Harvard Faculty Personal Archives and Papers

Maass, Arthur, 1917-2004. Government (Field of Study).

• Papers of Arthur Maass [accessions], 1941-2003. (11 record cartons, 2 document boxes).
• A collection of miscellaneous papers by Arthur Maass. (1 folder). 

 

Mackey, George W. (George Whitelaw), 1916-2006. Mathematics (Field of Study).

• George Whitelaw Mackey personal archive [accessions], 1940-2004. (4 record cartons, 1 document box).

 

MacLeish, Archibald, 1892-1982. English (Field of Study).

• Papers of Archibald MacLeish.  (2 pamphlet binders).

 

Magoun, Francis Peabody, 1895-1979. English (Field of Study).

• Letters from Francis P. Magoun, Jr. to Rudolf Hertz, 1946-1953. (1 document box).
• A collection of papers by Francis P. Magoun, mainly cuttings and reprints from various periodicals, 1925-1943. (1 accordion folder).

 

Maguire, John MacArthur, 1888-1978. Law (Field of Study).

• Papers of John MacArthur Maguire, 1929-1955. (6 document boxes).
• A collection of papers by John MacArthur Maguire, mainly cuttings and reprints from various publications, 1949-1955. (1 accordion folder).
   

Maher, Brendan A. (Brendan Arnold), born 1924. Psychology (Field of Study).

• Papers of Brendan A. Maher [accessions], 1963-2000. (6 record cartons, 2 document boxes).

 

Mangelsdorf, Paul C. (Paul Christoph), 1899-1989. Botany (Field of Study).

• Papers of Paul C. Mangelsdorf, 1935-1984. (43 document boxes, 3 folders, 2 flat boxes, 1 portfolio folder).

 

Marichal, Juan Augusto, 1922-2010. Spanish and French (Fields of Study).

• Papers of Juan Marichal, 1903-1985. (35 document boxes, 7 folders, 3 flat boxes, 2 microfilm boxes, 1 audio cassette box, 1 pamphlet binder, 1 microfilm reel, 1 videocassette tape).

Mark, E. L. (Edward Laurens), 1847-1946. Zoology (Field of Study).

• Papers of Edward Laurens Mark, 1868-1944.  (44 document boxes, 6 volumes, 5 pamphlet binders, 1 accordion folder).

 

Marks, Lionel S. (Lionel Simeon), 1871-1955. Engineering (Field of Study).

• Papers of Lionel S. Marks, 1894-1947 (inclusive), 1913-1947. (1 pamphlet binder, 1 volume).

 

Márquez Villanueva, Francisco. Spanish (Field of Study).

• Personal archive of Francisco Villanueva Marquez [accessions], 1959-2014. (16 record cartons, 1 accordion folder).

 

Marsh, Thomas, 1710?-1780.

• Diary of Thomas Marsh, 1751. (1 folder).

Martin, Paul Cecil, 1931-2016. Physics (Field of Study).

• Paul C. Martin personal archive [accessions] 1950-2010. (28 record cartons).

Mason, Edward Sagendorph, 1899-1992. Economics (Field of Study).

• Papers of Edward Sagendorph Mason, circa 1940-1950. (1 accordion folder, 1 pamphlet binder, 1 video cassette tape).
• Papers of Edward Sagendorph Mason [accessions], 1955-2004. (1 flat box, 1 pamphlet binder).
• Collection of papers by Edward Sagendorph Mason, mainly cuttings and reprints from various periodicals, 1936-1938. (1 accordion folder).
   

Mather, Kirtley F. (Kirtley Fletcher), 1888-1978. Geology (Field of Study).

• Papers of Kirtley Fletcher Mather, 1925?-1970. (22 linear ft. of mss).
• A collection of papers by Kirtley Fletcher Mather, mainly cuttings and reprints from various periodicals, 1898-1927. (2 document boxes).
   

May, Ernest R., 1928-2009. Government and History (Fields of Study).

• Papers of Ernest R. May, 1960-1981. (47 document boxes).
• Papers of Ernest R. May [accessions], 1960-2009. (83 record cartons, 3 document boxes, 5 flat boxes).
   

Maybury-Lewis, David, 1929-2007. Anthropology (Field of Study).

• David Maybury-Lewis personal archive [accessions], 1938, 1950-2001.  (49 record cartons, 1 pamphlet binder).

 

Maynadier, Howard, 1866-1960. English (Field of Study).

