Book Search (and more)
FirstSearch ID Includes WorldCat, Ebooks and numerous other databases.
HathiTrust Digital Library ID Searchable digital content from over 50 institutions, totalling over 7.9 million volumes.
NDL-OPAC国立国会図書館蔵書検索 The National Diet Library's main search portal for its vast collection, including over 150,000 volumes of digital books.
NDL Search A search portal of National Diet Library, which aims to be an access point for multi-format materials in public libraries, archives, museums, academic research institutions and NDL.
e読書.jp Launched in April 2012, the site allows to search one million books in both print and digital.
国文学研究資料館古典籍総合目録 Union Catalog of Early Japanese Books including holdings of European and US libraries.
欧州所在日本古書総目録 Union Catalogue of Early Japanese Books in Europe.
全國漢籍データベース Union Catalog of Chinese Classic Books held in Japan.
日本漢文文献目録データベース Over 45,000 records and growing. Maintained by Nisho gakusha daigaku.
Dissertations and Theses
Japanese dissertations 博士論文 National Diet Library provides 14,000 dissertations in full-text online, and 140,000 bibliographic records of dissertations submitted 1991-2000.
「博士論文を探す」 How to find and access to Japanese dissertations.
ProQuest ID Full texts of dissertations and theses.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD) Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 600 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes over 1.6 million theses and dissertations.
New Books in East Asian Studies Interviews with authors, hosted by Carla Nappi at the University of British Columbia.
H-Net Japan Reviews Scholarly review of contents in multi-formats.
Contemporary Japanese Literature Book reviews of contemporary Japanese fiction in translation and occasional essays on anime, manga, and video games by Kathryn Hemmann.
松岡正剛の千夜一夜 1,500 book reviews by Matsuoka Seigo
情報工学 Passion for the Future Blog by 橋本大也
エキサイトレビュー Reviews of all medium including books, films, anime, manga, TV programs, games, and software applications.
Dissertation Review Offers non-critical reviews of recently defended, unpublished doctoral dissertations.
Digitized Books/Texts in Japanese
ウラ・アオゾラブンコ The site no longer exists, but Wayback Machine, provides easy navigation of Aozora Bunko.
慶応大学コレクション Some 80,000 volumes of books from Keiko University are digitized and viewable via HathiTrust.
日本近代文学（早稲田大学古典籍総合データベース） Keyword search"日本近代文学" brings some 900 titles
大系本文（日本古典文学）データベース 「日本古典文学大系」（岩波書店）と「噺本大系」（東京堂）全文データベース, registration required
新編日本古典文学全集 （小学館）Enter through Japan Knowledge site ID
東洋文庫 Enter through Japan Knowledge site ID
デジタルで読む福沢諭吉 55 titles of Fukuzawa's works in the first edition.
日本ペンクラブ電子文藝館 The Japan PEN Club Digital Library
Japanese Historical Text Initiative UC Berkeley
Japanese Text Initiative University of Virginia
Project MUSE ID
Open Library Includes 4000 titles E-Books from Aozora Bunko.
日本文学電子テキスト検索 Search all available Japanese literature in e-texts, created by ARC (Art Research Center), Ritsumeikan University
Rare Books 古典籍
龍谷大学電子図書館 370 titles including extensive Shin Buddhism texts and Nara ehon.
愛媛大学鈴鹿文庫 Extensive collection on Shinto and Japanese history books and manuscripts.
同志社大学 小室・沢辺紀念文庫 『往生要集』『海表異聞』など
京都府総合資料館 Rare Books data base. 200 titles including picture scrolls and prints.
Les Nara ehon de la BnF (Nara ehon of French National Library) 27 titles held by BnF are viewable.
Digitized manuscripts at British Library 13 titles of Nara ehon are viewable.
Ehon: The Artist and the Book in Japan From the Spencer Collection in New York Public Library.
東方學デジタル圖書 (京都大学人文研究所蔵中国古典籍のデジタル化 Digitized Chinese Classics)
Western Books on Japan, 16th-19th Century
Western Books on Japan, selected titles, more here.
Japan: an account, geographical and historical : from the earliest period at which the islands composing this empire were known to Europeans, down to the present time, and the expedition fitted out in the United States, etc. by Charles Mac Farlane, 1852.
Books on Japan in GBS In English, mostly published in the 19th and 20th centuries.