Specialized Sources for the History of Science

Beinart, W. 2000. African history and environmental history. African Affairs, v. 99, no. 395, pp. 269-302.

Bowler, P. J. 1993. The Norton History of the Environmental Sciences. NY: Norton, 634 pp. [Published in England as The Fontana History of the Environmental Sciences]

Bibliographical essay covering primary and secondary literature.

Reprinted as The Earth Encompassed: A History of the Environmental Sciences, Norton, 2000, 634 pp.

Cronon, William. 1983. Changes in the land: Indians, colonists, and the ecology of New England. 1st ed. New York: Hill and Wang. [Good bibliographical essay at end]

Egerton, F. N. 1977. A bibliographical guide to the history of general ecology and population ecology. History of Science, v. 15, pp. 189-215.

Egerton, F. N. 1983, 1985. The history of ecology: Achievements and opportunities. Journal of the History of Biology, v. 16, pp. 259-310; v. 18, pp. 103-143.

Environmental History Bibliography (European Society for Environmental History), 1993- .

Environmental History Bibliography

Selected new entries are printed as Biblioscope: An Archival Guide and Bibliography, an annotated list of selected new books, articles, and theses, published in Environmental History, (1996- ) which continues Forest and Conservation History (1990-95).

Print version of earlier entries:
Fahl, R. J. 1977. North American Forest and Conservation History: A Bibliography. Santa Barbara, CA: A.B.C.-Clio Press for the Forest History Society, 408 pp.

Graham, O. L. 2000. Again the backward region? Environmental history in and of the American South. Southern Cultures, v. 6, no. 2, pp. 50-72.

Hooke, J. M. and R. J. P. Kain. 1982. Historical change in the physical landscape: A guide to sources and techniques. London: Butterworth Scientific, 236 pp.

Online Bibliography for Environmental History of Latin America

Scheese, D. 1996. Nature Writing: The Pastoral Impulse in America. NY: Twayne Publishers; London: Prentice Hall International, 227 pp.

Bibliographic essay, pp. 137-166.

Stewart, M. A. 1998. Environmental history: Profile of a developing field. The History Teacher, v. 31, no. 3, pp. 351-368. [Review article]

Stine, J. K. and J. A. Tarr. 1998. At the intersection of histories: Technology and the environment. Technology and Culture, v. 39, pp. 601-640. [Review article]

Bibliography of Native North Americans contains citations to works published from the 16th century to the present, including monographs, essays, journal articles, US and Canadian government documents and other publications

 Elbers, J. S. 1991. Changing Wilderness Values, 1930-1990: An Annotated Bibliography. NY: Greenwood Press, 138 pp.

Frankena, F. & J. K. Frankena. 1988. Citizen Participation in Environmental Affairs, 1970-1986: A Bibliography. NY: AMS Press, 154 pp.

Hone, E. Wade. 1997. Land & property research in the United States. Salt Lake City, Utah: Ancestry, 517 p.
Widener | WID-LC | CS49 .H66 1997

Jaehn, T. 1990. The Environment in the Twentieth-century American West: A Bibliography. (Occasional papers, no. 2). Albuquerque, NM: Center for the American West, Dept. of History, University of New Mexico, 71 lvs.

Murphy , P. D., T. Gifford, and K. Yamazato, eds. 1998. Literature of Nature: An International Sourcebook. Chicago, IL: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 490 pp.

Review articles on national literatures worldwide with references especially to primary sources.

Owings, L. C. 1976. Environmental Values, 1860-1972: A Guide to Information Sources. Detroit: Gale Research Co., 324 pp.

Annotated references on travel literature, landscape painting, conservation, nature writing, nature study, camping/outdoor life, and the Back to Nature movement.

Renner, F. G. 1938. A Selected Bibliography on Management of Western Ranges, Livestock, and Wildlife. U. S. Dept. of Agriculture. Miscellaneous Publication, no. 281, 468 pp.

Continued by: Vallentine, J. F., ed. 1978. U.S.-Canadian Range Management, 1935-1977: A Selected Bibliography on Ranges, Pastures, Wildlife, Livestock, and Ranching. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 337 pp.

Vallentine, J. F., ed. 1981. U.S.-Canadian Range Management, 1978-1980: A Selected Bibliography on Ranges, Pastures, Wildlife, Livestock, and Ranching. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 166 pp.

Rogers, D. J. 1979. A Bibliography of African Ecology: A Geographically and Topically Classified List of Books and Articles. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 499 pp.

Bulk is from the 1960s-1970s but covers the earlier literature.

Stine, Jeffrey K. & Michael C. Robinson. 1984. The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers and environmental issues in the twentieth century : a bibliography. Washington, DC: Historical Division, Office of Administrative Services, Office of the Chief of Engineers, 110 pp.

