- Database of Latin DictionariesThe Database of Latin Dictionaries (DLD) provides access to: Dictionaries to assist translation from Latin into modern languages, Dictionaries providing semantic and etymological explanations in Latin of Latin words, Historical Latin dictionaries. The Database of Latin Dictionaries is linked to the Library of Latin Texts (CLCLT), permitting to search on a word in a dictionary within the DLD and to identify actual occurrences of the word within its context in the CLCLT and vice versa.
- Glossarium mediæ et infimæ latinitatisLe Glossarium mediae et infimae latinitatis, initialement publié par Charles du Fresne, sieur du Cange (1610-1688), est un glossaire du latin médiéval, en latin moderne.
- LEXICON MEDIAE LATINITATIS"Mediae Latinitatis Lexicon Minus" by J.F. Niermeyer and C. van de Kieft(Leiden 1954-1976)
- LogeionGreek + Latin dictionary (University of Chicago)
- OED - SEE: Oxford English DictionaryThe online Oxford English Dictionary contains the complete A to Z sequence of the Second Edition, its three-volume Additions Series, and also draft material produced in the progress towards the Third Edition. The OED is an historical dictionary of English, covering the language from the earliest times to the present day. It aims to show not only the current meanings of words, but also to trace their development through time. Entries contain detailed etymological analysis and are illustrated by quotations from a wide range of English language sources from around the world, making the OED a unique historical record. The revised and new entries will be added to the online Dictionary every quarter, and these will eventually cumulate to form the complete new edition. You may search the full text, definitions, etymologies, and quotations.
- Merriam-Webster's Online DictionaryThis electronic edition of Merriam-Webster's Online Dictionary, included with Britannica Online, is a popular dictionary of English and has over 260,000 index terms in 73,415 documents.
- Middle English CompendiumThe Middle English Compendium has been designed to offer easy access to and interconnectivity between three major Middle English electronic resources: an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, and an associated network of electronic resources. The electronic MED contains the complete Middle English Dictionary, A-Z, corresponding to 115 fascicles of the print Dictionary, or about 14,940 pages. It contains 54,081 entries and 891,531 quotations, which have been linked to the corresponding entries in the HyperBibliography. Manuscript abbreviations and shelfmarks have been added to the stencils for these linked quotations.
- LEME - Lexicons of Early Modern English"LEME searches and displays word-entries from monolingual English dictionaries, bilingual lexicons, technical vocabularies, and other encyclopedic-lexical works, 1480-1755."
- Dizionario italiano multimediale e multilingue d'ortografia e di pronunzia (DOP)The Dizionario italiano multimediale e multilingue d'ortografia e di pronunzia (DOP) is a monolingual dictionary for the spelling and pronunciation of Italian.
- Vocabolario degli Accademici della CruscaContains the first Vocabolario dell'Accademia della Crusca (Venezia, 1612) and the first tecnical artistical dictionary Vocabolario Toscano dell'Arte del Disegno (Firenze, 1681).
- Dictionnaire de l’ancienne langue française, et de tous ses dialectes du IXe au XVe siècleThe Dictionary contains over 160,000 entries covering medieval French, describing words that modern French did not preserve, as well as those that are still in use, but whose meaning has changed in time. Accumulating examples from manuscripts and printed sources, Godefroy traces the history of words in the spoken language, the various popular idioms, dialects, as well as of names of people and places. Entries describe various orthographical spellings and include quotations from texts taken from the 11th to the 13th centuries, with translations into modern French, as well as bibliographical references.
- Dictionnaire de la langue française du seizième siècle, Edmond HuguetThe "Dictionnaire de la langue française du seizième siècle" by Edmond Huguet offers more than 100,000 entries, describing the near totality known words during the French Renaissance. To constitute the dictionary, Huguet traced the origin of words to the 15th century, using, among other, Godefroy's "Dictionnaire de l’ancienne langue française" as a reference. He further expanded coverage into the early 17th century, in order to provide an understanding of the development and history of 16th century French language. The dictionary provides dates of first appearance and examples for the new words originating in Latin and Italian that had an immense success during the 16th century and found their way into the spoken language. Each entry describes orthographical spellings of words over the centuries and provides a translation into modern French.
- Dictionnaires des XVIe et XVIIe sièclesThe database of "Dictionnaires des XVIe et XVIIe siècles" provides unified access to the "Dictionnaire françois-latin" by Robert Estienne (1503?-1559); the "Thresor de la langue francoyse, tant ancienne que moderne" by Jean Nicot (1530-1604); the "Dictionarie of the french and english tongues" by Randle Cotgrave (d. 1634?); the "Origines de la langue françoise" and the "Dictionaire etymologique, ov origines de la langue françoise" by Gilles Ménage (1613-1692); the "Dictionnaire françois" by Pierre Richelet (1626-1698); the "Dictionnaire universel" and the "Essais d’un dictionnaire universel" by Antoine Furetière (1619-1688); and the "Dictionnaire des arts et des sciences" by Thomas Corneille (1625-1709).
- Deutsches Wörterbuch von Jacob und Wilhelm Grimm im InternetStarted by the brothers Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm in 1838, the Grimm dictionary is generally considered the most extensive dictionary of the German language.