Human/Social Sciences Secondary Source Bibliographies

This section is in a very early stage of development

Human Sciences (General)

Duden, B. 1989. Bibliography. Pp. 474-578 in Part 3 (Zone 5) of Fragments for a History of the Human Body, ed. by M. Feher, R. Naddaff and N. Tazi. 3 v. (Zone, 3-5) NY: Zone.

Indexed bibliography of cultural aspects of the body.

Duden, B. 1990. Body history: a repertory = Korpergeschichte: ein Repertorium. (Reihe Tandem, Bd. 1). Wolfenbuttel: Tandem, 320 pp.

Bibliography, some entries annotated, on the cultural history of the body. Subject index. Augmented version of her Bibliography, p. 474-578 in Part 3 (Zone 5) of Fragments for a History of the Human Body, ed. by M. Feher, R. Naddaff and N. Tazi. 3 v. (Zone, 3-5) NY: Zone, 1989.

History of Race in Science

Includes bibliographies.

Smith, R. 1997. The Norton History of the Human Sciences. NY: Norton, 1036 pp. Published in England as The Fontana History of the Human Sciences.

Bibliographical essay covering primary and secondary literature, pp. 903-1008.

Wilson, L. N. 1897-1911. Bibliography of child study. 13 v. Worcester, MA: Clark University Press. (Publications of the Clark University Library, v. 1, no. 2, 4, 7; v. 2, no. 2, 5, 6: for 1902-1910/11) (U.S. Bureau of Education Bulletin; 1911, no. 11 (for 1908-1909); 1912, no. 26 (for 1910-1911)).

Gender Studies, Sexuality: Guides to Sources

American Women's History: A Research Guide: Sexuality

Davis, A. B. 1974. Bibliography on Women: with Special Emphasis on their Roles in Science and Society. NY: Science History Publications, 50 pp.

Primary and secondary literature, mainly books, some articles.

Hubbard, R., M. S. Henifin, and B. Fried, eds. 1982. Biological Woman-the Convenient Myth: A Collection of Feminist Essays and a Comprehensive Bibliography. Cambridge, MA: Schenkman Pub. Co., 376 pp.
--Bibliography: Women, Science, and Health, by M. S. Henifin and J. C. Amatniek, pp. 288-376. Largely secondary and recent primary works but with some 19th-early 20th century primary material.

Jacobs, S.-E. 1974. Women in Perspective: A Guide for Cross-Cultural Studies. Urbana, University of Illinois Press, 299 pp.

Sahli, N. A. 1984. Women and Sexuality in America: A Bibliography. Boston, MA: G.K. Hall, 404 pp.

19th - 20th century coverage. Annotated book citations, unannotated journal article citations. Grouped under general topics with author/title and subject indexes. Includes medical, scientific, psychoanalytic, sociological, and popular prescriptive works.

Psychology

Gay, P. 1988. Freud: A Life for our Time. NY: Norton, 810 pp.

Bibliographical essay, pp. 741-779.

Kiell, N. 1965. Psychiatry and Psychology in the Visual Arts and Aesthetics: A Bibliography. Madison, WI: University of Wisconsin Press, 250 pp.

Kiell, N., ed. 1982. Psychoanalysis, Psychology, and Literature, A Bibliography. 2nd ed. 2 v. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press.

Saliba, J. A. 1987. Psychiatry and the Cults: An Annotated Bibliography. NY: Garland, 601 pp.

English-language books and journal articles, late 19th century-1985.

Schuling, H., ed. 1967. Bibliographie der psychologischen Literatur des 16. Jahrhunderts. (Studien und Materialien zur Geschichte der Philosophie, Bd. 4) Hildesheim: G. Olms, 301 pp.

Subject index, bibliography of secondary literature, pp. 276-286.

Watson, R. I., ed. 1974-76. Eminent contributors to psychology. 2. v. NY: Springer Pub. Co.

