Information
Online (Harvard affiliates only)
Open access
Open accessMusic - General
- Oxford History of Western MusicMusicologist Richard Taruskin's account of the history of Western classical music. He contextualizes music of each stylistic period – key cultural, historical, social, economic, and scientific events. Chapters include links to selected articles from Grove Music Online.
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music OnlineEncyclopedic reference source for world music: 9,000 pages of material, 700 entries by expert contributors. Content includes audio examples, illustrations, photographs, and drawings, song texts and score examples, charts and maps of world regions.
- Emusicquest: The Music-in-Print Series OnlineEmusicquest: The Music-in-Print Series Online provides searchable databases listing currently available printed music in the categories of Secular Choral, Sacred Choral, Organ, Classical Vocal, Orchestral, String, Classical Guitar, Woodwind, Piano, Band (forthcoming), Brass (forthcoming), and Miscellaneous.
- Iter: Gateway to the Renaissance (U. Toronto)Including (among others): Iter Italicum, P.O. Kristeller's listing of uncataloged, or incompletely cataloged, humanistic manuscripts of the Renaissance, in Italian and other libraries around the world; the Iter Bibliography of more than 600,000 records for articles, essays, books and reviews; and a growing list of related databases.
- Guide to Medieval and Renaissance InstrumentsCollection of 32 tipical instruments with pictures and brief description. Instruments pictured are owned by Musica Antiqua, ensemble members, or Iowa State University.
- Lexicon musicum Latinum medii aeviWörterbuch der lateinischen Musikterminologie des Mittelalters bis zum Ausgang des 15. Jahrhunderts -- Dictionary of Medieval Latin Musical Terminology to the End of the 15th Century.
- Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology (DDM)This is an international database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines.
- Thesaurus musicarum italicarum (TmiWeb)"TmiWeb is the online version of Thesaurus musicarum italicarum, an electronic corpus of Italian music treatises from the Renaissance and early Baroque. It contains the works of two of Italy's most important authors on music theory, Pietro Aaron (c. 1480-c.1545) and Gioseffo Zarlino (1517-1590), as well as to a number of writings by their contemporaries. Nearly 30 works are online on TmiWeb in a full-text, searchable multimedial edition."
- Renaissance Liturgical Imprints: A Census (RELICS)The RELICS database is a Renaissance Liturgical Imprints Census. It contains liturgical titles printed in Europe between 1450 and 1600 and is designed for musicologists studying organ and choral music, art historians searching for named engravers and artists, general historians studying aristocratic patronage, scholars of poetry, and specialists in church history and early printed books. The records were created by the School of Music and are copyrighted by the University of Michigan Regents.
- Furnace and Fugue: Digital Edition of Michael Maier’s Atalanta fugiens 1619A Digital Edition of Michael Maier's Atalanta fugiens (1618) with Scholarly Commentary
- Marenzio Online Digital Edition (MODE)The Marenzio Online Digital Edition (MODE) is a critical edition of the secular music of Luca Marenzio (ca. 1553-1599), one of the most influential composers of the European Renaissance.
Full Text Databases
- Saggi musicali italianiThe database is designed to extend the Thesaurus Musicarum Latinarum and to continue the endeavor of capturing texts on music theory and aesthetics in electronic form. Saggi musicali italiani focuses on major treatises written in Italian.
- Thesaurus Musicarum LatinarumThe Thesaurus Musicarum Latinarum (TML) is an evolving database of the entire corpus of Latin music theory written during the Middle Ages and the Renaissance.
- Early Modern Songscapes"Use this resource to explore early modern English ayres—songs c. 1590–1660 featuring the clear expression of text. View editions featuring variant lyrics and musical notation; read scholarly essays about cultural context; and listen to audio recordings of historically informed performances."
- Tasso in Music ProjectDigital Edition of the Settings of Tasso’s Poetry, ca. 1570-1640.
Music manuscripts
History of Opera and Theatre
- Archivio Multimediale Attori Italiani (AMAtI)History of the Italian Theatre, from the origins to today. With entries on singers, dancers and interpreters.
- MCES - Fondazione Mantova Capitale Europea dello SpettacoloDatabase with bibliography and archival documentary on drama and theatre.
- Manos: a digital database of early modern Spanish theatrical manuscripts"Manos is a collaborative project, dedicated to analysis and dissemination of information about the treasure-trove of some 3,000 surviving manuscripts of Spanish classical theater."
- Rolecall: A Database of Characters in Early Modern European Theatre"Located at the intersection of theatre history, gender studies and Digital Humanities, ROLECALL is an open-access online database that charts the speech of characters in European theatre during the Early Modern period (16th and 17th centuries). Such an instrument allows scholars and students of Renaissance and Baroque drama to trace and compare different dynamics of protagonism on the early modern European stage."