Rinascimento

The series provides the most extensive collection and history of medieval Latin hymns of the Catholic Church, 500-1400. This electronic edition contains both the searchable full text of the hymns and their page-image facsimiles (with over 16,000 scans), as well as the corresponding bibliographic references to manuscripts and prints.

The "Bibliotheca scriptorum" provides access to the standard works of Medieval Latin prosopography in page-image/ facsimile format. Among the titles available are Casimirus Oudinus: "Commentarius de scriptoribus ecclesiasticis" (Leipzig, 1722); Iohannes Trithemius: "Catalogus scriptorum ecclesiasticorum" (Zagreb, 1531); and Fabricius: "Bibliotheca Latina mediae et infimae aetatis" (Florentiae, 1858).

A database offering complete coverage of Church prelates, information on all 1300 medieval bishoprics, archdioceses and patriarchates and prosopographical information on 18,507 bishops, archbishops and patriarchs. Its main sources are: C. Eubel, Hierarchia catholica medii aevi... ab anno 1198 [1st and 2nd edns. Münster, 1898ff] and P.B. Gams, Series episcoporum ecclesiae catholicae [Regensburg, 1873-86].

This international directory allows users to search a database of medieval studies scholars in over 70 countries by name, field, country, and institution. The online version is a continuation of the printed edition, the Repertoire International des Medievistes.

The purpose of this website is to provide a full collection of links to on-line databases, books, Phds, and articles on late antique and early medieval inscriptions, covering the period from A.D. 300 to 900.

Searchable registers of papal letters from the 13th- and 14th-century popes, based on Registres et lettres des Papes du XIIIe siècle (1883- ), Registres et lettres des Papes du XIVe siècle (1899- ). These letters provide information on many aspects of medieval society: church institutions, politics, government and finance, and religious, intellectual, and artistic life. Includes citations and a brief description of the contents, but no full-text. Search (or Browse) by Pope, date, letter type, place of promulgation and many other criteria. Coverage: 1316-1370

MIRABILE is an online content aggregator for Medieval resources that provides for federated searching in the databases of the Società Internazionale per lo Studio del Medioevo Latino (SISMEL) and the online publications of the publisher Edizioni del Galluzzo. MIRABILE includes: Medioevo latino (MEL), a bibliographical bulletin covering publications on European culture from Boethius to Erasmus (VIth - XVth Centuries); the Bibliotheca Scriptorum Latinorum Medii recentiorisque Aevi (BISLAM), an authority list for names of Latin medieval authors, with more than 15.000 entries and 80.000 variants; the Compendium Auctorum Medii Aevi (CALMA), an authoritative index of medieval authors and works, with more than 3.000 records; as well as recent issues of the following journals in full text: Documenti e Studi sulla tradizione filosofica medievale; Filologia mediolatina; Hagiographica; Iconographica; Itineraria; Micrologus’ library; Stilistica e metrica italiana.

This is a collection of the family papers of 5 British medieval families from East Anglia, Essex, Oxfordshire, Yorkshire and Warwickshire, c1400-1490. The families are The Pastons, Celys, Stonors, Plumptons and the Armburghs.

Direct access to a widely scattered collection of original medieval manuscripts that describe travel - real and imaginary - in the Middle Ages (13th-16th centuries).

The Compendium has been designed to offer access to and interconnectivity between three major Middle English electronic resources: an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, and an associated network of electronic resources (contains the complete Middle English Dictionary).

Monumenta Germaniae Historica (MGH) was founded by the "Gesellschaft für Deutschlands ältere Geschichtskunde" and provides editorial undertaking for the critical publication of medieval historical texts. Full search access to the major series, the Scriptores, Leges, Diplomata, Epistolae and Antiquitates, and 33 sub-series of the MGH.

The Lexikon des Mittelalters is the standard encyclopedia for the European Middle Ages, containing over 36,700 signed articles by 3000 authors. Coverage extends from 300 to 1500 AD/CE for the whole of Europe and parts of the Middle East and North Africa. A multilingual interface (English, French and German) allows users to search by headwords, subjects, keywords, etc.

