Harvard Faculty Personal Archives and Papers

Sabine, Wallace Clement, 1868-1919. Physics (Field of Study).

• Papers of Wallace Clement Sabine, 1899-1919. (3 document boxes, 6 pamphlet binders, 1 accordion folder, 5 volumes).
• A collection of papers by Wallace Clement Sabine, 1900-1915. (1 pamphlet binder).

 

Sabra, A. I. (Abdelhamid Ibrahim), 1924-2013. History of Science (Field of study).

• Papers of A. I. Sabra [accessions], 1954-1998. (20 record cartons).

 

Sachs, Paul J. (Paul Joseph), 1878-1965. Fine Arts (Field of Study).

• Papers of Paul J. Sachs, 1922-1965. (3 pamphlet binders, 2 document boxes, 2 record cartons, 2 negative microfilm reels, 1 flat box).
• A collection of papers by Paul J. Sachs, mainly cuttings and reprints from various publications, 1939. (1 pamphlet binder).

 

Safford, Arthur Truman, 1867-1951. Engineering (Feild of Study).

• Papers of Arthur Truman Safford, 1906-1936. (1 document box).

 

Sales, F. (Francis), 1771-1854. French and Spanish (Fields of Study).

• Papers of Francis Sales, 1798-1854. (1 half-legal document box).

 

Salvemini, Gaetano, 1873-1957. History (Field of Study).

• Papers of Gaetano Salvemini, 1898-1957. (1 document box, 6 pamphlet binders).
• A collection of miscellaneous papers by Gaetano Salvemini. (1 folder).

 

Sanger, Charles Robert, 1860-1912. Chemistry.

• Papers of Charles Robert Sanger, 1886-1911. (1 document box, 1 pamphlet binder, 3 volumes).

 

Sargent, Dudley Allen, 1849-1924. Physical Education (Field of Study).

• Papers of Dudley Allen Sargent, 1866-1924. (27 document boxes, 2 portfolio folders, 1 card box, 1 volume).
• Dudley Allen Sargent measurement cards from schools and organizations other than Harvard, 1880-1919. (41 boxes).
• Papers of Dudley Allene Sargent: oversized items, 1893-1900. (1 portfolio folder).
• Professional papers of D.A. Sargent, in part manuscript material. (5 boxes).
• Publications of Dudley Allen Sargent, 1886-ca. 1924.  (1 folder, 1 portfolio folder).
• Anthropometic chart, 1886-1918. (1 pamphlet binder).

 

Sarton, George, 1884-1956. History and History of Science (Fields of Study).

• Papers of George Sarton, 1927-1957. (5 document boxes, 1 legal document box).
• George Sarton personal archive [accessions], circa 1813, 1872-1964. (113 record cartons).

 

Saunders, Frederick A. (Frederick Albert), 1875-1963. Physics (Field of Study).

• A collection of papers by Frederick A. Saunders, mainly cuttings and reprints from various periodicals. (1 accordion folder).

 

Sawyer, John Edward. Education (Field of study).

• Miscellaneous papers by John Edward Sawyer, 1947, 1951. (1 accordion folder).

 

Scheffler, Israel, 1923-2014. Education (Field of study).

• Papers of Israel Scheffler [accessions], 1950-2003. (18 record cartons, 1 document box).

 

Scherer, F. M. (Frederic M.), born 1932. Economics and Government (Fields of Study).

• F. M. Scherer personal archive [accessions], 1952-2011, 2015. (2 record cartons, 2 pamphlet binders).

 

Schiffer, Eva, 1925-2010. Germanic Languages and literature (Field of Study).

• Letters from Bernhard Blume, 1950-1976. (1 document box).

 

Schlesinger, Arthur M. (Arthur Meier), 1888-1965. History (Field of Study).

• Papers of Arthur Meier Schlesinger, Sr., 1908-1965. (60 document boxes, 3 pamphlet binders, 1 flat box, 2 accordion folders, 1 pamphlet folder).

 

Schlozman, Kay Lehman, born 1946. Government (Field of study).

• Kay Lehman Schlozman personal archive [accessions], 1989-2017.  (9 record cartons).

 

Schofield, William Henry, 1870-1920. English (Field of Study).

• Papers of William Henry Schofield, 1910, 1921. (2 pamphlet binders).

 

Schroeder, Eric, 1904-1971. Middle Eastern studies, Art and Architecture (Fields of Study).

• Papers of Eric Schroeder, 1930-ca. 1950. (1 half-letter document box, 4 letter document boxes, 1 flat folder).  

 

Schultes, Richard Evans. Botany (Field of Study).

