Information
Online (Harvard affiliates only)
Open access
Open accessDatabases on Society, Sociology and Gender
- Archives Unbound: Witchcraft in Europe and AmericaThe earliest texts in this comprehensive collection on witchcraft date from the 15th century and the latest are from the early 20th century. The majority of the material concerns the 16th to 18th centuries, the so-called "classic period." In addition to these classic texts, the collection includes anti-persecution writings, works by penologists, legal and church documents, exposés of persecutions, and philosophical writings and transcripts of trials and exorcisms.
- Defining Gender Online: Five Centuries of Advice Literature for Men and Women (1450-1910)When complete, this resource will comprise five modules, each with introductory essays, and will contain about ten thousand images of original documents. Currently, two modules are available. Section I: Conduct and Politeness, focuses on advice literature for women, while Section II: Domesticity and the Family, "frames gendered behaviour within the context of family." Separate lists of names, topics, and documents can be used to access materials. Defining Gender also permits keyword searches of its indexes: the "Boolean functionality" section explains this in detail. Short biographies of individuals are provided.
- Medieval Travel WritingDirect access to a widely scattered collection of original medieval manuscripts that describe travel - real and imaginary - in the Middle Ages (13th-16th centuries).
- The Food BibliographyThe Food Bibliography is an on-line resource providing a growing data base of bibliographic materials for researchers in the field of food history and, more generally, food studies. It is meant to help ensure the circulation of information to the increasing number of scholars working in these fields.
- Hidden CitiesPUblic REnaissance: Urban Cultures of Public Space between Early Modern Europe and the Present is a three-year project funded by the Humanities in European Research Area (HERA), involving researchers from universities in Italy, Germany the Netherlands, Spain and the UK. Our aim is to examine how public spaces, from street-corners to major city squares, were shaped by the everyday activities of ordinary city-dwellers between 1450 and 1700.
Databases on political and military arguments
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Medieval Warfare and Military TechnologyThis Encyclopedia contains over 1000 articles on medieval military history, covering wars waged in Europe, the Byzantine Empire, and the Crusader States between 500 C.E. to 1500.
Maps
- World Map from 1587 by Urbano MonteDigitized by the David Rumsey map collection.
- Amerasia"In 1545, the German mathematician and cartographer Caspar Vopel (1511-1561) designed a famous and influential map of the world, A New Complete and Universal Description of the Whole World, that depicts Asia and America overlapping on the same landmass.
Using an interactive, high-definition interface, this website explores the map’s content. Blue pins indicate translated cartouches, pink pins offer short entries on sites with particular Amerasian significance, and yellow pins offer extended essays on Amerasian themes."
Databases on Economics
- Making of the Modern World: Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature 1450-1850Provides full-text and full-page-image access to books from the 1460-1850 period, and pre-1906 serials. It focuses on economics interpreted in the widest sense, including political science, history, sociology, and special collections on banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing. It combines the strengths of two pre-eminent collections--the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London Library and the Kress Library of Business and Economics at the Harvard University Graduate School of Business Administration--along with supplementary materials from the Seligman Collection in the Butler Library at Columbia University and from the libraries of Yale University.