Information
At a Harvard library or depository.
Online (Harvard affiliates only).
Freely available online.
Image Databases
- Census of Antique Works of Art and Architecture Known in the RenaissanceThe Census is an interdisciplinary research database containing documentation centering on the classical tradition, a focus of Renaissance studies. Registered are the antique monuments known in the Renaissance together with the related Renaissance documents in the form of texts and images, and related information about locations, persons and periods.
- ART HISTORY RESOURCES ON THE WEB: ContentsImage collection of Art History. Searchable by periods, countries and artists.
- Web Gallery of Art, image collection, virtual museumThe Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Gothic, Renaissance and Baroque periods (1100-1850), currently containing over 17.300 reproductions. Commentaries on pictures, biographies of artists are available. Guided tours, free postcard and other services are provided for the visitors.
- PrometheusPrometheus is a digital image archive for art and culture. Enabled for convenient search for images on a common user interface within different image archives, databases from institutes, research facilities and museums, primarily in Germany. The user is able to search in 60 art historian, design, architectural, theological, historian and archaeological image databases.
- Digitaler Portraitindex - Digital Archiv of Portraits in early printsThis image database comprises portraits by kings and rulers, soldiers and merchants, popes and clerics, writers and scientists, musicians and artists.
- Legal Portraits OnlineMore than 4,000 portrait images of lawyers, jurists, political figures, and legal thinkers dating from the Middle Ages to the late 20th- century drawn from the Harvard Law School's Legal Portrait Collection. These prints, drawings, and photographs depict legal figures prominent in the Common Law as well as those associated with the Canon and Civil Law traditions.
Digital Images provided by museums (mostly providing open access images under C00 license)
- NGA Image Database - National Gallery of Art (Washington)More than 25.000 images available open access.
- British Museum collectionsIn he British Museum collection database you can search almost two million objects from the entire Museum collection.
- Peabody Museum Collections OnlinePeabody Museum of Archeology and Ethnology at Harvard University. Collections Online provides access to approximately 600,000 database records and over 300,000 associated digital photographs.