• Papers of Gustavus Howard Maynadier, 1938-1952.  (1 document box).
• A collection of papers by Gustavus Howard Maynadier, mainly cuttings and reprints from various periodicals. (1 pamphlet binder).

Mayr, Ernst, 1904-2005. Zoology (Field of Study).

• Papers of Ernst Mayr, circa. 1920-1993. (51 boxes and 3 folders).
• Papers of Ernst Mayr [accessions], 1904 and 1920-2005. (56 record cartons, 14 document boxes, 9 folders, 2 flat boxes, 2 card boxes).
• A collection of papers by Ernst Mayr, mainly cuttings and reprints from various periodicals, 1920-1993. (1 folder).

 

McAdie, Alexander, 1863-1943. Meteorology (Field of Study).

• Papers of Alexander G. McAdie, 1915-1948. (1 document box).

 

McCarthy, James J., 1944-2019. Biology and Oceanography (Fields of Study).

• Papers of James J. McCarthy [accessions], 1986-1994. (6 record cartons).

 

McClelland, David C. (David Clarence), 1917-1998.  Psychology (Field of Study).

• Papers of David McClelland, 1900-1998. (113 boxes).

 

McCloskey, Robert G. (Robert Green), 1916-1969. Government (Field of Study).

• Papers of Robert G. McCloskey, 1955-1968. (9 document boxes).
• A collection of papers of Robert G. McCloskey, mainly cuttings and reprints from various publications, 1945-1965. (1 document box).

 

McCrosky, Richard E. (Richard Eugene), 1924-2012. Astronomy.

• Richard E. McCrosky personal archive [accessions], 1948-1988. (1 record carton).

 

McDonald, Christie, born 1942. French (Field of Study).

• Christie McDonald personal archive [accessions], 1965-2016. (29 record cartons, 2 flat boxes, 1 document box, 1 portfolio folder, 6.72 GB).

 

McFarland, Ross Armstrong, 1901-1976. Government (Field of study).

• A collection of papers by Ross Armstrong McFarland, mainly cuttings and reprints from various publications, 1941-1975. (1 accordion folder).

 

McIlwain, Charles Howard, 1871-1968. History and Government (Fields of Study).

• Papers of Charles Howard McIlwain, circa 1900 and 1914. (1 pamphlet binder and 1 folder).
• A collection of miscellaneous papers by Charles Howard McIlwain. (1 accordion folder).

 

McKay, Donald C. (Donald Cope), 1902-1959. History (Field of study).

• Collection of papers by Donald C. McKay, mainly cuttings and reprints from various periodicals. (1 folder).

 

McKean, Joseph, 1776-1818. Rhetoric and Oratory (Fields of Study).

• Papers of Joseph McKean, 1809-1816. (1 pamphlet binder, 1 volume).

 

McKinstry, Hugh Exton, 1896-1961. Geology (Field of Study).

• Papers of Hugh E. McKinstry, 1912-1961.  (18 document boxes).

 

McMahon, Thomas A., 1943-1999. Mathematics, Biology and Engineering (Fields of Study).

• Papers of Thomas A. McMahon [accessions], 1943-2004. (10 record cartons).

 

Mendelsohn, Everett. History of Science (Field of Study).

• Everett Mendelsohn personal archive [accession], 1960-2003. (37 record cartons).

Menzel, Donald Howard, 1901-1976. Astronomy (Field of Study).

• Papers of Donald Howard Menzel, 1931-1986. (130 document boxes, 1 flat box, 2 accordion folders, 3 pamphlet binders).
• Illustrations for a book entitled Writing a technical paper, ca. 1960. (7 drawings).
• Papers of Donald Howard Menzel [accessions], 1901-1988. (2 record cartons, 1 document box, 1 folder, 1 portfolio folder).

 

Mercier, Louis J. A. (Louis Joseph Alexandre), 1880-1953. Education and French (Fields of Study).

• Notes on the Background for the Organization of Courses in Education for South American Students at the Harvard Graduate School of Education, circa 1940. (1 pamphlet binder).

 

Meriam, Richard Stockton, 1893-1977. Economics (Field of Study).

• Papers of Richard Stockton Meriam, 1914. (1 volume).

 

Merk, Frederick, 1887-1977. History (Field of Study).

