Medicine Secondary Source Bibliographies

Medicine (General)

American Women's History: A Research Guide Women in Medical Fields

Blake, J. B. & C. C. Roos, eds. 1967. Medical Reference Works, 1679-1966: A Selected Bibliography. Chicago: Medical Library Association, 343 pp.

  • Supplement I: 1967-68, comp. by M. V. Clark, 1970.
  • Supplement II: 1969-70, comp. by J. S. Richmond, 1973.
  • Supplement III, 1973-74, comp. by J. S. Richmond, 1975.

Durbin, P. T., ed. 1980. A Guide to the Culture of Science, Technology, and Medicine. NY: Free Press; London: Collier Macmillan, 723 pp.

Review essays and bibliographies on:
  • History of medicine
  • Philosophy of medicine
  • Medical sociology and science and technology in medicine

Electricity in Life: A Bibliography of Secondary Literature on the History of Electricity and Magnetism in Medicine and the Life Sciences, Bakken Library and Museum.

Bibliography of over 750 works on the history of electricity in medicine and the life sciences. Radiotherapy, radiology, electron microscopy, and tomography are excluded.

Erlen, J. 1984. The History of the Health Care Sciences and Health Care, 1700-1980: A Selective Annotated Bibliography. NY: Garland, 1028 pp.

Erlen, J. Recent dissertations in the Medical Humanities.

Gaskell, E. (rev. by E. J. Freeman). 1984. Historical, biographical and bibliographical sources. Pp. 463-490 in Information Sources in the Medical Sciences. 2nd ed. Ed. by L. T. Morton & S. Godbolt. London/Boston: Butterworths.

Hubbard, R., M. S. Henifin, and B. Fried, eds. 1982. Biological Woman-the Convenient Myth: A Collection of Feminist Essays and a Comprehensive Bibliography. Cambridge, MA: Schenkman Pub. Co., 376 pp.

Bibliography: Women, Science, and Health, by M. S. Henifin and J. C. Amatniek, pp. 288-376. Largely secondary and recent primary works but with some 19th-early 20th century primary material.

Inke, G. 1968. Bibliographie der Bibliographien der Medizin und der in Medizin angewandten Naturwissenschaften. Halle-Wittenberg: Martin Luther Universität, 658 pp.

Kiell, N. 1966. Medicine and art, 1934-1964: a bibliography. Journal of the History of Medicine and Allied Sciences. v. 21, no. 2, pp. 147-172. Unannotated list of secondary literature.

Mann, G., ed. 1970. Internationale Bibliographie zur Geschichte der Medizin, 1875-1901. Hildesheim, NY: G. Olms, 597 pp.
--Reprints of bibliographical articles:

  • J. Pagel, 1898. Historisch-Medicinische Bibliographie für die Jahre 1875-1896. Geschichte der Medicin, Theil II, S. 575-960
  • T. Puschmann and R. R. v. Töply. 1898. Geschichte der Medicine und der Krankheiten. Jahresbericht über die Leistungen und Fortschritte in der gesammten Medicin, 32 Jg, 1 Bd, S. 293-329.
  • J. Pagel. 1899. Geschichte der Medicine und der Krankheiten. Jahresbericht über die Leistungen und Fortschritte in der gesammten Medicin, 33 Jg, 1 Bd, S. 307-341.
  • J. Pagel. 1900. Geschichte der Medicine und der Krankheiten. Jahresbericht über die Leistungen und Fortschritte in der gesammten Medicin, 34 Jg, 1 Bd, S. 300-341.
  • J. Pagel. 1901. Geschichte der Medicine und der Krankheiten. Jahresbericht über die Leistungen und Fortschritte in der gesammten Medicin, 35 Jg, 1 Bd, S. 297-344.
  • J. Pagel. 1902 Geschichte der Medicine und der Krankheiten. Jahresbericht über die Leistungen und Fortschritte in der gesammten Medicin, 36 Jg, 1 Bd, S. 348-396.

Moore, G. 1978. A Guide to the Literature of the History of Medicine. University of Toronto Library Reference Series, No. 24, 146 pp.

Rhee, Y. K. 1993. The History of AIDS: A Selective Bibliography. Bethesda, MD: U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, National Institutes of Health, History of Medicine Division, National Library of Medicine, 16 pp.

Includes articles, books, parts of books, conference papers, and dissertations.

