Specialized Sources for the History of Science

Collea, B. A. & A. F. Aveni. 1978, 1982 (supplement). A Selected Bibliography on Native American Astronomy. Hamilton, NY: Colgate University, Dept. of Physics and Astronomy, 148, 29 pp. [Supplement not at Harvard]

DeVorkin, D. H. 1982. The History of Modern Astronomy and Astrophysics: A Selected, Annotated Bibliography. NY: Garland, 434 pp. [From the introduction of the telescope, circa 1600, with emphasis on the 19th and 20th centuries]

Fisher, H. A. 1970. The History of Astronomy and Observatories in South Africa with special reference to the Royal Observatory, Cape of Good Hope: A Bibliography. Cape Town: University of Cape Town Libraries (School of Librarianship Bibliographical Series), 43 pp.

Ho, Peng Yoke. 1977. Modern Scholarship on the History of Chinese Astronomy. Canberra: Faculty of Asian Studies (Occasional paper 16), Australian National University, 66 pp.

International Galilean Bibliography (1965 - )

Continues:
Gentili, E. 1966. Bibliografia Galileiana: fra i due centenari, 1942-1964. (Hildephonsiana, 8) Varese: La Scuola Cattolica, 131 pp.

"Bibliografia Galileiana, 1940-1964; being the second supplement to the original Carli-Favaro Bibliografia Galileiana": pp. i -lxxxii (3d group). In: Galileo, man of science, ed. by E. McMullin. NY:Basic Books, 1968, 455, cii, pp

Boffito, G. 1943. Bibliografia galileiana, 1896-1940. (Indici e cataloghi - Ministero della educazione nazionale, 18) Roma: Libreria dello stato, 310 pp.

Carli, A. and A. Favaro. 1896. Bibliografia galileiana (1568-1895). Firenze, Roma: Tipografia dei Fratelli Bencini, 402 pp. Reprint, Mansfield, CT : Martino Fine Books.

Luther, P. 1989. Bibliography of Astronomers. Books and Pamphlets in English by and about Astronomers. V. 1. The Spirit of the Nineteenth Century. Bernardston: MA: Astronomy Books, 208 pp.

North, J. D. 1995. The Norton History of Astronomy and Cosmology. NY: Norton, 697 pp. [Published in England as The Fontana History of Astronomy and Cosmology].

Bibliographical essay covering primary and secondary literature, pp. 624-658.

Stevens-Rayburn, S. 1983. The History of Radio Astronomy: A Bibliography: 1898-1983. Green Bank, WV: National Radio Astronomy Observatory, [79] pp.

Wattenberg, D. 1969, 1975. Forschungen und Publikationen zur Geschichte der Astronomie in der Deutchen Demokratischen Republik. (Veröffentlichungen der Archenhold-Sternwarte 2-3) Berlin-Treptow: Archenhold-Sternwarte. [v. 1: Eine Bibliographie, 1949-1969; v. 2: Eine Bibliographie, 1970-1974]

Serial Bibliographies

Freitag, R. 1998. Recent publications relating to the history of astronomy. In: Journal of Astronomical History and Heritage, vol. 1- .

 

Bosanquet, E. F. 1917. English Printed Almanacks and Prognostications: A Bibliographical History to the Year 1600. London: Bibliographical Society (Illustrated Monographs, no. 17), 204 pp. Corrigenda and Addenda, The Library, 4th ser., 8(4): 456-477, 1928; The Library, 4th ser., 18(1): 39-66, 1937.

Brown, B. J. W. 1932. Astronomical Atlases, Maps, and Charts: An Historical and General Guide. London: Search, 200 pp.

Brüning, V. F. 2000. Bibliographie der Kometenliteratur. Stuttgart: A. Hiersemann, 674 pp.

Carmody, F. J. 1956. Arabic Astronomical and Astrological Sciences in Latin Translation: A Critical Bibliography. Berkeley, CA: University of California Press, 193 pp.

Each Arabic work has brief notes on its contents and significance, each transalation indicates the manuscript(s) used. Indexes of incipis and of proper names and technical topics.

