Classical Studies - Databases & Encyclopedia
- Concise Oxford Companion to Classical LiteratureIt gives accounts of the lives of many classical authors and character entries and plot summaries for their works. General entries trace the development of literary forms such as comedy and tragedy. There is also wide coverage of the historical, political, social, and artistic background.
- Corpus dei Manoscritti Copti Letterari (CMCL)Online database for the study of Egyptian Christian culture from the 1st to 12th century ACE and in particular, the study of Coptic literature. Includes information partly in English and partly in Italian, in either html or PDF format, on Coptic texts, grammar, the history of Coptic literature, catalogues of manuscripts, and a comprehensive bibliography for Coptic studies.
- DyabolaOnline access to the subject catalogs of publications on the history of art and classical archaeology. Dyabola also include the image resources Database of Attic Grave Reliefs, the Census of Antique Art and Architecture Known to the Renaissance and Corpus of Antique Monuments Known to Winckelmann. It includes the subject catalogs of the German Archaeological Institute in Rome (1956-2004), the Bibliography of Iberian Archaeology from the German Archaeological Institute in Madrid (1991-2002), and the Archaeology of Roman Provinces from RGK Frankfurt (1992-2004). Coverage: 1956-2006 for DAI; 1992-2004 for RGK; 1991-2002 for Madrid.
- Brill's New Pauly Supplements OnlineAn encyclopedia covering the ancient world from the prehistory of the Aegean to Late Antiquity including information on persons, places, institutions, events, artifacts, literature, technical terms, ideas, and concepts. This is the online version of both the German language Der Neue Pauly and the English language Brill's New Pauly.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient EgyptCovers ancient Egyptian civilization, from the predynastic era to its eclipse in the seventh century CE. Topics covered include art, architecture, religion, language, literature, trade, politics, everyday social life and the culture of the court.
- Oxford Scholarship Online: Classical StudiesFull-text online versions of scholarly texts in Classical Studies published by Oxford University Press, including the series Oxford Classical Monographs, Oxford Studies in Ancient Documents, Classical Presences, Classical Culture and Society, and American Philological Association Monograph Series.
- Perseus Project (Tufts University)It contains texts in Romanized Greek and English translation, the Intermediate Liddell-Scott Greek Lexicon, morphological analyses for all Greek texts in the database, catalog entries for more than 1400 vases, sculptures, coins, buildings, and sites, an atlas of Greece, and an historical survey. This Website provides a version of the Perseus database that complements the CD ROM version currently distributed by Yale University Press. The Perseus Project is a non-profit enterprise, headquartered at the Classics Department, Tufts University, and its Editor-in-Chief is Gregory Crane.
- Database of Latin DictionariesThe Database of Latin Dictionaries is linked to the Library of Latin Texts (CLCLT), permitting to search on a word in a dictionary within the DLD and to identify actual occurrences of the word within its context in the CLCLT and vice versa. The Database of Latin Dictionaries (DLD) provides access to a growing number of Latin dictionaries. The database will comprise three kinds of dictionaries: * Dictionaries to assist translation from Latin into modern languages (English, French, German, and other) * Dictionaries providing semantic and etymological explanations in Latin of Latin words * Historical Latin dictionaries.
- Dictionnaire des antiquités grecques et romains d'après les textes et les monumentsReproduction of the French dictionary of ancient Greece and Rome ed. by Charles Daremberg (1817-1872) and Edmond Saglio (1828-1911). Covers terms in areas of ancient Greek and Roman culture including government, religion, art, science, costume, travel, war, money, and weights and measures. The online version is a reproduction of Hachette Livre of Paris, 1877-1919.
