Rinascimento

The Patrologia Latina Database is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologiae Cursus Completus, Series Latina. The PLD contains all 221 volumes of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Series Latina, which includes the original 217 volumes (1844-1855) plus the later four volumes of indexes (1862-1865). The Patrologia Latina Database covers the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Some major figures included are Hilary, Ambrose, Jerome, Boethius, Isidore, Bede, Peter Damian, Bernard, Augustine, Peter Lombard, Peter Chrysologus and many others. Migne's column numbers, essential references for scholars, are also included. ## ##Although the text is primarily in Latin, the database has an English language search engine and help. A cross-search option allows users to find search terms in both the Patrologia Latina Database and the Acta Sanctorum Database. Also, Brill's edition of Jan Frederik Niermeyer's Mediae Latinitatis Lexicon Minus is available from the search page. Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina reference numbers are also included.

This website includes a very large collection of Latin texts, including classical literature, legal and religious texts and a number of medieval works. According to the website, the texts come from a variety of public domain sources and a list of links to the provider of texts is given. No translations or other commentary is provided.

Fathers

The Acta Sanctorum Database is an electronic collection of documents examining the lives of Christian saints, organized according to each saint's feast day. The Acta Sanctorum Database contains the text of the sixty-eight printed volumes of Acta Sanctorum published in Antwerp and Brussels by the Société des Bollandistes, from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940. A copy of the printed work are available at the Andover-Harvard Theological Library at S.C.R. folio 999 Sa. The source text for the database is that of the original edition, recommended by the Société des Bollandistes, and not the later incomplete editions published in Venice in 1734-1760 and by Palme in Paris in 1863-1870. The Acta Sanctorum Database contains the complete Acta Sanctorum, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Biblioteca Hagiographica Latina reference numbers are also included. Although the text is primarily in Latin, the database has an English language search engine and help. A cross-search option allows users to find search terms in both the Acta Sanctorum Database and the Patrologia Latina Database. Also, Brill's edition of Jan Frederik Niermeyer's Mediae Latinitatis Lexicon Minus is available from the search page.

This collection of over 1,500 primary works from the 16th and 17th centuries contains the key catechisms, scholarly treatises, papal documents, devotional works, and theological volumes that sparked the reform from within the Catholic Church around the time of the decrees of the Council of Trent.

A database offering complete coverage of Church prelates, information on all 1300 medieval bishoprics, archdioceses and patriarchates and prosopographical information on 18,507 bishops, archbishops and patriarchs. Its main sources are: C. Eubel, Hierarchia catholica medii aevi... ab anno 1198 [1st and 2nd edns. Münster, 1898ff] and P.B. Gams, Series episcoporum ecclesiae catholicae [Regensburg, 1873-86]

Searchable registers of papal letters from the 13th- and 14th-century popes, based on Registres et lettres des Papes du XIIIe siècle (32 vols.; Rome, 1883- ) and Registres et lettres des Papes du XIVe siècle (48 vols.; Rome, 1899- ). These letters provide information on many aspects of medieval society, such as church institutions, politics, government and finance, and religious, intellectual, and artistic life. Includes citations and a brief description of the contents, but no full-text. Search (or Browse) by Pope, date, letter type, place of promulgation and many other criteria.

Full-text online versions of over 500 individual Philosophy texts published by Oxford University Press.

The Past Masters series from InteLex Corporation comprises full-text electronic editions of works by major philosophical figures, in both original language and in English translation. Areas covered include the history of political thought and theory, education, religious studies, economics, classics, history and German studies. Texts include published and unpublished works, articles and essays, and correspondence. ####To print: The text retrieved may be printed for personal use only. Click on the printer icon to launch a new window and the printer dialogue box on your computer. You will need to define the range of pages you would like to print. The output has only basic formatting and does not try to reproduce the look and feel of the source text. All copyright restrictions apply. ####WARNING: The email function will not produce usable results at Harvard. The email function sends a url to the requestor which relies on the receiving computer's IP address in order to function correctly. Because Harvard uses a proxy configuration with communal IP addresses to access the InteLex site, clicking on the emailed url without connecting through the Harvard Libraries site will cause your workstation to be refused by the InteLex server.

Online version of Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd ed., published in print in 2005. It includes almost all the original 2,750 entries (many updated) from the first edition edited by Mircea Eliade and published in 1987 plus almost 600 new articles. It covers almost all topics on the world's religions including Buddhism, Christianity, Confucianism, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism, Taoism, new religious movements, ethics, feminist theology, ecology and religion, gender and religion, politics and religion, science and religion, art and religion, and film and religion. It is considered the standard English language resource in the field.

Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church offers authoritative information about all aspects of this vast and often complex subject, including theology, churches and denominations, patristic scholarship, the bible, the church calendar and its organization, popes, archbishops, saints, mystics, and heretics. It also includes biographical articles about philosophers and theologians. Many entries contain bibliographical references that point readers to primary and secondary sources, in English when possible.

Oxford Reference Online contains dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. It is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of these reference books. A broad subject range of titles from the Oxford Companions Series is available, as well as the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations.

dynamic reference work

This dictionary covers the history of “Gnosis and Western Esotericism” from the period of Late Antiquity to the present. Containing around 400 articles by over 180 international specialists, it provides critical overviews discussing the nature and historical development of all its important currents and manifestations, from Gnosticism and Hermetism to Astrology, Alchemy and Magic, from the Hermetic Tradition of the Renaissance to Rosicrucianism and Christian Theosophy, and from Freemasonry and Illuminism to 19th-century Occultism and the contemporary New Age movement. The dictionary further contains entries on the life and work of major personalities in the history of Gnosis and Western Esotericism, discussing their ideas, significance, and historical influence.

Iter was created for the advancement of learning in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) through the development of online resources, including (among others): Iter Italicum, P.O. Kristeller's listing of uncataloged, or incompletely cataloged, humanistic manuscripts of the Renaissance, in Italian and other libraries around the world; the Iter Bibliography of more than 600,000 records for articles, essays, books and reviews; and a growing list of related databases and web sites.

The Philosopher’s Index, an important and oft-requested philosophy resource, is now available via EBSCOhost®, one of the most popular platforms available for scholarly research.

ATLA (American Theological Library Association) Religion Database with ATLASerials indexes journal articles, essays, and book reviews in the field of religion. Citations cover all religions and all theological points of view. There are links from cited articles in more than 50 journals to page images of the articles themselves.