Ancient/Medieval Contents
Secondary Sources, Context, and Background
Reference Sources: Chronologies, Dictionaries, Directories, Encyclopedias, Handbooks
Jacquart, D. & C. Thomasset. 1997. Lexique de la langue scientifique (astrologie, mathématiques, médicine...): Matériaux pour le Dictionnaire du Moyen Français (DMF)-4. Paris: Klincksieck, 313 pp.
Keyser, P T. and G. L. Irby-Massie. 2008. The encyclopedia of ancient natural scientists: the Greek tradition and its many heirs.
Hetherington, B. 1996. A Chronicle of Pre-telescopic Astronomy. NY: John Wiley & Sons, 273 pp.
Keyser, Paul T., and John Scarborough. 2018. The Oxford Handbook of Science and Medicine in the Classical World. New York: Oxford University Press.
HOLLIS Record
Oleson, J. P., ed. 2008. The Oxford handbook of engineering and technology in the Classical world. Oxford; NY: Oxford University Press, 2008, 865 p.
HOLLIS Record
Ruggles, C. L. N. 2005. Ancient astronomy : an encyclopedia of cosmologies and myth. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 518 p.
Cabot Science | REF | QB16 .R84 2005
Butzer, P. L. 1993. Table of scholars and works in science (AD 400-950). Pp. 599-605 in Science in Western and Eastern Civilization in Carolingian Times. Ed. by P. L. Butzer & D. Lohrmann. Basel: Birkhäuser.
Pedersen, O. 1993. Biographical appendix. Pp. 297-404 in his Early Physics and Astronomy: A Historical Introduction. Rev. ed. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. [Ancient Greece through Copernicus; brief biographical data on about 200 individuals with references]
Bibliographies of Books and Articles
Forbes, R. J. 1949-50. Bibliographia Antiqua; Philosophia Naturalis - A.D. 1939. 10 v. Leiden: Nederlandsch Institut voor het Nabije Oosten. Supplement 1, 1940-50, 1952; Supplement 2, 1950-1960, 1963.
Kren, C. 1985. Medieval Science and Technology: A Selected, Annotated Bibliography. NY: Garland, 369 pp. [Includes modern editions and translations of primary sources]
Navia, L. E. 1993. Presocratic Philosophers: An Annotated Bibliography. NY: Garland, 722 pp
Mainly on 10 natural philosophers. No subject index. Indexes a wider range of literature in philosophy and history of science than Paquet, Roussel, and Lafrance's. Les présocratiques (PRL) which is more historical and philological. Includes post-1980 literature not in PRL.Updates:
Navia, L. E. 1990. Pythagoras: An Annotated Bibliography. NY: Garland Pub., 381 pp.Berryman et al., below, offer a detailed critique, including a list of major 1981-1989 works omitted from Navia.
Berryman, S., A. P. D. Mourelatos, and R. K. Sharma. 1995. Two annotated bibliographies on the Presocratics: A critique and user's guide. Ancient Philosophy, v. 15, no. 2, pp. 471-494.
See also:
Mourelatos, A. P. D., ed. 1993. Addenda to selective bibliography: 1973-1993. In: The Pre-Socratics: A Collection of Critical Essays. Rev. ed. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 559 pp. Partially updates PRL and Navia.
Oxford handbook of engineering and technology in the Classical world, ed. by John Peter Oleson. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2008, 865 p.
HOLLIS Record
Paquet, L., M. Roussel, and Y. Lafrance. 1988-89. Les présocratiques: bibliographie analytique, 1879-1980. 2 v. Montréal: Bellarmin; Paris: Les Belles Lettres.
Paquet, L., and Y. Lafrance. 1995. Les présocratiques: bibliographie analytique, 1450-1879: III Supplément. Saint-Laurent, Québec: Éditions Bellarmin, 429 pp. 3rd volume of Les présocratiques.Covers and major Pre-Socratics, including the Sophists. Includes book reviews. 1879-1980. 3rd vol. 1450-1879.Berryman, S., A. P. D. Mourelatos, and R. K. Sharma. 1995. Two annotated bibliographies on the Presocratics: A critique and user's guide. Ancient Philosophy, v. 15, no. 2, pp. 471-494.
See also:
Mourelatos, A. P. D., ed. 1993. Addenda to selective bibliography: 1973-1993. In: The Pre-Socratics : A Collection of Critical Essays. Rev. ed. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 559 pp. partially updates PRL and Navia.
Primary Sources
Online Full Text Collections and Digital Libraries
Database of Alchemical Manuscripts
Agrimi, J. 1976. Tecnica e scienza nella cultura medievale: inventario dei manoscritti relativi alla scienza e alla tecnica medievale (secc. XI-XV): biblioteche di Lombardia. (Strumenti bibliografici 4) Firenze: La nuova Italia, 239 pp.
Lindberg, D. C. 1975. A Catalogue of Medieval and Renaissance Optical Manuscripts. (Subsidia mediaevalia 4). Toronto: Pontifical Institute of Mediaeval Studies, 142 pp.
Mantello, F. A. C. and A. G. Rigg, eds. 1996. Medieval Latin: An Introduction and Bibliographical Guide. Washington, DC: Catholic University of America Press, 774 pp.
Includes articles by:
- N. Phillips - Music
- F. Wallis - Science: Introductio
- B. Hughes - Mathematics and geometry
- E. D. Sylla - Physics
- E. Grant - Astronomy, cosmology, and cosmography
- C. Burnett - Astrology
- F. Wallis - Chronology and systems of dating
- P. D. A. Harvey - Cartography and its written sources
- J. J. Scanlan - Zoology and physiology
- R. J. Long - Botany
- J. M. Riddle - Geology
- M. Pereira - Chemistry and alchemy
- P. M. Jones - Medicine
- R. Kieckhefer - Magic
- B. Hall - Technology and crafts: Introduction
- E. Whitney - Artes mechanicae
- J. F. O'Connor - Architecture
- R. E. Zupko - Weights and measures
- E. M. Parkinson - Weapons and warfare
- J. H. Pryor - Ships and seafaring
- J. Langdon - Agriculture, animal husbandry, and forestry
- R. H. Rouse - Manuscript production
- C. Davis-Weyer - Panel and wall painting, mosaics, metalwork, and other decorative arts
- J. H. Munro - Textiles
- P. O. Long - Mining and ore processing
- A. M. Stahl - Minting and money
- J. Muendel - Mills and milling
Thorndike, L. & P. Kibre. 1963. A Catalogue of Incipits of Mediaeval Scientific Writings in Latin. Rev. ed. Cambridge, MA: Mediaeval Academy of America, 1938 pp. Addenda and corrigenda: Speculum 40(1965): 116-122; 43(1968): 78-114.
Index of Medieval Medical Images offers records of manuscripts from six North American libraries.