- Oxford Classical Dictionary, 4th EditionThis electronic edition of the Oxford Classical Dictionary is based on the 4th edition, and includes increased representation in interdisciplinary fields such as anthropology, archaeology, literary theory, gender studies, and ancient sexuality. Many entries are followed by useful bibliographical references for further reading, and abundant cross-references
Latin and Greek texts databases
- Corpus Scriptorum Latinorum (CSL)The Corpus Scriptorum Latinorum (CSL) is a collaborative project among scholars from a variety of disciplines with the main purpose of creating a digital library of Latin literature, spanning from the earliest epigraphic remains to the Neo-Latinists of the eighteenth century. Toward this end, we maintain an up-to-date catalogue of all Latin texts that are currently available online, making CSL a single, centralized resource for locating Latin literature on the internet.
- Library of Ancient Texts OnlineThe Library of Ancient Texts Online aims to be the internet's most thorough catalogue of online copies of ancient Greek texts, both in Greek and in translation. It comprises sites as The Perseus Project at Tufts University, or Project Gutenberg. However, even these sites lack many texts. LATO helps to repair this situation by gathering a comprehensive set of links to those texts that are available free of charge.
- Patrologia Latina DatabaseThe Database covers the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Some figures included: Hilary, Ambrose, Jerome, Boethius, Isidore, Bede, Peter Damian, Bernard, Augustine, Peter Lombard, Peter Chrysologus and many others. The Patrologia Latina Database is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologiae Cursus Completus, Series Latina. The PLD contains all 221 volumes of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Series Latina, which includes the original 217 volumes (1844-1855) plus the later four volumes of indexes (1862-1865).
Although the text is primarily in Latin, the database has an English language search engine and help. A cross-search option allows users to find search terms in both the Patrologia Latina Database and the Acta Sanctorum Database. Also, Brill's edition of Jan Frederik Niermeyer's Mediae Latinitatis Lexicon Minus is available from the search page. Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina reference numbers are also included. Coverage: 200 AD - 1216 AD.
- Latin LibraryThis website includes a very large collection of Latin texts, including classical literature, legal and religious texts and a number of medieval works. According to the website, the texts come from a variety of public domain sources and a list of links to the provider of texts is given. No translations or other commentary is provided.
- The Internet Classic Archive (MIT)Select from a list of 441 works of classical literature by 59 different authors, including user-driven commentary and "reader's choice" Web sites. Mainly Greco-Roman works (some Chinese and Persian), all in English translation.
- Patrologiae GraecaeCollection of the writings of the church leaders who wrote in Greek, including both the Eastern "Fathers" and those Western Christians who wrote before the Latin takeover of the West in the third century. It includes writings of the Apostolic Fathers (Epistles of Clement, The Shepherd of Hermas), Eusebius, Origen, Basil the Great, Gregory of Nazianzus, Gregory of Nyssa. The electronic version of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologiae Graecae contains digitized page images of the 161 volumes of the first edition of his Patrologiae Cursus Completus, Series Graeca (Paris, 1857-1866).
The texts are generally interlaced, with one column of Greek and a corresponding column on the other side of the page that is the Latin translation. New and comprehensive tables of contents are part of the electronic version. Full-text searching is not yet available. Updated: ca. 100 AD - 1439 AD
- Theoi Classical E-Texts LibraryThe Theoi Classical E-Texts Library is a collection of works from ancient Greek and Roman literature in translation (mostly from Loeb). The theme of the library is classical mythology and so the selection presented consists primarily of ancient poetry (epic, lyric, bucolic, et. al.), drama and prose renditions of myth.
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG)Only partially accessible.
Special topic databases
- Corpus Inscriptiorionum Latinarium (CIL)The collection and edition of classical Latin inscriptions. Provides descriptive information regarding the CIL publication series and limited digital access to some of its inscriptions.
- Digital Pompei Database (University of Arkansas)The Digital Pompeii database aims to provide a comprehensive database of the evidence for visual art and material culture at Pompeii. Starting with Italian reference work Pompei: pitture e mosaici (PPM), scanning all of its plates and entering data for location, style, color, materials, workshop, etc., together with searchable descriptions of paintings and mosaics. The primary organization of the database is spatial, from the regio down to the wall, so that the database is searchable by space, as well as by theme, character, motif, etc.