Thornton, J. L. 1990. Thornton's Medical Books, Libraries and Collectors. 3rd ed. by A. Besson. Aldershot: Gower, 417 pp.

Valencius, C. B. 2000. Histories of medical geography. Pp. 3-28 in Medical Geography in Historical Perspective, edited by N. A. Rupke. (Medical history. Supplement ; no. 20) London: Wellcome Trust Centre for the History of Medicine at UCL, 227 pp.

Wellcome Institute for the History of Medicine and Related Sciences. 1979-80. Subject Catalogue of the History of Medicine. 18 v. Munich: Kraus International. [5 biographical v., 4 topographical v., 9 subject v.]

Cumulation of: Current Work in the History of Medicine. London: Wellcome Institute for the History of Medicine, 1954- .
Section on biographies (including obituaries), no. 150 (Ap/June, 1991- ). Obituaries were separated from biographies and given their own heading "Recent Obituaries" in no. 158 (Ap/June, 1993). Includes obituaries of physicians from the Times.

Medicine: Bibliographies of Secondary Sources - By Country/Region

Africa

Malowany. M. 2000. Unfinished agendas: writing the history of medicine of Sub-Saharan Africa. African Affairs, v. 99, no 395, pp. 325-349

Asia

Aschoff, J. C. 1996. Annotated Bibliography of Tibetan Medicine (1789-1995). Ulm: Fabri Verlag; Dietikon: Garuda Verlag, 426 pp.

Canada

Hackett, L. L. 1998. Midwifery in Canada, 1980-1997: A Brief History and Selective Annotated Bibliography of Publications in English. (Occasional papers series, no. 60). Halifax, NS: Dalhousie University, School of Library and Information Studies, 73 pp.

Roland, C. G. 1984. Secondary Sources in the History of Canadian Medicine: A Bibliography. Waterloo, Ont: Hannah Institute for the History of Medicine, 190 pp.

Roland, Charles G. and J. Bernier. 2000. Secondary Sources in the History of Canadian Medicine: A Bibliography. Volume 2. Waterloo, Ont.: Wilfrid Laurier University Press, 245 pp. [Continues and augments v. 1].

France

Wohnlich-Despaigne, I. 1987. Les historiens français de la médecine au XIXe siècle et leur Bibliographie. Paris: J. Vrin, 422 pp.

List of French historians of 19th century medicine with their publications. Subject index with broad categories.

Germany

Benzenhofer, U. 1994. Verzeichnis der medizinhistorischen Dissertationen aus der BRD zwischen 1960 und 1969. Aachen: Verlag Mainz, 178 pp.

Islamic Countries

Goldstein, M. 1933. Internationale Bibliographie der altaegyptischen Medizin, 1850-1930. Berlin-Charlottenburg: Aegyptologischer verlag M. Goldstein, 48 pp.

243 items listed chronologically under subjects, name index.

Hamarneh, S. K. 1964. Bibliography on Medicine and Pharmacy in Medieval Islam. (Veroffentlichungen der Internationalen Gesellschaft fur Geschichte der Pharmazie, n.f., Bd. 25) Stuttgart, Wissenschaftliche Verlagsgesellschaft, 204 pp.

Netherlands

Lindeboom, G. A. 1975. A Classified Bibliography of the History of Dutch Medicine 1900-1974. The Hague: Nijhoff, 663 pp.

United States

Cassedy, J. H. 1991. Medicine in America: A Short History. Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins University Press, 187 pp. [Bibliographical essay, pp. 161-180].

Freemon, F. R. 1993. Microbes and Minie Balls: An Annotated Bibliography of Civil War Medicine. Rutherford: Fairleigh Dickinson University Press; Cranbury, NJ: Associated University Presses, 253 pp.

Gilbert, J. B. 1951. A Bibliography of Articles on the History of American Medicine Compiled from "Writings on American History" 1902-1937. NY: New York Academy of Medicine Library, 44 pp.

Miller, G., ed. 1965. Bibliography of the History of Medicine of the United States and Canada, 1939-1960. 2nd ed. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins Press, 428 pp. Reprint, NY: Arno, 1979.

Cumulation of the annual bibliography published in the Bulletin of the History of Medicine. The Bibliography of the History of Medicine of the United States and Canada continued in the Bulletin of the History of Medicine until the commencement of the Bibliography of the History of Medicine.