Vol. 1. A bibliography of primary references; v. 2. A bibliography of secondary references.

Pseudo-Sciences

Servier, J., ed. 1998. Dictionnaire critique de l'ésotérisme. Paris: Presses universitaires de France, 1449 pp.

Articles contain detailed citations to primary literature and have bibliographies of secondary sourcves. List of articles under major topics, and indexes of names, of gods, heros, and "abstractions divinisees", and of subjects.

Human/Social Sciences Primary Source Bibliographies

This section is in a very early stage of development

Human Sciences

Bibliography of Social Science Periodicals and Monograph Series: Soviet Zone of Germany, 1948-1963. (Foreign Social Science Bibliographies. Series P-92, no. 21) Washington, DC: U. S. Bureau of the Census, 1965, 190 pp.

Smith, R. 1997. The Norton History of the Human Sciences. NY: Norton, 1036 pp. Published in England as The Fontana History of the Human Sciences.

Bibliographical essay covering primary and secondary literature, pp. 903-1008.

Wilson, L. N. 1897-1911. Bibliography of child study. 13 v. Worcester, MA: Clark University Press. (Publications of the Clark University Library, v. 1, no. 2, 4, 7; v. 2, no. 2, 5, 6: for 1902-1910/11) (U.S. Bureau of Education Bulletin; 1911, no. 11 (for 1908-1909); 1912, no. 26 (for 1910-1911)).

Eugenics

Holmes, S. J. 1924. A Bibliography of Eugenics. University of California Publications in Zoology, v. 25, 514 pp.

Continued by:
Bibliographia eugenica, 1927-1934. 2 v. Cold Spring Harbor, Long Island, NY.

Anthropology

Bonnerjea, B. 1963. Index to Bulletins 1-100 of the Bureau of American Ethnology: with Index to Contributions to North American Ethnology, Introductions, and Miscellaneous Publications. Bureau of American Ethnology Bulletin 178, 726 p.

Krogman, W. M. 1941. A Bibliography of Human Morphology, 1914-1939. (University of Chicago Publications in Anthropology. Physical Anthropology Series). Chicago, IL, The University of Chicago Press, 385 pp.

List of publications of the Bureau of American Ethnology: with index to authors and titles. (Bulletin, Bureau of American Ethnology, 200) Washington, DC: Smithsonian Institution Press, 1971, 134 pp.

Digital Edition. Washington, DC: Smithsonian Institution Libraries, 1997

Anthropological literature, 19th century- .

Covers articles (over 2 pages in length) in English and the Germanic, Romance, Scandinavian and Slavic languages in over 1000 publications. Indexes periodicals and edited works. The online version omits the book reviews; see the print version for these.

Electronic version includes:

Author and subject catalogues of the Tozzer Library [microform] 2nd enl. ed. 1122 fiche in 8 binders v. 1-4. Author/title -- v. 5-8. Subject.

British & Irish archaeological bibliography (1695- ) includes literature from several previous print bibliographies.

Archaologische Bibliographie, 1932-1993.

Previously titled: Bibliographie zum Jahrbuch des Deutschen Archaologischen Instituts, 1913-1931.

Classified list of books, book reviews, and periodical articles published worldwide. Material for 1956 to date (excluding early Christian and ancient Near Eastern archaeology).

An anthropological bibliography of South Asia, together with a directory of recent anthropological field work, by Elizabeth von Fürer-Haimendorf, Paris, Mouton, 1958-1970, 3 vol.
HOLLIS Record

Continued by: 
An anthropological bibliography of South Asia, by Helen A. Kanitkar. The Hague : Mouton, 1976-
HOLLIS Record

Food and Nutrition

Brogdon, J. and W. C. Olsen. 1995. The Contemporary and Historical Literature of Food Science and Human Nutrition. Ithaca, NY: Cornell Universty Press, 296 pp.

