Information
Online (Harvard affiliates only)
Open access
Open access
Working tools for Renaissance texts
- Database of Latin DictionariesThe Database of Latin Dictionaries (DLD) provides access to a growing number of Latin dictionaries. The database will comprise three kinds of dictionaries: * Dictionaries to assist translation from Latin into modern languages (English, French, German, and other) * Dictionaries providing semantic and etymological explanations in Latin of Latin words * Historical Latin dictionaries The Database of Latin Dictionaries is linked to the Library of Latin Texts (CLCLT), permitting to search on a word in a dictionary within the DLD and to identify actual occurrences of the word within its context in the CLCLT and vice versa.
- Glossarium mediæ et infimæ latinitatisLe Glossarium mediae et infimae latinitatis, initialement publié par Charles du Fresne, sieur du Cange (1610-1688), est un glossaire du latin médiéval, en latin moderne.
- Cappelli dictionary of Latin abbreviations onlineA. Cappelli, Dizionario di abbreviature Latini ed Italiani, Milano 1912.
- Enigma - Déchiffrer les mots latins difficiles dans les manuscrits médiévauxEnigma est destiné à faciliter la lecture des mots latins difficiles à déchiffrer dans les manuscrits.
- In PrincipioIn Principio features over 1 million incipits, covering Latin literature from its origins to the Renaissance. It is an inevitable research tool for those scholars and libraries interested in the writers, texts and manuscripts of Antiquity, the Middle Ages and the Renaissance. Coverage: Latin Literature from its origins to the Renaissance
- Scriptores Possessoresque Codicum Medii AeviDatabase of mediaeval manuscripts' scribes and owners. The database is integrated with the "Scriptores codicum medii aevi". The information on each scribe or owner of a manuscript includes: name; short biographical data with city of origin and birth and death dates; libraries holding manuscript(s); references to secondary literature.
- Watermark databasesWatermarks in manuscripts and incunables. From the International Association of Paper Historians.
Manuscripts Catalogs
- The British Library Manuscripts CollectionVery well-organized site with links to digital images and other useful MS resources. Includes a high resolution digital version of the Lindisfarne Gospel.
- Bibliotheca Palatina - digitalThe Bibliotheca Palatina (Heidelberg, Pfalzgräfliche Bibliothek) is one of the most important collections of German manuscripts from the Middle Ages to the Renaissance. All of the 848 Codices Palatini germanici are now available online with a total of 270.000 pages and 7.000 miniatures.
- Early Manuscripts at Oxford UniversityThis website provides access to over 80 early manuscripts in high resolution digital images. These manuscripts are held in 7 institutions associated with the University of Oxford. Access is through browsing full pages or thumbnails.
- Codices Electronici Sangallenses (CESG)The Abbey Library of St. Gall online with high resolution digital images, searchable manuscript descriptions, and digital versions of entire manuscripts. Multi-language interface.
- Census of Medieval and Renaissance manuscripts in the United States and CanadaCollected by Seymour de Ricci (1881-1942).
- e-codices -- Virtual Manuscript Library of SwitzerlandThe purpose is to provide access to the medieval codices in Switzerland by creating a virtual library. At the moment, the virtual library contains 659 manuscripts from 28 different libraries. NEW: 40 Greek sources in Swiss Libraries. The virtual library will be continuously updated and extended. A project of the medieval institute, Universitas Friburgensis.
- CORSAIR: The Online Research Resource of the Pierpont Morgan LibraryDigital images from the Morgan Library’s collection of Medieval and Renaissance manuscripts.Covers ten centuries of Western illumination and contains manuscripts from all major schools.
- Les Bibliothèques Virtuelles HumanistesCe programme a pour objectif de fournir dans les quatre ans qui viennent environ 2000 ouvrages des XVIe-XVIIe sièc les provenant des fonds patrimoniaux régionaux, avec l'espoir d'en proposer au moins 10% en mode texte, le reste étant accessible, en ligne et gratuitement, par une numérisation image de qualité.
- Fihrist - Islamic manuscript collections in UK libraries"This catalogue provides a searchable interface to basic manuscript descriptions from some of the major manuscript collections in the UK. With the continuing contribution of manuscript records from UK libraries, Fihrist aims to become a union catalogue for manuscripts in Arabic script."
Incunabula Catalogs
- The British Library - Incunabula Short Title Catalogue (ISTC)ISTC is a database of 15th cent. printing, in development at the British Library since 1980. As well as the British Library, contributors include the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek, Munich; the Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale, Rome; the Bibliographical Society of America, the Koninklijke Bibliotheek, The Hague; and the Bibliothèque Royal Albert Ier, Brussels.
- INKA - Inkunabelkatalog deutscher BibliothekenUnion catalog that enables searching for incunables across German collections. In German.
- CICLE (Corpus of Classic Latin Incunabula in Spain)CICLE (Corpus of Classic Latin Incunabula in Spain) is a relational database which is focused on the heritage of incunable editions of Latin classics produced in printing presses located in Spain from the 1470s till 1500, including printings in Latin and in translation. The database identifies the collection of editions and the surviving copies in Spain as well as elsewhere.
- CICLPor database (Corpus of Classic Latin Incunabula preserved in Portuguese libraries)The CICLPor database (Corpus of Classic Latin Incunabula preserved in Portuguese libraries) comprises the Portuguese heritage of copies of incunabula of Latin authors from the Archaic period until Late Antiquity, ending at the time of Isidore of Seville (ca. 560-636). Incunabula included in CICLPor were printed outside of Portugal since in this period no Latin classic texts were produced by printing presses located in the country. Editions in Latin as well as translations are included.
Library catalogs with many digitized manuscripts, incunabulae and early printed books
See also the section on Language & Literature.
- E-rara.chE-rara.ch provides access to several Swiss digital collections. Collections currently available through the site focus on printed materials from the 16th Century, Astronomy, Architecture, and Urban Planning. The goal of the project is to provide a digital copy of all Swiss printed sources from the 16th Century to complete the VD16 database.
- VD16Early printed books in Germanyform the 16th century. Verzeichnis der im deutschen Sprachbereich erschienenen Drucke des XVI. Jahrhunderts, VD16, herausgegeben von der Bayrischen Staatsbibliothek in Muenchen in Verbindung mit der Herzog August Bibliothek in Wolfenbuettel.
- TECA Digitale (Biblioteca Laurenziana digitale - Fondo Plutei)Digitalizzazione integrale dei 3.900 manoscritti del fondo Plutei e dei cataloghi settecenteschi che li descrivono (Assemani, Bandini e Biscioni).