Medicine: Bibliographies of Secondary Sources - Serial Bibliographies and Indexes to Current Publications

Auswahlbibliographie zum Thema Krankenhausgeschichte. In: Historia hospitalium, 1966- . Dusseldorf, Triltsch.

Bibliography of the History of Medicine. Bethesda, MD: National Library of Medicine. 1965 - 1993. [Annual, cumulated every 4 years. For earlier coverage see Miller, 1965, and Gilbert, 1951, above.]

PubMed (Bethesda, MD: National Library of Medicine)

Includes citations of periodical articles formerly accessed through HISTLINE (1965-2000) which included and continued the printed Bibliography of the History of Medicine (1965-1993). Books, book chapters, and dissertations formerly searched in HISTLINE are now in the National Library of Medicine's LOCATORplus.

To limit to historical sources in PubMed: Choose Limits, then choose History of Medicine under Subsets.

To see the MESH (Medical Subject Headings), open the menu next to the Display button and choose Citation.

In LocatorPlus to limit to historical sources: Under Quick Limit, choose HMD Collection.

Cassedy, J. H. 1997. A short history of HISTLINE. Watermark (Association of Librarians in the History of the Health Sciences), v. 20, no. 4 (Fall), pp. 98-100.

Current Work in the History of Medicine. London: Wellcome Institute for the History of Medicine, 1954- .

No book reviews. Cumulated as: Wellcome Institute for the History of Medicine and Related Sciences. 1979-80. Subject Catalogue of the History of Medicine. 18 v. Munich: Kraus International. [5 biographical v., 4 topographical v., 9 subject v.]

Included in: History of Science, Technology and Medicine [HSTM], 1991-2004.
--Called Wellcome Bibliography of the History of Medicine.

 

Medicine Primary Source Bibliographies

  • Medicine (General)

    Medicine (General)

    Alcohol and Alcohol Problems Science Database (ETOH), late 1960s-

    American Women's History: A Research Guide: Women in Medical Fields

    Besterman, T. 1971. Medicine: A Bibliography of Bibliographies. Totowa, NJ: Rowman & Littlefield, 409 pp. Not at Harvard

    Included in Besterman, T. 1965-66. A World Bibliography of Bibliographies and of Bibliographical Catalogues, Calendars, Abstracts, Digests, Indexes, and the Like. 5 v. 4th ed. Lausanne, Societas Bibliographica.

    Bishop, W. J. 1958. Bibliography of International Congresses of Medical Sciences. Prepared under the auspices of the Council for International Organizations of Medical Sciences. Oxford, Blackwell; Springfield, IL: Charles C Thomas, 238 pp.

    Carlino, A. 1999. Paper Bodies: A Catalogue of Anatomical Fugitive Sheets, 1538-1687. (Medical History, Supplement, no. 19) London: Wellcome Institute for the History of Medicine, 352 pp.

    Davis, A. B. & M. S. Dreyfuss. 1986. The Finest Instruments Ever Made: A Bibliography of Medical, Dental, Optical, and Pharmaceutical Company Trade Literature, 1700-1939. Arlington, MA: Medical History Pub. Associates, 448 pp.

    Dijstelberge, P. 1997. Plague and Print in the Netherlands: A Short-Title Catalogue of Publications in the University Library of Amsterdam. Rotterdam: Erasmus Pub., 360 pp.

    Durbin, P. T., ed. 1980. A Guide to the Culture of Science, Technology, and Medicine. NY: Free Press; London: Collier Macmillan, 723 pp.

    Review essays and bibliographies on:
    • History of medicine
    • Philosophy of medicine
    • Medical sociology and science and technology in medicine

    Eaton, A. H. and S. M. Harrison. 1930. A Bibliography of Social Surveys; Reports of Fact-Finding Studies Made as a Basis for Social Action; Arranged by Subjects and Localities, Reports to January 1, 1928. Department of Surveys and Exhibits, Russell Sage Foundation. NY: Russell Sage Foundation, 467 pp.

    Many surveys on medical and public health subjects.

    Emmerson, J. S. 1965. Translations of Medical Classics: A List. Newcastle upon Tyne: University Library, Newcastle upon Tyne (Publication no. 3), 82 pp.

    Gaskell, E. (rev. by E. J. Freeman). 1984. Historical, biographical and bibliographical sources. Pp. 463-490 in Information Sources in the Medical Sciences. 2nd ed. Ed. by L. T. Morton & S. Godbolt. London/Boston: Butterworths.