• Papers of Frederick Merk [accession], 1916-1977.  (8 record cartons, 34 document boxes, 17 glass slide boxes).
• A collection of papers by Frederick Merk, mainly cuttings and reprints from various periodicals, 1924-1971. (1 document box).

 

Merrill, Elmer D. (Elmer Drew), 1876-1956. Botany (Field of Study).

• Collection of miscellaneous papers by Elmer D. Merrill. (1 volume).

Merriman, Roger Bigelow, 1876-1945. History (Field of Study).

• Papers of Roger Bigelow Merriman, 1896-1944. (2 document boxes, 4 pamphlet binders, 1 volume).

 

Merritt, A. Tillman (Arthur Tillman), 1902-1998. Music (Field of Study).

• Papers of Arthur Tillman Merritt [accessions], 1932-1993. (1 flat box).

Meselson, Matthew, born 1930. Biochemistry and Biology (Fields of Study).

• Papers of Matthew Stanley Meselson, 1956-1971. (2 pamphlet binders). 

 

Messenger, Harry Knowles, 1891-1967. Greek, Latin and Medicine (Fields of Study).

• Papers related to Harry Knowles Messenger, 1958-1970. (1 pamphlet binder).

Metcalf, Keyes D. (Keyes DeWitt), 1889-1983. Bibliography (Field of Study).

• Papers of Keyes DeWitt Metcalf [accessions], 1890-1979. (33 record cartons, 2 flat boxes, 102 map boxes, 1 folder). 

 

Meyer, A. J. (Albert Julius), 1919-1983. Economics and Middles Eastern studies (Fields of Study).

• Papers of A.J. Meyer, 1955-1983. (20 document boxes, 2 folders).

 

Middleton, David, 1920-2008. Physics (Field of Study).

• A collection of papers by David Middleton, mainly cuttings and reprints, 1947-1954. (1 folder).

 

Miller, George A. (George Armitage), 1920-2012. Psychology (Field of Study).

• Papers of George Armitage Miller, 1949-1957. (2 document boxes).
• Collection of miscellaneous papers by George A. Miller, 1944-1965. (1 accordion folder).
   

Miller, John Preston, 1923-1961. Geology (Field of Study).

• Collection of miscellaneous papers by John Preston Miller, 1952-1960. (1 accordion folder).

 

Miller, Perry, 1905-1963. History and American Studies (Fields of Study).

• Papers of Perry Miller, 1850-1987.  (28 document boxes, 5 record cartons, 5 flat boxes, 2 pamphlet binders, 2 card boxes).

 

Minnick, Robert Charles. Mathematics (Field of Study).

• Robert C. Minnick papers relating to study and teaching in applied science at Harvard, 1950-1957.  (5 letter document boxes, 1 half-letter document box). .

 

Mongan, Agnes, 1905-1996. Art History (Field of Study).

• Papers of Agnes Mongan, 1941-1964. (2 document boxes).
• Papers of Agnes Mongan [accessions], 1794-1991. (6 record cartons, 2 document boxes, 1 folder).

 

Monis, Judah, 1683-1764. Hebrew (Field of Study).

• Judah Monis collection, 1725-1735. (1 half-legal document box).
• Receipt from Timothy Green for payment by Judah Monis, 1734 September 4. (1 folder).

 

Montgomery, John D. (John Dickey), 1920-2008. International studies (Field of Study).

• Papers of John Dickey Montgomery [accession], 1949-1992.  (4 record cartons).

Moore, Barrington, 1913-2005. Government (Field of Study).

• Papers of Barrington Moore [accessions], 1930-2004. (46 record cartons, 1 document box, 1 volume).

Moore, Edward Warren, 1906-1980. Chemistry and Sanitary Engineering (Fields of Study).

• Papers of Edward Warren Moore, 1940-1950.  (2 document boxes).
• A collection of papers by Edward Warren Moore, mainly cuttings and reprints from various periodicals, 1934-1958. (1 accordion folder).

 

Moore, Merrill, 1903-1957. Medicine (Field of Study).

• Collection of miscellaneous papers by Merrill Moore, 1936, 1956-1957. (1 pamphlet binder).

Moran, William L., 1921-2000. Semitic languages (Field of Studies).

• William L. Moran personal archive [accessions], 1946-1998. (3 record cartons).

 

Morgan, M. H. (Morris Hicky), 1859-1910. Classics (Field of Study).

• Papers of Morris Hicky Morgan, 1887-1909. (1 document box, 1 flat box, 1 pamphlet binder, 4 accordion folders).

