Research Guides: Rinascimento: History of Law

Legal abstracts

Criminal Justice Abstracts (Harvard Key Login)
Criminal Justice Abstracts provides comprehensive coverage of U.S. and international criminal justice literature including scholarly journals, books, dissertations, governmental and non-governmental studies and reports, unpublished papers, magazines, newsletters and other materials. In addition to criminal justice and criminology, topics covered include criminal law and procedure, corrections and prisons, police and policing, criminal investigation, forensic sciences and investigation, history of crime, substance abuse and addiction, and probation and parole.

Canon Law
Codex Iuris Canonici, ed. 1983, in Latin.
Medieval Legal History
Very comprehensive collection on ancient legal sources, Roman law, Byzantine law, European law, Jewish law, Islamic law, with references and full text versions (compiled by Paul Halsall, ORB sources editor, Fordham University).
DRQEdit - Deutschsprachige Rechtsquellen in digitaler Edition
A digital compilation of German juridical texts from the 15th and 16th century. This is a joint project organized by the Heidelberger Akademie der Wissenschaft, Max-Planck-Institut fuer europaeische Rechtsgeschichte and the Professur fuer Historisch-Kulturwissenschaftliche Informationsverarbeitung, University of Koeln.
Rechtsquellen der frühen Neuzeit - digital
Ca. 100 legal sources of the early modern period (16.-17. cent.) collected from the Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg. In German.

Oxford Scholarship Online: Law
Full-text online versions of scholarly texts in Law published by Oxford University Press. Publications range from the foundations of legal history and philosophy to analytic and comparative work on legal doctrine and empirical research on law in modern society.
more...less...
“Oxford Scholarship Online: Law will include new titles from our series: Oxford Studies in European Law, Oxford Monographs in International Law, Oxford Monographs in Criminal Law and Justice, Clarendon Studies in Criminology, Oxford Monographs in Labour Law, Oxford Studies in Modern Legal History, Oxford Studies in International Economic Law, and the International Courts and Tribunals series, alongside many other works selected from our legal publishing.”
Legal Portraits Online
More than 4,000 portrait images of lawyers, jurists, political figures, and legal thinkers dating from the Middle Ages to the late 20th- century drawn from the Harvard Law School's Legal Portrait Collection. These prints, drawings, and photographs depict legal figures prominent in the Common Law as well as those associated with the Canon and Civil Law traditions.
Virtual Library Legal History
These pages try to list systematically and critically legal history ressources in the internet.
Oxford Handbooks online - Law
Lawforms
Digitised Legal Documents from the Indo-Persian World

Deutsches Rechtswoerterbuch
German dictionary of historical and modern law terms.