    Glasser, M. L. 1991. Physician-patient relationships: an annotated bibliography. NY: Garland, 91 p. 

    Literature on the “sick role concept” largely late 1950s-1980s.

    Literature, Arts & Medicine Database is an "annotated bibliography of prose, poetry, film, video and art." Can be searched by author (and for physician, men, women authors, and authors of some ethnic groups), title, genre, era, added keyword, free text. Links are given for fulltext and author information where available.

    Reviewed: Annals of Internal Medicine, v. 128, no. 11 (1998), pp. 959-962; Literature and Medicine, v. 16, no. 2 (1997), pp. 268-272; Medical Services Quarterly, v. 17, no. 1 (1998), pp. 25.

    Index Medicus: War supplement. A Classified Record of Literature on Military Medicine and Surgery 1914-1917. Washington, DC: Carnegie Institution of Washington, 1918, 234 pp.

    Kelly, E. C. 1948. Encyclopedia of Medical Sources. Baltimore, MD: The Williams & Wilkins Company.

    References to medical eponyms and citations of original work. Indexed

    Kupferschmidt, H. 1987. Die Pest in der medizinischen Fachliteratur 1879-1985: eine Bibliographie ausgezogen aus dem Index medicus. Zurich: Medizinhistorisches Institut der Universitat, 148 pp.

    Leiper, R. T. et al. 1923. Periodicals of Medicine and the Allied Sciences in British Libraries, Including the Sciences of Agriculture, Anatomy, Anthropology, Bacteriology, Biology, Botany, Chemistry, Ethnology, General Science, Physics, Physiology, Zoology. London: The British Medical Association, 193 pp.

    Leitner, H. 1973. Bibliography to the Ancient Medical Authors. Bern: H. Huber, 61 pp.

    List of Greek and Latin medical authors with citations of editions and translations.

    Litman, T. J. 1976. The Sociology of Medicine and Health Care: A Research Bibliography. San Francisco, CA: Boyd & Fraser, 664 pp.

    Unannotated references by subject with author and subject indexes. English-language literature, early 1920s-1971, largely 1950s-60s. Mostly U.S., some worldwide material.

    Major, R. H. 1965. Classic Descriptions of Disease: with Biographical Sketches of the Authors. 3rd ed. Springfield, Ill. & Baltimore: Thomas, 679 pp.

    Mayo, H., ed. 1995. One Hundred Books Famous in Medicine. NY: The Grolier Club, 390 pp.

    Morton, L. T., ed. 1957. World Medical Periodicals. 2d ed. NY: World Medical Association, 340 pp.

    With subject and country indexes

    Morton, L. T. 1991. Morton's Medical Bibliography. An Annotated Check-List of Texts Illustrating the History of Medicine (Garrison and Morton). Ed. by J. M. Norman. 5th ed. Aldershot, Hants, England / Brookfield, VT: Gower, 1243 pp. [Annotated, includes articles]
    Online Version

    Ash, L. 1961. Serial Publications Containing Medical Classics: An Index to Citations in Garrison-Morton. With The Story of the Garrison-Morton Bibliography of Medical Classics, by Leslie T. Morton. New Haven, CT: Antiquarium, 147 pp. [Index to 2nd ed. (1954) of Garrison and Morton]

    Ash, L. & M. A. Murray. 1979. Serial Publications Containing Medical Classics: An Index to Citations in Garrison/Morton, 3d Edition, 1970. 2d ed. Bethany, CT: Antiquarium, 169 pp. [Alphabetical list of about 900 serials. Not at Harvard

    Groen, Frances. 1970. An Author Arrangement of All Monographs Listed in Garrison and Morton's Medical Bibliography: with Numerous Additional Cross-references. Pittsburgh: Falk Medical Library, 150 pp. Not at Harvard

    Morton, L. T. 1987. The history of 'Garrison-Morton': a personal account. Health Libraries Review, v. 4, no. 3, pp. 132-138.

    Norman, J. M. 1987. The future of the "Garrison-Morton" bibliography. Health Libraries Review, v. 4, no. 3, pp. 130-131.

    Teigen, P. M. 1995. "Who's on first?": Garrison-Morton-Norman at the end of the twentieth century. Canadian Bulletin of Medical History, v. 12, no. 2, pp. 411-426.

    Nemec, J. 1969. International Bibliography of Medicolegal Serials, 1736-1967. Washington, DC: National Library of Medicine, Reference Services Division, 110 pp.