 

Morison, Samuel Eliot, 1887-1976. History (Field of Study).

• Papers of Samuel Eliot Morison, 1807-1976. (55.25 linear ft. of mss). Guide/Index Volume 1 and Guide/Index Volume 2 available online.
• Papers of Samuel Eliot Morison [accessions], 1868-1962. (16 record cartons, 2 flat boxes, 1 document box).
• A collection of papers by Samuel Eliot Morison, mainly cuttings and reprints from various periodicals, circa 1900-1950. (2 document boxes).

 

Morize, André, 1883-1957. French and Military science (Fields of Study).

• Andre Morize personal archive, 1914-1951. (10 folders, 2 glass slide boxes, 2 document boxes, 1 half-document box, 1 glass negative box, 1 extra-tall document box, 1 flat box, 1 pamphlet binder).

 

Morris, Donald, born 1945. Psychology (Field of Study).

• Donald Morris correspondence with B.F. Skinner, 1977 October. (1 pamphlet binder).

 
Morris, J. Carrell (John Carrell), 1914-1997. Chemistry (Field of Study).

• Papers of J. Carrell Morris [accessions], 1930-1980. (20 record cartons).
• The formation of monochloramine and dichloramine in water chlorination, 1950. (1 pamphlet binder).
• A collection of papers by J. Carrell Morris, mainly cuttings and reprints from various periodicals. (1 pamphlet binder).
   

Morrison, Theodore, 1901-1988. English (Field of Study).

• Papers of Theodore Morrison, 1940-1951.  (3 document boxes).

Morse, Harold Marston, 1892-1977. Mathematics (Field of Study).

• Papers of Marston Morse, circa 1892-2006. (17 document boxes, 3 half-document boxes, 2 record cartons, 1 flat box).

 

Morstein Marx, Fritz, 1900-1969. Government (Field of study).

• A collection of papers by Fritz Morstein Marx, mainly cuttings and reprints from various periodicals. (1 pamphlet binder).

 

Mosher, Harris P. (Harris Peyton), 1867-1954. Medicine (Field of Study).

• Papers of Harris Peyton Mosher, 1917. (1 v. of mss).

 
Mosteller, Frederick, 1916-2006. Statistics (Field of study).

• Papers of Frederick Mosteller, 1946-1988. (56 containers).
• Papers of Frederick Mosteller [accessions], 1975-2003. (21 record cartons).

 

Movius, Hallam L. (Hallam Leonard), 1907-1987. Anthropology (Field of Study).

• Papers of Hallam L. Movius [accessions], 1940-1972. (2 record cartons, 1 document box).
• Correspondence between Hallam L. Movius, Jr. and Arthur E. Spiess, 1973. (3 documents in 1 folder).
   

 

Moynihan, Daniel P. (Daniel Patrick), 1927-2003. Government (Field of study).

• Papers of Daniel Patrick Moynihan, 1976. (1 document box).
• A collection of papers by Daniel Patrick Moynihan, cuttings and reprints from various periodicals, 1967-1973. (1 accordion folder).
   

Munn, James Buell, 1890-1967. English (Field of Study).

• Papers of James Buell Munn, 1908-1967. (21 document boxes, 2 pamphlet binders, 1 portfolio folder).

 

Munro, William Bennett, 1875-1957.  Government (Field of study).

• Papers William B. Munro, 1903-1927. (2 pamphlet binders).

 
Münsterberg, Hugo, 1863-1916. Psychology (Field of Study).

• Papers of Hugo Munsterberg, 1892-1980. (2 document boxes).

 

Murdoch, John Emery, 1927-2010. History of Science (Field of Study).

• Papers of John Emery Murdoch [accessions], 1939-2010. (87 record cartons, 1 card box).

Murdock, Kenneth Ballard, 1895-1975. English (Field of Study).

• Papers of Kenneth Ballard Murdock, 1924-1971. (17 document boxes).

 
Murray, Henry A. (Henry Alexander), 1893-1988. Psychology (Field of Study).

• Papers of Henry A. Murray, 1925-1988. (231 containers).
• Papers of Henry A. Murray [accessions], 1893-1989. (9 record cartons, 6 document boxes, 3 folders, 2 flat boxes).

 

Murray, John Tucker, 1876-1956. English (Field of Study).

• Papers of John T. Murray, circa 1920-circa 1940.  (8 document boxes).