Castro Soler, J. 1990- . Bibliographia astronomica et geodaetica hispanica, 1795-1905. Valencia: Instituto de Estudios Documentales e Historicos sobre la Ciencia, Universidad de Valencia, (Cuadernos valencianos de historia de la medicina y de la ciencia, Serie C, Repertorios bio-bibliograficos 34) [V. 1. Introducción, Inventorio A-Z (1990)] Not at Harvard

Catalog of the [U.S.] Naval Observatory Library. 6 v. or 6 microfilm reels. Boston: G. K. Hall, 1976.

Drake, M. 1962. Almanacs of the United States. 2 v. NY: Scarecrow.

Grassi, G. 1989. Union Catalogue of Printed Books of 15th, 16th and 17th Centuries in European Astronomical Observatories. 2nd ed. Manziana, Rome: Vecchiarelli, 1040 pp.

Hamel, J. 1987. Zentralkatalog alter astronomische Drucke in den Bibliotheken der DDR (bis 1700). Berlin-Treptow: Archenhold-Sternwarte (Veroffentlichungen der Archenwold-Sternwarte Berlin-Treptow no. 16) 96 pp.

History of Astronomy Rare Book Collection. Chicago: Adler Planetarium and Astronomical Museum, 1993, 149 pp. Not at Harvard​

International Astronomical Union. 1970. Bibliography of Astronomy 1881-1898. Buckinghamshire: University Microfilms, 18 reels. [With Sykes J. B. 1970. Guide to the Bibliography of Astronomy 1881-1898, 16 pp.]

Kemp, D. A. 1970. Astronomy and Astrophysics: A Bibliographical Guide. London: Macdonald Technical and Scientific, 584 pp. [Literature of 1950-1968]

Kenney, L. A. 1988. Catalogue of the Rare Astronomical Books in the San Diego State University Library. San Diego: Friends of the Malcolm A. Love Library, 335 pp.

King, D. A. 1983. Mathematical Astronomy in Medieval Yemen: A Biobibliographical Survey. (American Research Center in Egypt Catalog v. 4) Malibu, CA: Undena Publications, 98 pp.

Koeman, I. C. 1967-85. Atlantes Neerlandici: Bibliography of Terrestrial, Maritime and Celestial Atlases and Pilot Books, Published in the Netherlands up to 1880. 6 v. (incl. suppl.). Amsterdam.​

Luther, P. 1989. Bibliography of Astronomers. Books and Pamphlets in English by and about Astronomers. V. 1. The Spirit of the Nineteenth Century. Bernardston: MA: Astronomy Books, 208 pp.

North, J. D. 1995. The Norton History of Astronomy and Cosmology. NY: Norton, 697 pp. [Published in England as The Fontana History of Astronomy and Cosmology].

Bibliographical essay covering primary and secondary literature, pp. 624-658.

Rosinska, G. 1984. Scientific Writings and Astronomical Tables in Cracow: A Census of Manuscript Sources (XIVth-XVIth centuries). (Studia Copernicana, 22) Wroclaw: Ossolineum, Polish Academy of Sciences Press, 561 pp., 44 pp. of plates.

Seal, R. A. & S. S. Martin. 1982. Bibliography of Astronomy, 1970-1979. Littleton, CO: Libraries Unlimited/Hamden, CT: Archon, 407 pp.

Sen, S. N. & S. Chatterjee. 1992, 1993. A bibliography of physics, astronomy astrophysics, and geophysics in India, 1800-1950. Part I: Introduction. Part II: Bibliography. Part III: Author index. Indian Journal of History of Science 27: S1-S77; 28: S79-S219, S221-S501.

Smyth, M. F. I. & M. J. Smyth, eds. 1977. Supplement to the Catalogue of the Crawford Library of the Royal Observatory Edinburgh. Edinburgh: Royal Observatory, 112 pp.

Zinner, E. 1964. Geschichte und Bibliographie der astronomischen Literatur in Deutschland zur Zeit der Renaissance. Leipzig: Hiersemann, 480 pp.

Reprint of 1941 edition with supplement containing 622 new items.