• Papers of Richard Evans Schultes [accessions], 1952-1997. (7 record cartons).
• A collection of papers by Richard Evans Schuktes, mainly cuttings and reprints from various periodicals. (1 pamphlet binder).

 

Schumpeter, Joseph A., 1883-1950. Economics (Field of Study).

• Papers of Joseph Alois Schumpeter, 1914-1960. (139 containers and 1 folder).
• Papers of Joseph Alois Schumpeter [accession], 1919-1951. (1 document box).

 

Schwartz, Benjamin I. (Benjamin Isadore), 1916-1999. History and Government (Fields of Study).

• Papers of Benjmanin I. Schwartz [accessions], 1951-1996. (13 record cartons, 6 letter document boxes).

 

Schwinger, Julian, 1918-1994. Physics (Field of Study).

• A collection of miscellaneous papers of Julian Schwinger, 1941-1971. (1 document box).

 

Scott, Austin Wakeman, 1884-1981. Law (Field of Study).

• Papers of Austin Wakeman Scott, 1906-1947. (2 letter document boxes, 1 pamphlet binder).

 

Scott, Donald, 1879-1967. Anthropology (Field of Study).

• Papers of Donald Scott, 1918-1967. (4 half-document boxes, 4 letter document boxes, 1 legal document box).

 

Searle, Arthur, 1837-1920. Astronomy (Field of Study).

• Papers of Arthur Searle, 1895-1917. (1 volume, 2 pamphlet binders, 1 folder).

 

Seavey, Warren Abner, 1880-1966. Law (Field of Study).

• Circular letter written by Warren A. Seavey on behalf of American Defense, Harvard Group on Japanese aggression in the Far East, 1940 October 9. (1 pamphlet binder).

 

Sedgwick, William Ellery, 1899-1942. English (Field of Study).

• Papers of William Ellery Sedwick, circa 1935. (2 card containers).

 

Sekler, Eduard F. (Eduard Franz), 1920-1917. Architecture (Field of Study).

• Papers of Eduard F. Sekler [accessions], 1954-1986. (3 record cartons, 1 document box, 1 flat box).

 

Sewall, Stephen, 1734-1804. Hebrew and Semi

• Papers of Stephen Sewall, 1764-1797. (6 folders and 7 volumes).

• The Scripture account of the Shechinah : addressed to the University at Cambridge. (1 volume).

 

Seymour, Arthur Bliss, 1859-1933. Botany (Field of Study).

• Papers of Arthur Bliss Seymour, ca. 1889-1933. (2 document boxes).

 

Shaler, Nathaniel Southgate, 1841-1906. Geology (Field of Study).

• Papers of Nathaniel Southgate Shaler, 1832-1982 (inclusive), 1872-1914 (bulk). (1 document box, 6 pamphlet binders).

 

Shapiro, Anatole Morris, 1923-2010. Physics (Field of Study).

• A collection of miscellaneous papers by Anatole Morris Shapiro, 1956. (1 folder).

 
Shapiro, Irwin I., born 1929. Astronomy and Astrophysics (Fields of Study).

• Irwin I. Shapiro personal archive [accessions], 1949-2014. (157 record cartons, 1 flat box).

 
Shapley, Harlow, 1885-1972. Physics (Astronomy).

• Papers of Harlow Shapley, 1906-1966. (167 containers).
• Papers of Harlow Shapley [accessions], 1847, 1929-1964. (2 record cartons, 1 document box, 4 folders).
• Correspondence from Harlow Shapley to family members, 1921-1923. (1 folder).
   

 

Shearman, John K.G., 1931-2003. Art (Field of study).

• Papers of John K.G. Shearman [accessions], 1953-2004. (62 record cartons, 2 document boxes, 2 flat boxes).

 

Sheffer, Henry Maurice, 1883-1964. Philosopher (Field of Study).

• Papers of Henry Maurice Sheffer, 1905-1957. (55 document boxes, 6 pamphlet binders).
• Henry Maurice Sheffer personal archive [accessions], 1891-1970. (1 document box).

 

Sheldon, E. S. (Edward Stevens), 1851-1925. Romance languages (Field of Study).

• Papers of Edward Stevens Sheldon, 1890, 1921. (1 pamphlet binder).

 

Sherburn, George, 1884-1962. English (Field of Study).

• Letters to and from George Wiley Sherburn, 1935, 1938. (1 pamphlet binder).

 

Shipton, Clifford Kenyon, 1902-1973.

• Collection of papers by Clifford K. Shipton, mainly cuttings and reprints from various periodicals, 1939-1969. (1 accordion folder).

 

Shklar, Judith N., 1928-1992. Government (Field of study).

• Papers of Judith N. Shklar, 1950-1992. (23 document boxes).