History Sources & Texts Databases
- AEDit Fruehe Neuzeit - Platform for Early Modern Texts"The project aims to bring together in one common repository high-quality and reliable scientific texts as well as databases of text-based editing and Early Modern Studies projects which are based on texts and editions. It intends to offer long time storage and guarantees citability by using persistent identifiers ("trusted repository"). The documents will be catalogued, indexed, made searchable and presented in a basic format, which allows to re-use them via download and via defined interfaces ("Webservices")."
- MonasteriumMonasterium is a database with more than 500.000 historical documents from over 60 institutions. Collections include political, economical and cultural sources from the Middle Ages to the modern time.
- Archival City Project"ARCHIVAL-CITY aims to propose new ways of accessing, viewing and using the city archives. Therefore, it is slated to become a key resource for better understanding and exploiting urban archives, and also to imagine, debate and plan the city of the future by incorporating robust data from the past."
- DALMECross disciplinary platform for the late medieval material world.
- The Making and Knowing ProjectIntersections of Craft Making and Scientific Knowing
- Papers in MotionInformation and the Economy of Knowledge in the Early Modern Mediterranean
Bibliographies & Abstracts
- Historical Abstracts (ABC-CLIO)Historical Abstracts is a reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
- ACLS Humanities E-BookThis project developed by the American Council of Learned Societies places a significant number of history titles online. Currently includes over 900 frequently-cited books of major importance that are not widely available at present, and adding 250 additional titles per year.
- IMB - SEE: International Medieval BibliographyA bibliography of journal articles, essay collections, conference proceedings in the disciplines Classics, English Language and Literature, History and Archaeology, Theology and Philosophy, Medieval European Languages and Literatures, Arabic and Islamic Studies, History of Education, Art History, Music, Theatre and Performance Arts, Rhetoric and Communication Studies.
- Iter: Gateway to the Renaissance (U. Toronto)Includs (among others): Iter Italicum, P.O. Kristeller's listing of uncataloged, or incompletely cataloged, humanistic manuscripts of the Renaissance, in Italian and other libraries around the world; the Iter Bibliography of more than 600,000 records for articles, essays, books and reviews; and a growing list of related databases and web sites.
- Book History OnlineBook History Online (BHO) is the international bibliography in the field of book and library history. It provides a comprehensive survey of all scholarly publications written from a historical perspective. Included are monographs, articles and reviews dealing with the history of the printed book, its arts, crafts, techniques and equipment, its economic, social and cultural environment, as well as its production, distribution, preservation and description.
History Reference, Introductions, etc.
- Cambridge Histories OnlineThis reference compendium allows instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. With access to the most up to date and authoritative scholarly content, Cambridge Histories Online is an invaluable resource. All the available volumes are grouped into topics, making it quick and easy to search and browse through an array of historical subject areas.
- Oxford Dictionary of National BiographyEnhancements available online include the ability to view articles from the earlier edition of the DNB; a "Themes" section that provides access to "reference lists" of individuals who have held particular offices (e.g., Archbishops of Canterbury) and to essays on various topics (e.g., The General Election of 1964: Forty Years On), and links to relevant web sites.
Latin and Greek texts databases
- Corpus Scriptorum Latinorum (CSL)The Corpus Scriptorum Latinorum (CSL) is a collaborative project among scholars from a variety of disciplines with the main purpose of creating a digital library of Latin literature, spanning from the earliest epigraphic remains to the Neo-Latinists of the eighteenth century. Toward this end, we maintain an up-to-date catalogue of all Latin texts that are currently available online, making CSL a single, centralized resource for locating Latin literature on the internet.
- Library of Ancient Texts OnlineThe Library of Ancient Texts Online aims to be the internet's most thorough catalogue of online copies of ancient Greek texts, both in Greek and in translation. It comprises sites as The Perseus Project at Tufts University, or Project Gutenberg. However, even these sites lack many texts. LATO helps to repair this situation by gathering a comprehensive set of links to those texts that are available free of charge.
- Patrologia Latina DatabaseThe Database covers the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Some figures included: Hilary, Ambrose, Jerome, Boethius, Isidore, Bede, Peter Damian, Bernard, Augustine, Peter Lombard, Peter Chrysologus and many others. The Patrologia Latina Database is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologiae Cursus Completus, Series Latina. The PLD contains all 221 volumes of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Series Latina, which includes the original 217 volumes (1844-1855) plus the later four volumes of indexes (1862-1865).
Although the text is primarily in Latin, the database has an English language search engine and help. A cross-search option allows users to find search terms in both the Patrologia Latina Database and the Acta Sanctorum Database. Also, Brill's edition of Jan Frederik Niermeyer's Mediae Latinitatis Lexicon Minus is available from the search page. Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina reference numbers are also included. Coverage: 200 AD - 1216 AD.
- Latin LibraryThis website includes a very large collection of Latin texts, including classical literature, legal and religious texts and a number of medieval works. According to the website, the texts come from a variety of public domain sources and a list of links to the provider of texts is given. No translations or other commentary is provided.
- The Internet Classic Archive (MIT)Select from a list of 441 works of classical literature by 59 different authors, including user-driven commentary and "reader's choice" Web sites. Mainly Greco-Roman works (some Chinese and Persian), all in English translation.
- Patrologiae GraecaeCollection of the writings of the church leaders who wrote in Greek, including both the Eastern "Fathers" and those Western Christians who wrote before the Latin takeover of the West in the third century. It includes writings of the Apostolic Fathers (Epistles of Clement, The Shepherd of Hermas), Eusebius, Origen, Basil the Great, Gregory of Nazianzus, Gregory of Nyssa. The electronic version of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologiae Graecae contains digitized page images of the 161 volumes of the first edition of his Patrologiae Cursus Completus, Series Graeca (Paris, 1857-1866).
The texts are generally interlaced, with one column of Greek and a corresponding column on the other side of the page that is the Latin translation. New and comprehensive tables of contents are part of the electronic version. Full-text searching is not yet available. Updated: ca. 100 AD - 1439 AD
- Theoi Classical E-Texts LibraryThe Theoi Classical E-Texts Library is a collection of works from ancient Greek and Roman literature in translation (mostly from Loeb). The theme of the library is classical mythology and so the selection presented consists primarily of ancient poetry (epic, lyric, bucolic, et. al.), drama and prose renditions of myth.
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG)Only partially accessible.
Berenson Art Collection Villa I Tatti
Bonifazio Veronese De' Pitati (1487-1553), Pomey's head brought to Caesar (© 2011 President & Fellows Harvard University. All Rights Reserved)