Specialized Sources for the History of Science

Brush, S. G., ed. 1972. Resources for the History of Physics. Hanover, NH: University Press of New England, 86, 90 pp.

• Part I: Guide to books and audiovisual materials, 86 pp.
• Part II: Guide to original works of historical importance and their translation into other languages, 78 pp.

Brush, S. G. & L. Belloni. 1984. The History of Modern Physics: An International Bibliography. NY: Garland, 334 pp. [From the discovery of x-rays (1895) to the present. Emphasis on items not included in the Isis Cumulative Bibliography or in Heilbron & Wheaton, below]

Heilbron, J. L. & B. R. Wheaton. 1981. Literature on the History of Physics in the 20th Century. (Berkeley Papers in History of Science, 5) Berkeley: University of California, Office of History for Science and Technology, 485 pp.

Home, R. W. 1984. The History of Classical Physics: A Selected, Annotated Bibliography. NY: Garland, 324 pp. [18th & 19th century physics]

[Galileo] International Galilean Bibliography (1965 - )

Continues:
Gentili, E. 1966. Bibliografia Galileiana: fra i due centenari, 1942-1964. (Hildephonsiana, 8) Varese: La Scuola Cattolica, 131 pp.

"Bibliografia Galileiana, 1940-1964; being the second supplement to the original Carli-Favaro Bibliografia Galileiana": pp. i -lxxxii (3d group). In: Galileo, man of science, ed. by E. McMullin. NY:Basic Books, 1968, 455, cii, pp

Boffito, G. 1943. Bibliografia galileiana, 1896-1940. (Indici e cataloghi - Ministero della educazione nazionale, 18) Roma: Libreria dello stato, 310 pp.

Carli, A. and A. Favaro. 1896. Bibliografia galileiana (1568-1895). Firenze, Roma: Tipografia dei Fratelli Bencini, 402 pp. Reprint, Mansfield, CT : Martino Fine Books.

Brush, S. G., ed. 1972. Guide to original works of historical importance and their translation into other languages. In: Resources for the History of Physics. Hanover, NH: University Press of New England, 78 pp.

Darrow, K. K. 1924. Classified list of published bibliographies in physics, 1910-1922. Washington, DC: National Research Council (Bulletin no. 47 (v. 8, pt. 5)), 102 pp.

Ekelöf, S. 1991. Catalogue of Books and Papers in Electricity and Magnetism Belonging to the Institute for the History of Electricity. Göteborg, Sweden: Chalmers University of Technology, 640 pp. Not at Harvard

Ezhela, V. V. et al., eds. 1996. Particle Physics: One Hundred Years of Discoveries: An Annotated Chronological Bibliography. Woodbury, NY: American Institute of Physics, 328 pp. [Covers 1895-1995. Gives references, excerpts or abstracts, and citations of reprints and translations.]

Gartrell, E. G. 1975. Electricity, Magnetism, and Animal Magnetism: A Checklist of Printed Sources, 1600-1850. Wilmington, DE: Scholarly Resources, 125 pp. [Holdings of 5 Philadelphia libraries]

Gluckman, A. G. 1993. The Invention and Evolution of the Electrotechnology to Transmit Electrical Signals without Wires: An Annotated Bibliography of 17th, 18th, and19th Century Experimental Studies of Electrostatic Induction, Spark-gap and Lightning Discharges, Magnetic Induction, Oscillating Circuits, Resonance, and Electromagnetic Wave Propagation. Washington, DC: Washington Academy of Sciences, 239 pp.

Gocht, H. 1911-34. Die Röntgen-Literatur. 15 v. Stuttgart: F. Enke, 387 pp. [Bibliography of literature related to X-rays]

Home, R. W. 1990. Physics in Australia to 1945: Bibliography and Biographical Register. Melbourne: Dept. of History and Philosophy of Science, University of Melbourne and National Centre for Research and Development in Australian Studies, Monash University, 222 pp.

Lecat, M. 1924. Bibliographie de la Relativité. Bruxelles: M. Lamertin, 290, 47 pp.

Mackworth, M. L. 1961. Dissertations in Physics: An Indexed Bibliography of all Doctoral Theses Accepted by American Universities, 1861-1959. Stanford, CA: Stanford University Press, 803 pp.

Mottelay, P. F. 1922. Bibliographical History of Electricity and Magnetism. London: Charles Griffin, 673 pp. Reprint, NY: M. Martino, 1991.

Overmier, J. & J. E. Senior. 1992. Books and Manuscripts of the Bakken. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow, 512 pp. [The Bakken: A Library and Museum of Electricity in Life]

Roberts, V. L. & I. Trent. 1991. Bibliotheca Mechanica. NY: Jonathan A. Hill, 391 pp. [Also covers technological aspects]

Rossetti, F. & G. Cantoni. 1960. Bibliografia Italiana di elettricita' e magnetismo. Cosenza: Editrice Casa del Libros, 117 pp. Not at Harvard

Rouse, H. 1984. Historic Writings on Hydraulics: A Catalogue of the History of Hydraulics Collection in the University of Iowa Libraries. Iowa City: Friends of the University of Iowa Libraries, 135 pp.

Sen, S. N. & S. Chatterjee. 1992, 1993. A bibliography of physics, astronomy astrophysics, and geophysics in India, 1800-1950. Part I: Introduction. Part II: Bibliography. Part III: Author index. Indian Journal of History of Science 27: S1-S77; 28: S79-S219, S221-S501.

Subject Index. Catalogue of Scientific Papers, 1800-1900. Royal Society of London.

Index to: Royal Society of London. Catalogue of Scientific Papers, 1800-1900. London: Royal Society of London, 1867-1925. Vol. 2. Mechanics; v. 3. Physics: pt. 1 - Generalities, heat, light, sound; pt. 2. - Electricity and magnetism.

Subject List of Works on Electricity, Magnetism, and Electro-Technics in the Library of the Patent Office. London: Patent Office, 1904, 286 pp. Not at Harvard

Wallis, P. J. & R. Wallis. 1977. Newton and Newtoniana, 1672-1975: A Bibliography. Folkestone: Dawson, 362 pp. [Primary and secondary material]