and reprints from various periodicals. (3 document boxes).

 

Slive, Seymour, 1920-2014. Fine Arts (Field of Study).

• Seymour Slive personal archive [accessions], 1943-2012. (78 record cartons, 11 flat boxes, 3 document boxes).

 

Smith, Clement Lawrence, 1844-1909. Classics (Field of Study).

• Papers of Clement Lawrence Smith, 1850-1930. (7 document boxes, 7 volumes).
• Lecture notes, Göttingen, 1865-1866. (6 volumes).

 

Smithies, Arthur, 1907-1981. Economics (Field of Study).

• Papers of Arthur Smithies, 1930-1981. (4 document boxes, 1 pamphlet binder).
• Papers of Arthur Smithies [accessions], 1939-1980. (1 record carton, 1 document box).

 

Smyth, Herbert Weir, 1857-1937. Greek and Classical Studies (Fields of Study).

• Papers of Herbert Weir Smyth, 1876-1938. (19 volumes, 3 pamphlet binders, 2 half-letter document boxes, 2 accordion folders).
• Papers of Herbert Weir Smyth [accession], 1878-1930. (2 record cartons, 1 document box).

 

Solbrig, Otto Thomas, born 1930. Biology and Botany (Fields of Study).

• Papers of Otto Thomas Solbrig [accessions], 1950-1997. (17 record cartons, 1 document box).

 

Sophocles, E. A. (Evangelinus Apostolides), 1807-1883. Classics (Field of Study).

• Papers of Evangelinus Apostolides Sophocles, 1836-1884, 1925. (1 flat box, 3 volumes, 1 pamphlet binder).

 

Sørensen, Aage Bøttger, 1914-2001. Sociology (Field of Study).

• Papers of Aage Bøttge Sørensen [accessions], 1971-2001. (22 record cartons, 1 folder).

 

Sorokin, Pitirim Aleksandrovich, 1889-1968. Sociology.

• Papers of Pitrim Aleksandrovich Sorokin [accessions], 1958. (1 pamphlet binder).
• A collection of papers by Alexander Sorokin, mainly and reprints from various periodicals. (1 folder).

 

Spalding, Walter R., 1865-1962. Music (Field of Study).

• Blessed Are They That Dwell in Thy House, 1937. (1 score).
• The Christ-child lay on Mary's lap: Christmas carol, 1936. (1 score).
• Nocturne in C. Minor, op. 48, no. I  /  F. Chopin. (1 score).
• A collection of reprints by Walter R. Spalding, 1920-1936. (1 pamphlet binder).

 

Sparks, Jared, 1789-1866. History (Field of Study).

• Papers of Jared Sparks, 1820-1861, 1866. (2 document boxes, 2 microfilm copies).

 

Spaulding, Francis T., 1896-1950. Education (Field of Study).

• Papers of Francis T. Spaulding, 1925-1950. (5 letter document boxes, 2 half-document boxes).

 

Spencer, Theodore, 1902-1949. English (Field of Study).

• Papers of Theodore Spencer, 1924-1949. (15 document boxes, 4 pamphlet binders, 1 card box, 2 accordion folders).

 

Sperry, Willard Learoyd, 1882-1954. Theology (Field of Study).

• Papers of Willard Learoyd Sperry, 1904-1954. (3 half-document boxes, 3 letter document boxes, 2 pamphlet binders, 1 volume).

 

Staehle, Hans Ludwig, 1902-1961. Economics (Field of Study).

• Papers of Hans Ludwig Staehle, 1937-1946. (2 document boxes).

 

Starck, Taylor, 1889-1974. Germanic languages and literatures (Field of Study).

• Papers of Taylor Starck, ca. 1940-1950. (1 document box, 1 accordion folder).
• Taylor Starck personal archive [accessions], circa 1954-1955. (1 flat box).

 

Stevens, S. S. (Stanley Smith), 1906-1973. Psychology (Field of Study).