    Osler, W. 1923. Incunabula Medica. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 140 pp. Reprint, Mansfield, CT: M. Martino, 1994. [Pp. 39-126: "List of medical books printed before 1481," ed. by V. Scholderer]

    Pauly, A. 1874. Bibliographie des sciences medicales: bibliographie, biographie, histoire, epidemies, topographies, endemies. 3 pts. in 2 v. Paris: Librairie Tross. Reprint, London: D. Verschoyle, Academic and Bibliographical Publications, 1954.

    Sabbah, G., P.-P. Corsetti, K.-D. Fischer, eds. 1987. Bibliographie des textes médicaux latins: antiquité et haut moyen âge. (Mémoires, Centre Jean Palerne, 6) Saint-Etienne: Universite de Saint-Etienne, 174 pp.

    Fischer, K.-D. 2000. Bibliographie des textes médicaux latins: Antiquité et haut moyen âge: Premier supplément, 1986-1999. (Centre Jean-Palerne, Mémoires, 19) Saint-Etienne: Publications de l'Université de Saint-Etienne, 62 pp.

    Both accessible under the series name: Centre Jean-Palerne, Mémoires.

    Schroeder, T. A. 1918. List of References on Birth Control. NY: H.W. Wilson Co, 52 pp.

    Stumke, H. 1939. Bibliographie der internationalen medizinischen Kongresse und Verbande. (Bibliographie der internationalen Kongresse und Verbande. Bd. I). Medizin. Leipzig, O. Harrassowitz, 280 pp.

    Thornton, J. L. 1990. Thornton's Medical Books, Libraries and Collectors. 3rd ed. by A. Besson. Aldershot: Gower, 417 pp.

    Trautmann, J. 1982. Literature and Medicine: An Annotated Bibliography. Rev. ed. Pittsburgh, PA: University of Pittsburgh Press, 228 pp.

    Primary works indexed by medical subject.

    Women and medicine [microform] : remedy books, 1533-1865: from the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine, London, ed. by S. Pennell. Woodbridge, CT: Primary Source Microfilm; London: Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine, 2004. 35 microfilm reels; 35 mm. + guide

    Women Physicians' Autobiographies. University of Missouri, Kansas City, Clinical Medical Librarians Program.

    Outgrowth of: Sirridge, M. S. and B. R. Pfannenstiel. 1996. Daughters of Aesculapius: a selected bibliography of autobiographies of women medical school graduates 1849-1920. Literature and Medicine, v. 15, no. 2 (Fall), pp. 200-216.

    Medicine: Primary Sources - Printed, by Medical Specialty

    Gynaecology/Obstetrics

    Hagelin, O. 1990. The Byrth of Mankynde Otherwyse Named the Womans Booke: Embryology, Obstetrics, Gynaecology through Four Centuries: An Illustrated and Annotated Catalogue of Rare Books in the Library of the Swedish Academy of Medicine. (Svenska lkaresllskapets handlingar, v. 99, pt. 2). Stockholm: Svenska Lkaresllskapet, 176 pp.

    Ophthamology

    Albert, D. M., E. W. D. Norton & R. Hurtes. 1995. Source Book of Ophthalmology. Cambridge, MA: Blackwell Scientific, 391 pp. [A bibliography] Not at Harvard

    Wechsler, L., C. Hoolihan & M. F. Weimer. 1997. The Bernard Becker Collection in Ophthamology: An Annotated Catalog. 3rd ed. St. Louis: Washington University School of Medicine, 180 pp.

    Subject, chronological, and geographical indexes. Annotations give biographical information on many authors. Includes some manuscripts and graphic materials.

    Pediatrics

    Guelle, L. A. 2000. Catalogue of the Samuel X Radbill Pediatric Historical Library of the Children's Hospital of Philadelphia. Philadelphia: College of Physicians of Philadelphia, Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, 193 pp.

    Medicine: Primary Sources - Printed by Country/Region (General Medicine)

    Africa

    Brygoo, E. R. 1968. Bibliographie medicale de Madagascar. (Académie malgache, Tananarive, Malagasy Republic. Mémoires, fasc. 42)., 215 pp. Not at Harvard

    Malowany. M. 2000. Unfinished agendas: writing the history of medicine of Sub-Saharan Africa. African Affairs, v. 99, no 395, pp. 325-349

    Medical Literature on Central Africa (1878- ) covers medical and veterinary publications on Congo-Kinshasa (formerly Zaire), Rwanda, and Burundi.

