Information
Online (Harvard affiliates only)
Open access
Open accessScore databases
- Analecta hymnica Medii AeviThe series provides the most extensive collection and history of medieval Latin hymns of the Catholic Church, 500-1400. This electronic edition contains both the searchable full text of the hymns and their page-image facsimiles, as well as the corresponding bibliographic references to manuscripts and prints. The "Analecta hymnica Medii Aevi" series was originally published from 1886 to 1922 in 55 volumes by Guido Maria Dreves, with the cooperation of Clemens Blume and Henry M. Bannister.
- International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP)Canadian database with music scores and audio files free of charge, including a large section on Renaissance compositors. All together there are about 2500 compositors and approximately 60000 scores.
- RISM - Répertoire International des Sources MusicalesThe RISM is an international collective undertaking with the aim of comprehensively documenting surviving music sources anywhere in the world. The online-catalogue offered here contains around 700,000 references almost exclusively to music manuscripts.
- International Inventory of Musical Sources: RISM Series A/II* RISM A/II: Music Manuscripts after 1600 contains bibliographic records of music manuscripts after ca. 1600. * RISM Composer database contains over 18,000 composer names taken from RISM Series A/I and A/II. * RISM Libraries Sigla * RISM Bibliographic Citations databass The International Inventory of Musical Sources (RISM) represents a worldwide effort to identify and describe the world's musical sources, including manuscripts, printed music, and writings about music stored in libraries, archives, monasteries and private collections. The online resource provides access to one of the RISM series, A/II: Music Manuscripts after 1600, as well as three other related databases: e contains references for all thematic catalogue* RISM A/II: Music Manuscripts after 1600 contains bibliographic records of music manuscripts after ca. 1600. It comprises 370,000+ bibliographic entries representing 31 countries and over 595 libraries and archives. The records include information in standard bibliographic categories as well as graphical images of music incipits. * RISM Composer database contains over 18,000 composer names taken from RISM Series A/I and A/II. * RISM Libraries Sigla database identifies over 5,000 libraries worldwide that hold music materials relevant to RISM series. All libraries are identified by name and RISM siglum. * RISM Bibliographic Citations databass and other secondary sources cited in RISM A/II.
- Early Music OnlineThe Early Music Online project has digitised 300 of the world’s earliest surviving volumes of printed music, using copies in the British Library, and has made these freely available online.
- Digital Du CheminFocusing on a neglected but important repertory of polyphonic songs from mid-sixteenth-century France, this unique project puts old books before a diverse audience of modern scholars and musicians in ways that will prompt renewed understanding of these cultural artifacts and their meanings. It is dedicated to sixteen sets of books expertly crafted by the Parisian printer Nicholas Du Chemin between 1549 and 1568. In them, we can trace changing literary tastes, musical fashions, and above all the impact of the relatively new medium of printing on musical culture of the day.
- The Cantus databaseIndex of chant MSS
- VDM - Catalogue of early German printed musicMusic printing in German-speaking lands: From the 1470s to the mid-16th century.
Music CDs online
- Classical Music LibraryClassical Music Library is the world's largest multi-label database of Classical music recordings for listening and learning in libraries. The growing collection of 60,000-plus tracks includes recordings from the world's greatest labels. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.
- Naxos Music LibraryNaxos Music Library provides online streaming audio access to the entire Naxos, Marco Polo, and Dacapo catalogs of recordings. The resource currently comprises 85,000 tracks, including classical music, jazz, world, folk and Chinese music.
- Naxos Music Library: JazzNaxos Jazz includes over 23,000 additional tracks of music from the Fantasy jazz catalog. The collection spans the Genres of Jazz, Blues, R&B, Rock, Comedy and even Beat Poetry of the 60’s.