Skip to main content

Research Guide for Japanese Studies

The guide offers tools and resources for conducting research in Japanese studies.

From the Harvard Collection

Portrait of Onchi Koshiro by Sekine Junchiro, 1956 (HUAM202218)

Scholarly Forums

H-Japan Online discussion network for scholars on Japan

What's New

<Suspended service> JapanKnowledge: 0900-1300 on Sunday, 29th November, 2015 (Japan Time)                                  Questions:

Current Project: Japanese Art and Design digitization project

Announcement: The new Reciprocal Library Privileges program between the Harvard Library and the University of Tokyo Library in Japan. This program allows current ID holders from each university to use the other library's resources on site by simply presenting ID from their home institution. Questions: Kuniko Y. McVey

New acquisition

Japan showing missions of the A.B.M.U. = 大日本  Missionary Map of Japan on cotton cloth, created by Samuel Mann in 1904

1904 Samuel Mann Manuscript Missionary Map of Japan on cotton cloth - See more at:
1904 Samuel Mann Manuscript Missionary Map of Japan on cotton cloth - See more at:
1904 Samuel Mann Manuscript Missionary Map of Japan on cotton cloth - See more at:

Harvard Resources

HOLLIS+ ID A new discovery tool that allows you to search Books and Articles together, and more.

HOLLIS Classic Search using "phrase", call number, and non-Roman characters.

OASIS (Online Archival Search Information System) Finding aids for archival and manuscript collections.

VIA (Visual Information Access) A catalog to images owned by Harvard, does not include original characters.

A Directory to Photographs at Harvard

Harvard Art Museum Collections

A Selection of Web-Accessible Collections Including Yenching's Hedda Morrison photo collection.

Open Collections program Virtual collections of thematically linked material selected from numerous Harvard repositories.

Digital Access to Scholarship at Harvard (DASH) A central, open access repository for the scholarly output of faculty and the broader research community at Harvard.

Office for Scholarly Communication

metaLAB (at) Harvard

Harvard libraries

Harvard Library A gateway to library services including Inter Library Loan and Borrow Direct, Hours, Directory.

Mobile Web Application

Harvard Library Special Collections Request Account Log in

Imaging Services Offers reproduction services of Harvard materials.

Harvard-Yenching Library      Library admittance policy

Petzold Scrolls Collection
424 scrolls on Buddhism held by Yenching Library's are viewable.

Yenching Books in GBS Japanese books included in Google Book Search.

鶴見俊輔旧蔵書 "Unpacking My Library": Discovering Tsurumi Shunsuke's Books

Japanese prints The library holds a few hundreds sheets of the 19th century wood block prints.

HYL Facebook page

Harvard Law School Library

Digitized Scrolls from Japanese Manuscript collection 1158-1590

Joseph Berry Keanan Digital Collection Comprised of manuscript materials and photographs of the US prosecutor of the Japanese War Crimes Trial.

The Harvard Library Innovation Laboratory

Fine Arts Library

Etz-Trudell collection of hand-colored lantern slides of Japan

East Asian Art Resource guide by Nanni Deng

Film Research at Harvard  


This site aims to be your research navigator for Japanese studies. Although wide  and general in scope, sources are primarily in Japanese.

Your questions, suggestions, and feedback are most critical to make this tool useful.


Kuniko Yamada McVey  Librarian for the Japanese Collection                                         voice: 617-495-3395

Harvard-Yenching Library

Other guides on Japan

Research Guide for Modern Japanese History

Research Guide for Medieval Japan

Research guide: Modern Japanese History  for graduate seminar



Disaster of 3.11.2011

Hinagiku Created by the National Diet Library, aims to be a central entry point for records on the Tohoku earthquake and tsunami, and Fukushima nuclear accident on March 11, 2011 that have been recorded, collected, and archived by numerous organizations in Japan and worldwide.

Digital Archive of Japan's 2011 Disasters maintained by Reischauer Institute of Japanese Studies

NHK東日本大震災アーカイブス NHK archives its recordings on Tohoku Great Earthquake of 2011.

東北からの声 Voices from Tohoku Over 500 hours of interviews conducted by Sophia University students.

Save MLAK 博物館・美術館・図書館・文書館・公民館の震災被災・救援情報 Portal for Museum, Library, Archives, and Kominkan dealing with the aftermath of the Earthquake/Tsunami on March 11, 2011.

Japan, Social Movements after the Fukushima nuclear power plants crisis, March 11. 2011 Archived by National Library of Australia.

Japan’s 3.11 Earthquake, Tsunami, Atomic Meltdown Collection of some 100 articles published by The Asia-Pacific Journal.

Teaching 3.11 syllabi collection Compiled by the institute of Comparative Culture, Sophia University.