Specialized Sources for the History of Science

This section is in a very early stage of development

Besterman, T. 1971. Agriculture: A Bibliography of Bibliographies. Totowa, NJ: Rowman & Littlefield, 302 pp. Not at Harvard

Included in Besterman, T. 1965-66. A World Bibliography of Bibliographies and of Bibliographical Catalogues, Calendars, Abstracts, Digests, Indexes, and the Like. 5 v. 4th ed. Lausanne, Societas Bibliographica.

Dethloff, H. C. and W. R. Miller. 1989. A list of references for the history of the Farmers' Alliance and Populist Party. Rev. ed. Davis, Calif.: Agricultural History Center, University of California, Davis, 1989, 154 p.

Hammond, C. A. 1988. Selected bibliography of New England farm studies. Pp. 154-169 in The Farm, ed. by Peter Benes. (Dublin Seminar for New England Folklife: Annual Proceedings 1986). Boston, MA: Boston University.

Harvey, C. 1979. Agriculture of the American Indian: A Select Bibliography. (Bibliographies and Literature of Agriculture, no. 4) Washington, DC: Science and Education Administration, Technical Information Systems, Economics, Statistics, and Cooperatives Service, National Economics Division, 64 pp.

Herendeen, D. and W. C. Olsen. 1995. Primary United States historical literature of crop science, 1850-1949. Pp. 383-499 in The Literature of Crop Science. Ithaca: Cornell Unversity Press.

Hurt, R. D. & M. E. Hurt. 1994. The History of Agricultural Science and Technology: An International Annotated Bibliography. NY: Garland, 485 pp.

McDonald, P. and J. Lassoie, eds. 1996. The Literature of Forestry and Agroforestry. Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press, 445 pp.

Orsi, R. J. 1974. A list of references for the history of agriculture in California. Davis: Agricultural History Center, University of California, 141 p.

Pursell, C. W.& E. M. Rogers. 1966. A Preliminary List of References for the History of Agricultural Science and Technology in the United States. Davis, CA: Agricultural History Center, University of California-Davis, 46 pp.

Rossiter, M. W. 1980. A List of References for the History of Agricultural Science in America. Davis, CA: Agricultural History Center, University of California-Davis, 62 pp.

Whitehead, V. B. 1979. A List of References for the History of Agricultural Technology. Davis, CA: Agricultural History Center, University of California-Davis, 76 pp.

Agriculture: Bibliographies of Secondary Sources - Serial bibliographies and indexes to current publications

Annual list and brief review of articles in agrarian history, 1953- . In: Agricultural history review.

Bibliographia historiae rerum rusticarum internationalis, 1960-92. Budapest: Museum Rerum Rusticarum Hungariae Budapestini.

Bibliography of the history of agriculture and rural life. Unannotated citations arranged under broad categories with geographical and author indexes. Includes hunting and gathering, fisheries, forestry and literature on the processing of agricultural products.

This section is in a very early stage of development

Buttress, F. A. 1950. Agricultural Periodicals of the British Isles, 1681-1900, and their Location. Cambridge, University of Cambridge, School of Agriculture, 15 pp.

Dingley, P. 1992. Historic Books on Veterinary Science and Animal Husbandry: The Comben Collection in the Science Museum Library. London: Science Museum, 184 pp.

Experiment Station Record, 1889-1946. U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, 95 v. (2/yr.).

Monthly collection of abstracts of agricultural experiment station publications, arranged under general subjects, with name and subject indexes, 95 volumes. Subject index: 1889-1939, 7 v. (each of the 7 volumes covers several years). Agricultural experiment station publications are included in the Bibliography of Agriculture, 1943- .

Fusonie, A. M. 1975. Heritage of American Agriculture: A Bibliography of pre-1860 Imprints. USDA, National Agricultural Library (Library List no. 98), 71 pp.

List of books and pamphlets, agricultural societies and their transactions, and periodicals.

Herendeen, D. and W. C. Olsen. 1995. Primary United States historical literature of crop science, 1850-1949. Pp. 383-499 in The Literature of Crop Science. Ithaca: Cornell Unversity Press.

History of the American Seed and Nursery Industry and Their Trade Catalogs: Bibliography.

McDonald, P. and J. Lassoie, eds. 1996. The Literature of Forestry and Agroforestry. Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press, 445 pp.

Rogal, S. J. 1994. Agriculture in Britain and America, 1660-1820: An Annotated Bibliography of the Eighteenth-century Literature. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 266 pp.

Stuntz, S. C. 1941. List of the agricultural periodicals of the United States and Canada published during the century July 1810 to July 1910. (United States Department of agriculture. Miscellaneous publication no. 398) Washington, U. S. Govt. print. off., viii, 190 p.
Google Books – HathiTrust

Alphabetical title list. Gives title history of each periodical.

Thompson, S. J. and C. W. Hall. 1992. Primary historical literature, 1850-1950. Pp. 339-405 in: Literature of Agricultural Engineering. Carl W. Hall and Wallace C. Olsen, eds. Ithaca, NY: Cornell Univ. Press.

Citation analysis. Includes lists of important U. S. and foreign monographs, and trade and popular periodicals.

United States. Office of Experiment Stations. 1924. List of bulletins of the agricultural experiment stations in the United States from their establishment to the end of 1920. U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, Department Bulletin no. 1199.

By state, no index.

Supplemented by: List of bulletins of the agricultural experiment stations for the calender years .... U.S. Dept. of agriculture. Department Bulletin no. 1199.

Three issues:

• Supplement 1, 1921-1922, 1924
• Supplement 2, 1923-1924, 1926
• Supplement 3, 1925-1926, 1927

Washington State University. Veterinary History Collection. 1997. Five Centuries of Veterinary Medicine: A Short-title Catalog of the Washington State University Veterinary History Collection. Compiled by J. F. Smithcors & A. Smithcors. Pullman, WA: WSU Press, 145 pp.

Wimmel, B. and A. Geus, eds. 1981. Die tiermedizinischen Zeitschriften des 18. Jahrhunderts. (Indices naturwissenschaftlich-medizinischer Periodica bis 1850, Bd. 3) Stuttgart: Hiersemann, 200 pp.