Reference Resources

JapanKnowledge + NR ID Main page

Some 40 reference books below are searchable at once, or individually.

   
 
百科
日本語
歴史
英語
ヨーロッパ言語
東アジア言語
用語・情報
人名・文化
科学
記事・コラム
叢書
JKBooks
   

Nippon Style: Visual database for Japanese Products

 

Dictionaries

Weblio 英和・和英辞典 including Kenkyusha dictionaries.

Denshi Jisho: Online Japanese Dictionary

Tangorin English-Japanese and Japanese-English dictionary.

Kotobank Search 99 dictionaries and encyclopedias at once.

Jim Breen's Online Japanese Dictionary Service

辞典横断検索 Metapedia Search 551 reference books at once.

日本辞典

固有名読み方検索

語源由来辞典 Japanese Etymological dictionary

古事類苑 Koji Ruien (1933). Digitized by Internet Archive.

古事類苑全文データベース Koji Ruien full-text database (Nichibunken) on-going project

電子くずし字字典 東京大学史料編纂所

古文書くずし字検索

Digital Dictionary of Buddhism 電子佛教辭典 ID
Edited by Charles Muller, the dictionary provides English definitions for Buddhist terms in a range of languages, including Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Pali, Sanskrit, and Tibetan, as well as pronunciations. It includes A Dictionary of Chinese Buddhist Terms : with Sanskrit and English equivalents and a Sanskrit-Pali index, compiled by William Edward Soothill and Lewis Hodous. 

Japanese Garden Dictionary

JAANUS: Online dictionary of Japanese Architecture and Art Historical Teminology Compiled by Dr. Mary Neighbour Parent

学術用語集 Online Scientific Terms, NII

Imperial household vocabulary 皇室用語集

漢字

漢字データベースプロジェクト

Unihan Radical-Stroke Index

SmartKanji.net: This site provides translations of all words written in kanji, as found in Japanese texts, according to various dictionaries.

Statistics/Surveys

Japanese Government Statistics portal 総務省統計データ

Historical Statistics of Japan (in English)

National Census 国勢調査

府県統計  Prefectural statistics from the Meiji period (1868-1911)

Bank of Japan Statistics 日本銀行 統計データ

Ministry of Finance Statistics 財務省統計資料
Statistics for the ast five years pertaining to the government budget, government bonds, trade, balance of payments, etc.

Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare Statistics 厚生労働統計一覧
Ministry-issued statistical data.

JETRO Trade and International Payments Statistics 日本の貿易・投資・国際収支統計
Trade, investment, and income and expenditure statistics.

Economic Statistics and Public Opinion Polls / Surveys 内閣府 統計情報・調査結果
Opinion polls and surveys are accessible at the bottom of the page under the heading その他.

NHK Broadcasting Culture Research Institute, NHK, 放送文化研究所
Survey results provided under 研究・調査. Poll results available under 一般世論調査. Polls and surveys were conducted by the institute over the past few years. Brief English-language summaries of some reports are available under "Surveys and Research Results" at http://www.nhk.or.jp/bunken/english/.

Data Archive, Social Science Japan
The Social Science Japan Data Archive (SSJDA) collects, maintains, and provides access to quantitative data from social surveys for the academic community. Data is provided in Japanese only, but there is an English version of the website with information on how to deposit and access data. The archive is maintained by a unit within the Information Center for Social Research on Japan, Institute of Social Science at the University of Tokyo.

Minryoku 民力CD-ROM 2000 : 1989-2009
Contains statistical data in the period of 1989 to 2009 for Japan’s population, economy, industry, construction, transportation, communication and culture, etc.

International Historical Statistics ID

Biography

【特集:著作権(基礎編)】著者の没年を探せ! by Tanaka Ryonosuke, from Biblos 67 (Jan. 2015). This article provides essential sources to search for information about authors, including date of birth and death.

Web NDL Authorities  国立国会図書館典拠データ検索・提供サービス