The Compendium has been designed to offer access to and interconnectivity between three major Middle English electronic resources: an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, and an associated network of electronic resources (contains the complete Middle English Dictionary).

This dictionary covers "all key aspects of European history, society, and culture from 500 to 1500 A.D., as well as the Byzantine Empire, Islamic dynasties, and Asiatic peoples of the era."

The Database of Latin Dictionaries (DLD) provides access to a growing number of Latin dictionaries. The database will comprise three kinds of dictionaries: * Dictionaries to assist translation from Latin into modern languages (English, French, German, and other) * Dictionaries providing semantic and etymological explanations in Latin of Latin words * Historical Latin dictionaries The Database of Latin Dictionaries is linked to the Library of Latin Texts (CLCLT), permitting to search on a word in a dictionary within the DLD and to identify actual occurrences of the word within its context in the CLCLT and vice versa.

Le Glossarium mediae et infimae latinitatis, initialement publié par Charles du Fresne, sieur du Cange (1610-1688), est un glossaire du latin médiéval, en latin moderne.

In Principio features over 1 million incipits, covering Latin literature from its origins to the Renaissance. It is an inevitable research tool for those scholars and libraries interested in the writers, texts and manuscripts of Antiquity, the Middle Ages and the Renaissance. Coverage: Latin Literature from its origins to the Renaissance

Database of mediaeval manuscripts' scribes and owners. The database is integrated with the "Scriptores codicum medii aevi". The information on each scribe or owner of a manuscript includes: name; short biographical data with city of origin and birth and death dates; libraries holding manuscript(s); references to secondary literature.

This database contains the complete corpus of medieval translations of the works of Aristotle, comprising those texts that have been critically edited in the printed Aristoteles Latinus series, as well as other corpora that have already been published or that are currently in preparation or unpublished. The database is not identical to the printed edition, as it omits the prefaces describing the manuscript tradition; nor does it include the apparatus of variant readings, the Greek-Latin comparative apparatus, or the bilingual indexes of the printed version. The texts included are prepared and supervised by the Aristoteles Latinus Centre of the Catholic University of Leuven, and produced in collaboration with the CTLO. Coverage: Contemporary editions of medieval manuscripts.

The "Corpus de la littérature médiévale" (Corpus of Medieval French Literature) provides searchable, full text access to hundreds of authoritative editions of narrative prose, chanson de geste, poetry, and theatre in the langue d'oïl from the ninth century to the end of the 15th century.

The BCM has been established by the Centre d’Études Supérieures de Civilisation Médiévale (Université de Poitiers) and aims to provide a comprehensive, current bibliography of monographs, conference proceedings, essay collections, and Festschriften pertaining to the History and Civilization of the Middle Ages in the Western, Byzantine, and Islamic worlds. The BCM includes the bibliographic references from the Cahiers de civilisation médiévale [HOLLIS 000128835] and covers the years 1958 to the recent present. References pertain to all areas of the History, Language and Literature, Philosophy and Theology, Art History and Archaeology of the Middle Ages and are classified by date, subject and location. Important: the BCM is fully integrated in the International Medieval Bibliography.

This is a comprehensive bibliography of journal articles, essay collections and conference proceedings. Disciplines covered include Classics, English Language and Literature, History, Archaeology, Theology, Philosophy, Medieval European Languages and Literatures, Arabic and Islamic Studies, History of Education, Art History, Music, Theatre, Performance Arts, Rhetoric. Dates covered range from 400 to 1500 A.D., and geographic coverage includes Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa. The database allows users also to search the Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale, an index of over 40,000 books and 64,000 book reviews on medieval topics since 1957.

This finding aid to medieval manuscripts in microform in Harvard libraries, is designed to assist medievalists in locating microfilm-based literary and historical text to 1500 AD. Although bibliographic access to the collection is available through the HOLLIS Catalog, the contents of the large microform sets are not all fully cataloged and are therefore not listed. . Many have accompanying guides and indexes that are housed in the stacks under the same call number as the microform (e.g., Film A 142; Index Film A 142). This guide also lists some core reference tools (including calendars of charters in the Manuscript Collection of the British Museum and indexes of printed catalogs of Latin manuscripts at other institutions). Latin Dictionaries available in microform are also listed in this guide.