    Australia

    Ford, E. 1976. Bibliography of Australian Medicine, 1790-1900. Sydney: Sydney University Press, 348 pp.

    Includes biographical data on authors.

    Canada

    Roland, C. G. and P. Potter. 1979. An Annotated Bibliography of Canadian Medical Periodicals 1826-1975. Hamilton, Ontario, The Hannah Institute for the History of Medicine, 77 pp.

    China

    Walravens, H. 1994. Catalogue of Chinese Books and Manuscripts in the Library of The Wellcome Institute for the History of Medicine. London: Wellcome Institute for the History of Medicine, 169 pp.

    Germany

    Engelmann, W. 1848. Bibliotheca medico-chirurgica et anatomico-physiologica. Alphabetisches Verzeichniss der medizinischen, chirurgischen, geburtshulflichen, anatomischen und physiologischen Bucher, welche vom Jahre 1750 bis zu Ende des Jahres 1847 in Deutschland erschienen sind. Sechste ganzlich umgearbeitete Auflage der Bibliotheca medico-chirurgica von Enslin. 6th ed. Leipzig: Verlag von Wilhelm Engelmann, 734 pp.

    Supplement: Engelmann, W. 1868. Bibliotheca medico-chirurgica et anatomico-physiologica. Alphabetisches Verzeichniss der medizinischen, chirurgischen, geburtshulflichen, anatomischen und physiologischen bucher, welche vom jahre 1750 bis zu ende des jahres 1867 in Deutschland erschienen sind. Supplement-heft, enthaltend die literatur vom jahre 1848 bis ende des jahres 1867 ... Leipzig: W. Engelmann, 350 pp.

    Author list indexed by subject.

    Islamic Countries

    Agha, Z. M. 1983. Bibliography of Islamic Medicine and Pharmacy. London: Distributed by E.J. Brill, 108 pp.

    Titles in Arabic, abstracts in English, French, German, Italian, and Spanish.

    Latin America

    Price, R. 1983. An Annotated Catalogue of Medical Americana in the Library of the Wellcome Institute for the History of Medicine: Books and Printed Documents, 1557-1821, from Latin America and the Caribbean Islands and Manuscripts from the Americas, 1575-1927. London: Wellcome Institute for the History of Medicine, 319 pp.

    Netherlands

    Harskamp, J. 1997. Dissertatio medica inauguralis...: Leyden medical dissertations in the British Library, 1593- 1746: catalogue of a Sloane-inspired collection. London : Wellcome Trust, 270 pp.

    1709 titles (helps to fill the 1610-1654 gap in the Leyden University Library collections. Geographical, subject and printer index.

    Spain

    Lopez Pinero, J. Ma. et al. 1987- . Bibliographia medica hispanica, 1475-1950. (Cuadernos valencianos de historia de la medicina y de la ciencia 30, 32, 33, 35, 36. Serie C, Repertorios bio-bibliograficos) Valencia: Instituto de Estudios Documentales e Históricos sobre la Ciencia, Universidad de Valencia; C.S.I.C.

    • v. 1. Libros y folletos, 1475-1600 (1987)
    • v. 2. Libros y folletos, 1601-1700 (1989)
    • v. 4. Libros y folletos, 1801-1850 (1991)
    • v. 8. Revistas, 1736-1950 (1990)
    • v. 9. Bibliometria de las revistas, 1736-1950 (1991)

    United Kingdom

    Hunt, T. 1990. Popular Medicine in Thirteenth-Century England. Cambridge; Wolfeboro, NH: D.S. Brewer, 466 pp.

    Texts of receipts and charms. There is a glossary for each manuscript.

    LeFanu, W. R. 1984. British Periodicals of Medicine: A Chronological List, 1640-1899. Rev. ed. by J. Loudon. Oxford: Wellcome Unit for the History of Medicine Research Publication 6, 67 pp. [Revision of 1938 ed.] Harvard has 1938 ed. only.

    Palmegiano, E. M. 1998. Health and British Magazines in the Nineteenth Century. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 282 pp.

    Articles arranged under periodicals, which are listed alphabetically. Subject index.

    Rogal, S. J. 1992. Medicine in Great Britain from the Restoration to the Nineteenth Century, 1660-1800: An Annotated Bibliography. NY: Greenwood Press, 258 pp.