Wagner, H. R. & L. L. Camp. 1982. The Plains and the Rockies: A Critical Bibliography of Exploration, Adventure and Travel. in the American West, 1800-1865. 4th ed. San Francisco: John Howell, 745 pp.

Wilkinson, C. F. 1989. The American West: A narrative bibliography and a study of regionalism. Niwet, CO: University Press of Colorado, 144 pp.

Ogden, G. R. 1976. The United States Forest Service: A Historical Bibliography, 1876-1972. Davis: Agricultural History Center, University of California, Davis, 439 pp.

A bibliography of national parks and monuments west of the Mississippi River. Compiled at the Western Museum Laboratories of the National Park Service with assistance provided by the Work Projects Administration and the Civilian Conservation Corps. Washington, 1941. 2 v.

Beacham, W. 1993. Beacham's guide to environmental issues & sources. Washington, DC: Beacham Pub., 5 v.
--Elaborate annotated bibliography of largely 1980s-1991 books and articles. Classified arrangement with cumulative index.

Bercaw, L. O. and A. M. Hannay. 1938. Bibliography of Land Utilization, 1918-1936. United States. Department of Agriculture, Miscellaneous publication no. 284, 1508 pp.
-- selected references on economic aspects of land utilization and land policy in the US and worldwide, largely published 1918-36.

Bercaw, L. O., E. M. Colvin, and A. M. Hannay. 1934. Bibliography on land settlement: with particular reference to small holdings and subsistence homesteads. United States Department of Agriculture, Miscellaneous publication, no. 172, 492 pp.
--References on agricultural land settlement in the US and worldwide, especially subsistence homesteads, small holdings, and land settlement as relief for unemployment, although many references to publications on the general subject of land settlement have been included.

Conzen, M. P., T. A. Rumney and G. Wynn. 1993. A Scholar's Guide to Geographical Writing on the American and Canadian Past. University of Chicago Geography Research Paper no. 235, 741 pp.

Eagle, S., and J. Deschamps, eds. 1997. Information sources in environmental protection. New Jersey: Bowker-Saur, 280 pp.

The Evolution of the Conservation Movement, 1850-1920. Additional Resources in the Library of Congress. American Memory:
Bibliographies on:

--1.Scenic and Wilderness Travel Literature
--2.The Nature Essay
--3.Popular Ornithology
--4.Sportsmen and Conservationism
--5.State-Level Fish and Game Conservation Measures
--6.Arbor and Bird Day Observance
--7.Nature and Wilderness as Recreational Resources
--8.Hetch Hetchy
--9.State-Level Conservation Initiatives Following the Governors' Conference of 1908
--10.Juvenile Nature Literature and Nature Pedagogy

Jansma, P. E. 1993. Reading about the environment: an introductory guide. Englewood, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, 252 pp.

Jolma, D. J. 1994. Attitudes toward the Outdoors: An Annotated Bibliography of U.S. Survey and Poll Research Concerning the Environment, Wildlife, and Recreation. Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 269 pp.

McDonald, P. 1994. The Literature of Soil Science. Ithaca: Cornell University Press, 448 p.

Meyer, H. H. B. 1912. Select List of References on the Conservation of Natural Resources in the United States. Washington, DC: Library of Congress. Division of Bibliography, 110 pp.
--About 600 references (books and articles), topically organized with subject and author indexes.

Muir, R. 2004. Landscape encyclopaedia: a reference guide to the historic landscape. Bollington: Windgather, 297 p.
--Alphabetically arranged essays (paragraph-2 pp.) on British landscape terms with references.

Netzley, P. D. 1999. Environmental Literature: an encyclopedia of works, authors, and themes. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 337 pp.

Nordquist, J. 1993. Radical Ecological Theory: A Bibliography. (Social Theory, no. 30). Santa Cruz, CA: Reference and Research Services, 71 pp.

Sargent, Frederick. 1983. Human ecology: a guide to information sources. Detroit, MI: Gale Research Co., 293 pp.

Terrible, R. S. 2000. CPL bibliography 358: An annotated bibliography of literature concerning children and their knowledge of the environment. Journal of Planning Literature, v. 14, no. 3, pp. 489-498.

Weiskel, T. C. and R. A. Gray. 1990. The anthropology of environmental decline: historical aspects of anthrogenic ecological degradation. RSR: Reference Services Review, v. 18, no. 2, pp. 7-26; no. 3, pp. 7-36; no. 4, pp. 7-33+

West, T. L. and D. E. Supernowicz. 1993. Forest Service Centennial History Bibliography, 1891-1991. Washington, DC: U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, Forest Service, History Unit, Public Affairs Office, 59 pp.

Wolfe, R. I. 1964. Perspective on Outdoor Recreation: A Bibliographical Survey. Geographical review, vol. 54, no. 2, pp. 203-238.