Rinascimento

Free access to full-texts on the history of science, compiled by more than 170 institutions worldwide.

A database on Leonardo da Vinci's technical drawings, compiled by the Biblioteca Leonardiana.

"The Archimedes Project aims to develop model interactive environments for scholarly research on the history of mechanics and engineering from antiquity to the Renaissance. It is designed to integrate research and knowledge dissemination in new ways and to serve as a proof-of-concept project for open digital libraries on topics in the history of science. The project is funded by the Digital Libraries Initiative Phase 2 program of the National Science Foundation and is a joint endeavor of the Department of the Classics at Harvard University and the Max Planck Institute for the History of Science (MPIWG) in Berlin, Germany. Numerous treatises on mechanics as well as other forms of documentation of mechanical knowledge and practices constitute the project corpus."

This project investigates the knowledge tradition that is interwoven with the history of one book: De sphaera of Johannes de Sacrobosco. (Max-Planck-Institute for the History of Science, Berlin)

History of Science texts database (MPIWG Berlin). Free access to full-texts on the history of science, compiled by more than 170 institutions worldwide.

In 1898, Gustav Hellmann published his anthology called Rara magnetica (1269-1599). With this collection, he aimed at making available some of the earliest, yet rare publications in the field of geomagnetism that predated William Gilbert's De magnete of 1600.

The Index of Medieval Medical Images in North America (IMMI) describes and illustrates the content of medieval texts and illuminations on medical topics from 6 North American libraries.

Anatomical plates from the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library. This collection features approximately 4500 full page plates and other significant illustrations of human anatomy selected from the Jason A. Hannah and Academy of Medicine collections in the history of medicine at the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library, University of Toronto.

"In the decades around 1600, the astrologers Simon Forman and Richard Napier produced one of the largest surviving sets of medical records in history. The Casebooks Project, a team of scholars at the University of Cambridge, has transformed this paper archive into a digital archive."