    Voigts, L. E. 2000. Scientific and Medical Writings in Old and Middle English: An Electronic Reference. Society for Early English and Norse Electronic texts. Series B, 1. Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press. Computer optical disc.

    United States

    Austin, R. B. 1961. Early American Medical Imprints: A Guide to Works Printed in the United States, 1668-1820. Washington, DC: National Library of Medicine, 240 pp.

    No subject access.

    Cordasco, F. 1985. American Medical Imprints, 1820-1910: A Checklist of Publications Illustrating the History and Progress of Medical Science, Medical Education, and the Healing Arts in the United States : a Preliminary Contribution. 2 v. Totowa, NJ: Rowman & Littlefield; Fairview, NJ: Junius-Vaughn Press.

    By author under decade. Author index. No subject access.

    Cordasco, F. 1991. Homoeopathy in the United States: A Bibliography of Homoeopathic Medical Imprints, 1825-1925. Fairview, NJ: Junius-Vaughn Press, 231 pp.

    Freemon, F. R. 1993. Microbes and Minie Balls: An Annotated Bibliography of Civil War Medicine. Rutherford: Fairleigh Dickinson University Press; Cranbury, NJ: Associated University Presses, 253 pp.

    Guerra, F. 1962. American Medical Bibliography 1639-1783. A Chronological Catalogue, and Critical and Bibliographical Study of Books, Pamphlets, Broadsides, and Articles in Periodical Publications Relating to the Medical Sciences-Medicine, Surgery, Pharmacy, Dentistry, and Veterinary Medicine-Printed in the Present Territory of the United States of America during British Dominion and the Revolutionary War. NY: L. C. Harper (Yale University. Dept. of the History of Science and Medicine. Publication no. 40), 885 pp.

    Subject index.

    Health Science Books, 1876-1982. 4 v. NY: Bowker, 1982.

    Subject arrangement, author and title indexes.

    Hoolihan, C. 2001-2008. An annotated catalogue of the Edward C. Atwater collection of American popular medicine and health reform. Rochester, NY: University of Rochester Press, 3 v. Contents: v. 1. A-L; v. 2. M-Z: v. 3. Supplement, A-Z.
    --Cumulated subject index in vol. 3.

    Osterreich, S. A. 1998. Native North American Shamanism: An Annotated Bibliography. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 109 pp.

    Rosenkrantz, B. G. 1972. Bibliographic essay. Pp. 225-243 in Public health and the State: changing views in Massachusetts, 1842-1936. Cambridge: Harvard University Press.
    LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC RA447.M4 R68 Library has: 2 copies
    LOCATION: Widener: Med 4241.20 and other Harvard libraries

    Overview of primary sources for history of public health in Massachusetts.

    Medicine: Primary Sources - Printed - Catalogs of Libraries

    Canada

    McGill-Queen's University. Osler, Sir W. 1929. Bibliotheca Osleriana, A Catalogue of Books Illustrating the History of Medicine and Science, Collected, Arranged and Annotated by Sir William Osler, Bt., and Bequeathed to McGill University. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 785 pp. Reprint, Montreal: McGill-Queen's University Press, 1969.

    Europe (Continental)

    Hagelin, O. 1989. Rare and Important Medical Books in the Library of the Swedish Society of Medicine: A Descriptive and Annotated Catalogue. (Svenska lkaresllskapets handlingar, v. 98, pt. 4). Stockholm: Svenska Lkaresllskapet, 176 pp.

    Hagelin, O. 1992. Rare and Important Medical Books in the Library of the Karolinska Institute: An Illustrated Catalogue. (Meddelanden fran Karolinska Institutets Bibliotek och Lardomshistoriska Samlingar 3) Stockholm: Karolinska Institutets Bibliotek, 208 pp.

    United Kingdom

    Edinburgh. Bird, D. T. 1982. A Catalogue of Sixteenth-Century Medical Books in Edinburgh Libraries. Edinburgh: Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh, 298 pp.

    Edinburgh. Hargreaves, G. D. 1976. A Catalogue of Medical Incunabula in Edinburgh Libraries. Edinburgh: Royal Medical Society, 54 pp.

    Hunterian Museum. Ferguson, M. 1930. The Printed Books in the Library of the Hunterian Museum in the University of Glasgow: A Catalogue with a Topographical Index by D. B. Smith. Glasgow: Jackson, Wylie & Co., 396 pp.