- Corpus Inscriptionum Latinarum (CIL)The Corpus Inscriptionum Latinarum (CIL) is a comprehensive collection of ancient Latin inscriptions from all corners of the Roman Empire. Public and personal inscriptions throw light on all aspects of Roman life and history. The Corpus continues to be updated with new editions and supplements by the Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften.
- Digital Roman Forum (UCLA)From 1997 to 2003 the UCLA Cultural Virtual Reality Laboratory (CVR Lab) created a digital model of the Roman Forum as it appeared in late antiquity. The notional date of the model is June 21, 400 A.D
- Fasti OnlineA database of archaeological excavations since the year 2000 (Europe, Asia, North Africa)
- Homer Multi-Text Project (Center for Hellenic Studies)The Homer Multitext project, the first of its kind in Homeric studies, seeks to present the textual transmission of the Iliad and Odyssey in a historical framework. Such a framework is needed to account for the full reality of a complex medium of oral performance that underwent many changes over a long period of time. These changes, as reflected in the many texts of Homer, need to be understood in their many different historical contexts. The Homer Multitext provides ways to view these contexts both synchronically and diachronically.
- Lexicon of Greek Personal Names (LGPN) (Oxford)The Lexicon of Greek Personal Names (LGPN) was established to collect and publish all ancient Greek personal names, drawing on the full range of written sources from the 8th century B.C. down to the late Roman Empire.
- Virgil Encyclopedia"Welcome to the homepage for The Virgil Encyclopedia, the first comprehensive reference volume to be published in English on Publius Vergilius Maro, the classical Roman poet whose works and thoughts have been at the center of Western literary, cultural, artistic, and pedagogical traditions for more than two millennia. Through more than 2,200 carefully researched entries, scholars and students alike are provided with an in-depth treatment of all aspects of Virgil’s poetry and his immeasurable influence that continues to the present day."
- Orbis Latinus onlineLatin place names (edition Dr. J. G. Th. Graesse (1909))
Repositories for Classical Studies
- Propylaeum-DOK - Digital Repository Classical StudiesPropylaeum-DOK - Digital Repository Classical Studies is the full-text server of the Virtual Library of Classical Studies and is made available by the University Library of Heidelberg. It offers members of the academic community worldwide the opportunity to publish their texts in electronic format on the internet at no charge.
Bibliographies & Indices
- Annee PhilologiqueL'Année Philologique is an international annual index to research on all aspects of greco-roman antiquity, from prehistory to 800 AD. It indexes books, journal articles, dissertations, and conference proceedings covering a broad range of classical subjects, including language, literature, archaeology, history, law, philosophy, science, and technology. Users may search the online database by modern author, full text, ancient authors and texts, subjects and disciplines, title keywords, publisher, collection, and name of periodical. Searches may be combined, limited by year of publication or by a range of years, and by modern language (for French, English, German, Italian and Spanish). The database allows researchers to email and save marked records. Coverage: Prehistory to 800 A.D.
- DyabolaOnline access to the subject catalogs of publications on the history of art and classical archaeology. Dyabola also include the image resources Database of Attic Grave Reliefs, the Census of Antique Art and Architecture Known to the Renaissance and Corpus of Antique Monuments Known to Winckelmann.
- Gnomon OnlineGnomon is a limited online version of the bibliographic database for the Classics, Gnomon Bibliographische Datenbank (GBD).. With only about 15% of the GBD, Gnomon Online holds approximately 36,000 bibliographic references, including a thesaurus of names, places, themes, and other terms associated with the ancient world. Coverage focuses on bibliographic entries for research published after 2002; Gnomon Online includes previous records to 2002, but it is recommended to search the Gnomon CD-ROM for more complete information (not held by the Biblioteca Berenson).
- JSTOR Classical StudiesJSTOR (www.jstor.org) is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.