Nursing Contents
Secondary Sources, Context, and Background
- Reference Sources: Chronologies, Dictionaries, Directories, Encyclopedias, Handbooks
- Biographical Sources
Chronologies, Dictionaries, Directories, Encyclopedias, Handbooks
Snodgrass, M. E. 1999. Historical Encyclopedia of Nursing. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 354 pp.
--63 articles on topics and persons. Bibliographies, which include web sites, accompany each article. Timeline of landmarks in nursing, pp. 297-310.
Bullough, V. L. et al. 1988, 1992. American Nursing: A Biographical Dictionary. 2 v. NY: Garland.
Kaufman, M. et al., eds. 1988. Dictionary of American Nursing Biography. NY: Greenwood Press, 462 pp.
Primary Sources
CINAHL Plus with Full Text(EBSCO) covers nursing & allied health journals.
Cumulative index to nursing & allied health literature [title varies], 1956- . Includes book reviews through 1984 only.
LOCATION: Countway Medicine: Ref.21 ZWY 100 C8 (missing 1981)
Nursing studies index, 1900-1959. 4 v.
Countway Medicine | Ref.21 | ZWY 100 Y16n
Nursing History Centers, Museums and Archives (American Association of the History of Nursing)
Guide to Archival Sources in Nursing. West Long Branch, N.J. (446 Monmouth Rd., West Long Branch 07764):Interagency Council on Library Resources for Nursing, 1989, 17 p. 2nd ed. in prep.
Hall, L. A. 1996. Nurses in the archives: Archival sources for nursing history. Pp. 259-273 in Nursing History and the Politics of Welfare. London; NY: Routledge.
Rockefeller Archive Center. 1981. A Survey of Manuscript Sources for the History of Nursing and Nursing Education at the Rockefeller Archive Center. North Tarrytown, NY: The Center, 52 pp.
Weinberg, D. M., ed. 1990. A Guide to Nursing Sources in the Research Libraries Information Network's (RLIN) Archival and Manuscripts Control (AMC) Format: Along with a Listing of Manuscript Collections at the Center for the Study of the History of Nursing, School of Nursing, University of Pennsylvania. Philadelphia, PA: Center for the Study of the History of Nursing, School of Nursing, University of Pennsylvania, 75 pp.
Bibliographies of Books and Articles
Beyond Cherry Ames lists juvenile fiction series with nurses as characters, nurse fictional detectives, and nurses in comic books.
Thompson, A. M. C. 1968. A bibliography of nursing literature 1859-1960, with an historical introduction. London, Library Association for the Royal College of Nursing and National Council of Nurses of the United Kingdom in association with King Edward's Hospital Fund for London, 132 p.
Continued by: --A bibliography of nursing literature, 1961-1970, by A. M. C. Thompson, 223 p.
--A bibliography of nursing literature: the holdings of the Royal College of Nursing, 1971-1975, by Frances Walsh, 256 p.
--A bibliography of nursing literature: the holdings of the Royal College of Nursing, 1976-1980, by Frances Walsh, 405 p.