    Wellcome Institute for the History of Medicine and Related Sciences. 1962, 1966, 1976, 1995. A Catalogue of Printed Books in the Wellcome Historical Medical Library, v. I, Books Printed Before 1641; v. II, 1641-1850, A - E; v. III, 1641-1850, F - L; v. IV, 1641-1850, M - R. Ed. by F. N. L. Poynter et al. London: Wellcome Historical Medical Library.

    Revised ed., with amendments from the Library's working copies: v. I, Books Printed Before 1641; v. II, 1641-1850, A - E. NY: Martino Publishing, 1996.

    Symons, J. 1998. 'These crafty dealers': Sir Henry Wellcome as a book collector. Pp. 109-130 in Medicine, Mortality and the Book Trade, ed. by R. Myers and M. Harris. Folkestone, Kent: St. Paul's Bibliographies; New Castle, DE: Oak Knoll Press, 158 pp.

    United States

    Army Medical Library. Schullian, D. M. & F. E. Sommer. 1950. A Catalogue of the Incunabula and Manuscripts in the Army Medical Library. NY: Henry Schuman, 361 pp.

    Boston Medical Library. Ballard, J. F. 1944. A Catalogue of the Medieval and Renaissance Manuscripts and Incunabula in the Boston Medical Library. Boston: Privately printed, 246 pp.

    Iowa, University, Hardin Library. Eimas, R. 1990. Heirs of Hippocrates: The Development of Medicine in a Catalogue of Historic Books in the Hardin Library for the Health Sciences, The University of Iowa. 3rd ed. Iowa City, IA: University of Iowa Press, 705 pp.

    Lilly Library. LeFanu, W. R. 1976. Notable Medical Books from the Lilly Library, Indiana University. Indianapolis, IN: Lilly Research Laboratories, 275 pp.

    Moody Medical Library. Wygant, L. J. 1986. The Truman G. Blocker, Jr., History of Medicine Collections: Books and Manuscripts. Galveston: University of Texas Medical Branch, Moody Medical Library, 432 pp.

    National Library of Medicine

    Index-catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General's Office (U. S. Army), Authors and Subjects. Washington, DC., 1880-1961.
    Online version.

    Each volume covers from the earliest medical literature until about a year before its publication. Books are listed under authors and one subject; articles are listed under one subject. Biographical data and obituaries are included.
    • 1st ser.: 1880-95, 16 v.
    • 2nd ser.: 1896-1916, 21 v.
    • 3rd ser.: 1918-32, 10 v.
    • 4th ser.: 1936-55, 11 v.; Covers A - Mn only; includes literature through 1949.
    • 5th ser. (suppl.): 1959-61, 3 v.; Books only, periodicals not indexed

    Abbreviations of titles of medical periodicals, etc., used in the Index-catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General's Office.
    LOCATION: Widener: Med 100.22.10

    Fulton, J. F. 1951. The Great Medical Bibliographers: A Study in Humanism. Philadelphia, University of Pennsylvania Press, 107 pp. See pp. 67-75.

    Mayer, C. F. 1953. The Index-Catalogue as a tool of research in medicine and history. Pp. 482-93 in Science, Medicine and History: Essays ... in Honour of Charles Singer, ed. by E. A. Underwood. v. 2. London: Oxford University Press.

    Blake, J. B. 1979. A Short Title Catalogue of Eighteenth Century Printed Books in the National Library of Medicine. Bethesda, MD: National Library of Medicine, 501 pp.

    Durling, R. J. 1967. A Catalogue of Sixteenth Century Books in the National Library of Medicine. Bethesda, MD: National Library of Medicine, 698 pp.

    Krivatsy, P. 1971. A Catalogue of Incunabula and Sixteenth Century Printed Books in the National Library of Medicine. Washington, DC: National Library of Medicine, 51 pp. [1st supplement to Durling, 1967, and Schullian, 1950]

    Krivatsy, P. 1989. A Catalogue of Seventeenth Century Printed Books in the National Library of Medicine. Bethesda, MD: National Library of Medicine, 1315 pp.

    New York Academy of Medicine Library. 1969. Subject Catalog. 34 v. Boston: G. K. Hall.

    New York Academy of Medicine Library. 1969- . Author Catalog. Boston: G. K. Hall.

    Yale Medical Library. 1943. The Harvey Cushing Collection of Books and Manuscripts. NY: Schuman, 207 pp.