• Papers of Stanley Smith Stevens, 1931-1973. (28 boxes and 2 folders).

 

Stewart, Zeph, 1921-2007. Classics (Field of Study).

• Zeph Stewart personal archive [accessions], 1920-2001. (16 record cartons, 1 accordion folder).

 

Stimson, Frederic Jesup, 1855-1943. Law (Field of Study).

• Letters written by Frederic Jesup Stimson to Charles Henry Barrows, 1899, 1913. (1 pamphlet binder).

 

Stolper, Wolfgang, 1912-2002. Economics (Field of Study).

• Papers of Wolfgang Stolper [accessions], 1918-1950. (2 record cartons, 1 document box).

 

Stone, Howard A., born 1960. Engineering (Field of Study).

• Papers of Howard A. Stern [accessions], 1980-1999. (4 record cartons, 1 document box).

 

Storer, David Humphreys, 1804-1891. Medicine (Field of Study).

• Papers of David Humphreys Storer, circa 1890. (1 pamphlet binder).

 

Storer, Frank H. (Frank Humphreys), 1832-1914. Chemistry (Field of Study).

• Papers of Frank Humphreys Storer, 1874-1919. (2 pamphlet binders, 1 volume).

 

Stouffer, Samuel A., 1900-1960. Sociology (Field of Study).

• Papers of Samuel Andrew Stouffer, 1930-1960. (36 document boxes, 4 half document boxes, and 1 microfiche box).

 

Strauch, Karl, 1922-2000. Physics (Field of Study).

• Papers of Karl Strauch [accessions], 1950-1993. (84 record cartons, 5 slide boxes, 1 document box).
• A collection of papers by Karl Strauch, mainly cuttings and reprints from various periodicals. (1 pamphlet binder).

 

Street, Jabez Curry, 1906-1989. Physics (Field of Study).

• Papers of Jabez Curry Street, 1937-1993.  (7 document boxes, 3 pamphlet binders, 2 folders).

 

Strobel, Edward Henry, 1855-1908. Law (Field of Study).

• General information about Edward Henry Strobel. (1 pamphlet binder).

 

Strominger,  Jack L., born 1925. Biochemistry (Field of Study).

• Jack L. Strominger personal archive [accessions], 2001-2016. (3 record cartons).

 

Stumm, Werner, born 1924. Chemistry (Field of Study).

• Papers of Werner Stumm, 1956-1970. (8 document boxes).
• A collection of papers by Werner Stumm, mainly cuttings and reprints from various periodicals, 1960. (1 pamphlet binder).

 

Suleiman, Susan Rubin, born 1939. Comparative literature (Field of Study).

• Susan Rubin Suleiman personal archive [accessions], 1960-2016. (34 record cartons, 2 portfolio folders, 1 flat box).

 

Sumichrast, Frederick C. de (Frederick Caesar de), 1845-1933. French (Field of Study).

• Papers of Frederick Caesar Sumichrast, 1865-1933. (16 document boxes, 3 pamphlet binders).
• Diaries of Frederick Caesar Sumichrast. 1865-1933. (48 volumes).

 

Sutherland, Arthur E. (Arthur Eugene), 1902-1973. Law (Field of Study).

• Papers of Arthur Eugene Sutherland, 1954-1958. (2 document boxes).
• A collection of papers by Arthur Eugene Sutherland, mainly cuttings and reprints from various publications, 1951. (1 folder).

 

Swain, George Fillmore, 1857-1931. Civil Engineering (Field of Study).

• Papers of George Fillmore Swain, 1909-1929. (8 letter document boxes, 1 pamphlet binder).

 

Sweeney, John L., 1906-1986. English (Field of Study).

• A collection of miscellaneous articles and reprints by John L. Sweeney. (1 folder).

 

Szabo, Albert, 1925-2003. Architecture (Field of Study).

• Papers of Albert Szabo [accessions], 1947-1996.  (28 record cartons, 1 document box, 4 flat boxes).