Gender Studies, Sexuality

American Women's History: A Research Guide: Sexuality

Catalog of periodical literature in the social and behavioral sciences section, Library of the Institute for Sex Research, Indiana University: including supplement to monographs, 1973-1975. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1976.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC HQ21.Z99 I52x 1973 F Library has: 4 v.

Strongest on literature of the 1950s-1960s but with many earlier citations.

Davis, A. B. 1974. Bibliography on Women: with Special Emphasis on their Roles in Science and Society. NY: Science History Publications, 50 pp.

Primary and secondary literature, mainly books, some articles.

Defining Gender Online: Five Centuries of Advice Literature for Men and Women (1450-1910).

Hubbard, R., M. S. Henifin, and B. Fried, eds. 1982. Biological Woman-the Convenient Myth: A Collection of Feminist Essays and a Comprehensive Bibliography. Cambridge, MA: Schenkman Pub. Co., 376 pp.
--Bibliography: Women, Science, and Health, by M. S. Henifin and J. C. Amatniek, pp. 288-376. Largely secondary and recent primary works but with some 19th-early 20th century primary material.

Huls, M. E. 1993. United States Government Documents on Women, 1800-1990: A Comprehensive Bibliography. Vol. 1, Social Issues. Westport, CT: Greenwood.

Chapters include: "Health," "Fertility and Maternity," "Federal Maternal Health Programs," and "Birth Control and Abortion.

Jacobs, S.-E. 1974. Women in Perspective: A Guide for Cross-Cultural Studies. Urbana, University of Illinois Press, 299 pp.

Sahli, N. A. 1984. Women and sexuality in America: A Bibliography. Boston, MA: G.K. Hall, 404 pp.

19th - 20th century coverage. Annotated book citations, unannotated journal article citations. Grouped under general topics with author/title and subject indexes. Includes medical, scientific, psychoanalytic, sociological, and popular prescriptive works.

Seruya, Flora C. Sex and sex education: a bibliography. NY: R. R. Bowker, 1972.
LOCATION: Schlesinger: Ref. 016.612 S49s
LOCATION: Widener: Soc 5005.372.40

Mainly literature of the 1950s and 1960s but with many earlier citations for historical perspective. Bibliography of books, NOT periodical articles.

Sex & Sexuality, 1640-1940: Literary, Medical and Sociological Perspectives
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film A 1056 Library has: pt. 1 on 15 microfilm reels.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 1056 = guide

Part 1: Sources from the Bodleian Library, Oxford and the Wellcome Institute for the History of Medicine, London

A Listing and Guide to Part 1 of the Microfilm Collection

Sex research: bibliographies from the Institute for Sex Research. Phoenix: Oryx Press, in association with Neal-Schuman Publishers, 1979.
LOCATION: Countway Medicine: Z 7164.S4 I39s 1979
LOCATION: Schlesinger: Ref. 016.30141072 B84s
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC HQ60.Z99 I57 x, 1979

Strongest on literature of the 1950s-1960s but with many earlier citations. Includes periodical articles.

Women and/in health. Berkeley, CA: Women's History Research Center, 1974.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film A 169 Library has: 13 reels
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 169 Guide

Sections:

  • 1. Physical and mental health of women
  • 2. Physical and mental illnesses of women
  • 3. Biology, women, and the life cycle
  • 4. Birth control and population control
  • 5. Sex and sexuality
  • 6. Black and the Third World women and health
  • 7. Special issues of mass periodicals

    Microfilmed newspaper and magazine articles from the clippings file of the Women's History Research Center, Berkeley. For each section there is a chronological sequence: 1968-1973, undated material, then 1974.

Psychology

Brown, M. W., ed. by F. E. Williams. 1918. Neuropsychiatry and the War: A Bibliography with Abstracts. NY: War Work Committee, the National Committee for Mental Hygiene, 292 pp.

Supplement I, October 1918, 117 pp.

Cooter, R. 1989. Phrenology in the British Isles: An Annotated Historical Biobibliography and Index. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 431 pp.

Cooter, R. 1984. Phrenological journals. Pp. 394- 395 in: The Cultural Meaning of Popular Science: Phrenology and the Organization of Consent in Nineteenth-century Britain. Cambridge; NY: Cambridge University Press, 418 pp.

List of 32 journals.

Crabtree, A. 1988. Animal Magnetism, Early Hypnotism, and Psychical Research, 1766-1925: An Annotated Bibliography. White Plains, NY: Kraus International Publications.

Annotated bibliography of primary sources by year with name, title, and brief (6 pp.) subject indexes. Includes glossary and bibliography of secondary works (5 pp.).

Diethelm, O. 1971. Medical Dissertations of Psychiatric Interest, Printed before 1750. Basel, NY: S. Karger, 211 pp.

Dunbar, H. F. 1954. Emotions and Bodily Changes: A Survey of Literature on Psychosomatic Interrelationships, 1910-1953. 4th ed., with supplementary material and additional bibliography. NY: Columbia University Press, 1192 pp.

Favazza, A. R. and M. Oman. 1977. Anthropological and cross-cultural themes in mental health: an annotated bibliography, 1925-1974. Columbia: University of Missouri Press, 386 p.

By author with secondary author and subject indexes. Continued by Favazza, A. R. and A. D. Faheem. 1982. Themes in cultural psychiatry, an annotated bibliography, 1975-1980. Columbia: University of Missouri Press, 194 p.

Gay, P. 1988. Freud: A Life for our Time. NY: Norton, 810 pp.

Bibliographical essay, pp. 741-779.

Hornstein, G. A. 2003. Bibliography of First-Person Narratives of Madness

Laehr, H., ed. 1900. Die Literatur der Psychiatrie, Neurologie und Psychologie von 1459-1799. 3 v. in 4. Berlin: Reimer.

v.1.: 1459-1699; v.2, pt.1.: 1700-1760; v.2, pt.2. 1761-1799; v.3. name index, subject index.

Lehmkuhl, G. and H. Groner, eds. 1994. Register der deutschsprachigen individualpsychologischen Periodika (1914-1992). (Beitrage zur Individualpsychologie, 19) Munchen: E. Reinhardt, 187 pp.

Covers:
  • Zeitschrift fur Individualpsychologie, Bd. 1 (1914-1916)
  • Internationale Zeitschrift fur Individualpsychologie, Bd. 2-20 (1923-1951)
  • Zeitschrift fur Individualpsychologie, Jahrgang 1-16 (1976-1991)
  • Beitrage zur Individualpsychologie, Bande 1-15 (1978-1992).

Louttit, C. M. 1928. Bibliography of Bibliographies on Psychology, 1900-1927. Bulletin of the National Research Council, no. 65, 108 pp.

Menzies, Robert J., 1979. Psychiatry and the Judicial Process: A Bibliography. (Centre of criminology, Bibliography 9) Toronto: Centre of Criminology, University of Toronto, 75 pp.

Newton, S. E. 1994. Learning to Behave: A Guide to American Conduct Books before 1900. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 225 pp.

Perring, C. Narratives of Mental Illness. (Philosophy of Psychiatry Bibliography Page 5).

Rabkin, L. Y. 1998. The Celluloid Couch: An Annotated International Filmography of the Mental Health Professional in the Movies and Television, from the beginning to 1990. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 627 pp.

Rand, B. 1905. Bibliography of philosophy, psychology, and cognate subjects. Volume 3 of Dictionary of Philosophy and Psychology, ed. by J. M. Baldwin. 3 v. in 4. NY: Macmillan, 1901-1905.

pt. 1: Philosophers: Primary and secondary works
pt. 2: Philosophy by subject, (psychology, pp. 913-1192)

Rickman, J. 1928. Index psychoanalyticus 1893-1926: ein Register der Autoren und deren Werke über die Psychoanalyse. London: L. & V. Woolf at the Hogarth Press and the Institute of Psycho-analysis, 276 pp. Lists translations

Schuling, H., ed. 1967. Bibliographie der psychologischen Literatur des 16. Jahrhunderts. (Studien und Materialien zur Geschichte der Philosophie, Bd. 4) Hildesheim: G. Olms, 301 pp.

Subject index, bibliography of secondary literature, pp. 276-286.

Trahair, R. C. S. and J.G. Marshall. 1987. Australian Psychoanalytic and Related Writings, 1941-1980: An Annotated Bibliography. (La Trobe University Library publication 33) Bundoora, Vic.: La Trobe University Library, 139 pp.

Vande Kemp, H. and H. N. Malony. 1984. Psychology and Theology in Western Thought, 1672-1965: A Historical and Annotated Bibliography. Millwood, NY: Kraus International Publications, 367 pp.

List of books, institutions (pp. 287-296), and journals (pp. 297-305; lists of relevant authors or of the articles themselves are given). Name, institution, title, and subject indexes.

Watson, R. I., ed. 1974-76. Eminent contributors to psychology. 2. v. NY: Springer Pub. Co.

Vol. 1. A bibliography of primary references; v. 2. A bibliography of secondary references.

Africa

African social psychology : a review and annotated bibliography, by Michael Armer. New York : Africana Pub. Co. (African bibliography series ; v. 2.) 1974, 321 p. http://id.lib.harvard.edu/alma/990038977460203941/catalog

Afr 28.171

--Arranged by subject with author and country indexes

Human behavior in Africa: a bibliography of psychological and related writings, by S. H. Irvine, J. T. Sanders [and] E. L. Klingelhofer.. Westport, Conn., Greenwood Press, 1973, 344 pp. http://id.lib.harvard.edu/alma/990054066960203941/catalog  In-Library use only
--Arranged by subject; author and general indexes.

Mental health and psychiatry in Africa : an annotated bibliography, by David Westley. London ; New York: Hans Zell Publishers, 1993, 205 pages http://id.lib.harvard.edu/alma/990028867350203941/catalog

RC451.A4 W47 1993 In-Library use only

--Arranged by author with geographic/ethnic name and subject indexes.

Psychology in Africa : a bibliography, by Jan Hoorweg and H.C. Marais.. Leyden, The Netherlands : Afrika-Studiecentrum, 1969, 139 pp.  http://id.lib.harvard.edu/alma/990002861550203941/catalog

Not annotated. Arranged by subject with author index.

Psychological and sociological studies of the Black people of Africa, South of the Sahara, 1960-1975 : an annotated select bibliography, by L. E. Andor. Braamfontein, Johannesburg, Republic of South Africa : National Institute for Personnel Research, Council for Scientific and Industrial Research, 1983, 397 pp. http://id.lib.harvard.edu/alma/990002654440203941/catalog

--Arranged by subject (table of contents pp. 3-4; list of bibliographies, pp. 5-6). Author index in front.

Sociology

Ende, Rudolf vom. 1981-82. Criminology and Forensic Sciences: An International Bibliography, 1950-1980. 3 v. München; NY: Saur.

Eaton, A. H. and S. M. Harrison. 1930. A Bibliography of Social Surveys; Reports of Fact-Finding Studies Made as a Basis for Social Action; Arranged by Subjects and Localities, Reports to January 1, 1928. Department of Surveys and Exhibits, Russell Sage Foundation. NY: Russell Sage Foundation, 467 pp.

Many surveys on medical and public health subjects.

Pseudo-Sciences

Servier, J., ed. 1998. Dictionnaire critique de l'ésotérisme. Paris: Presses universitaires de France, 1449 pp.

Articles contain detailed citations to primary literature and have bibliographies of secondary sourcves. List of articles under major topics, and indexes of names, of gods, heros, and "abstractions divinisees", and of subjects.