Reference Sources
Chronologies, Dictionaries, Directories, Encyclopedias, Handbooks
Science (General): Dictionaries, Directories, Encyclopedias, Handbooks
Applebaum, W., ed. 2000. Encyclopedia of the Scientific Revolution: From Copernicus to Newton. NY: Garland, 758 pp.
Blay, M. and R. Halleux et al. 1998. La science classique, XVIe-XVIIIe siecle: dictionnaire critique. Paris: Flammarion, 870 pp.
--Essays arranged under four sections: Milieux, Réseaux, Institutions (19 essays); Acteurs (24); Concepts et débats (26); Territoires du savoir (9). Name and subject indexes.
Burns, W. E. 2001. The Scientific Revolution: An Encyclopedia. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 386 pp.
--Brief (1-3 pp.) articles on persons, institutions and topics, with (1-3) references. Chronology (1503-1727), pp. 333-342.
Bynum, W. F., E. J. Browne & R. Porter, eds. 1981. Dictionary of the History of Science. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 494 pp.
--Alphabetically arranged list of concepts.
Darmstaedter, L. 1908. Handbuch zur Geschichte der Naturwissenschaften und der Technik. Berlin: Julius Springer, 1262 pp. Reprint, NY: Kraus, 1960. [List of events from 3500 BC to 1908]
Elliott, C. A. 1996. History of Science in the United States: A Chronology and Research Guide. NY: Garland, 543 pp.
Garrett, D. and E. Barbanell, eds. 1997. Encyclopedia of Empiricism. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 455 pp.
Hessenbruch, A., ed. 1998. Reader's Guide to the History of Science. London: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1000 pp.
Jasanoff, S., ed. 1995. Handbook of Science and Technology Studies. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 820 pp.
Jayawardene, S. A. 1982. Reference Books for the Historian of Science: A Handlist. London: Science Museum (Occasional Publication no. 2), 229 pp. [Over half comprised of general reference works of interest to the historian of science]
Krebs, R. E. 1999. Scientific Development and Misconceptions through the Ages: A Reference Guide. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 286 pp.
Lecourt , D. 1999. Dictionnaire d'histoire et de philosophie des sciences. Paris: Presses universitaires de France, 1032 pp. Indexes of names and subjects.
Mayerhöfer, J., ed. 1959-79. Lexikon der Geschichte des Naturwissenschaften: Biographien, Sachwörter und Bibliographien. Wien: Hollinek, 8 pts. Continued by: Archiv der Geschichte der Naturwissenschaften. Wien: Hollinek, 1980 - .
Newton, D. E. 1999. Social Issues in Science and Technology: An Encyclopedia. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 303 pp.
Newton-Smith, W. H., ed. 2000. A Companion to the Philosophy of Science. Malden, MA: Blackwell Publishers, 576 pp.
--81 articles, with references, on concepts and persons.
Olby, R. et al., eds. 1990. Companion to the History of Modern Science. London: Routledge, Chapman, and Hall, 1081 pp. [Essays the history and historiography of science]
Schlager, N. and J. Lauer, eds. 2000. Science and its times: understanding the social significance of scientific discovery. 7 v. Detroit: Gale.
Sebastian, A. 2001. A Dictionary of the History of Science. NY: Parthenon Pub. Group, 373 pp.
Travers, B., ed. 1994. World of Scientific Discovery: Scientific Milestones and the People Who Made Them Possible. Detroit, MI: Gale Research, 776 pp.
Science (General): Dictionaries, Directories, Encyclopedias, Handbooks- National/Regional Focus
Blondel, C. & A.-C. Vauge. 1994. Répertoire de l'histoire des sciences et des techniques en France. 2nd ed. Paris: Société Française d'Histoire et de Philosophie des Sciences. (Cahiers d'Histoire et de Philosophie des Sciences, n.s., no. 44), 356 pp.
--Directory of researchers, with interests and selected publications, and of institutions, with summaries of activities and publications.
López Piñero, M., et al. 1983. Diccionario histórico de la ciencia moderna en España. 2 v. Barcelona: Pennsula.
Weber, W. 1997. Naturwissenschaftsgeschichte und Technikgeschichte in Deutschland 1993-1996: Eine Übersicht über Forschung und Lehre an den Institutionen. Berichte zur Wissenschaftsgeschichte, v. 20, pp. 1-130.
Firth, M. A., ed. 1956. Handbook of Scientific and Technical Awards in the United States and Canada, 1900-1952. NY: Special Libraries Association, 491 pp.
Kohlstedt, S. G. & M. W. Rossiter, eds. 1985. Historical Writing on American Science: Perspectives and Prospects. Osiris, v. 1 (new series), 321 pp. Reissued by Johns Hopkins University Press, 1986.
Science (General): Terminology, Quotations
American heritage science dictionary. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 2005, 695 p.
Bynum, W. F. and R. Porter, eds. 2005. Oxford dictionary of scientific quotations. Oxford; NY: Oxford University Press, 712 p.
Durbin, P. T. 1988. Dictionary of Concepts in the Philosophy of Science. NY: Greenwood Press, 362 pp.
Fetzer, J. H. and R. F. Almeder. 1993. Glossary of Epistemology/Philosophy of Science. NY: Paragon House, 149 pp.
Gaither, C. C. and A. E. Cavazos-Gaither. 2000. Scientifically Speaking: A Dictionary of Quotations. Philadelphia, PA: Institute of Physics Pub., 482 pp.
Horvitz, L. A., ed. 2000. Quotable Scientist: Words of Wisdom from Charles Darwin, Albert Einstein, Richard Feynman, Galileo, Marie Curie, and More. NY; London: McGraw-Hill, 169 pp.
Jerrard, H. G. & D. B. McNeill. 1992. Dictionary of Scientific Units, Including Dimensionless Numbers and Scales. London: Chapman & Hall, 255 pp. [Definitions and origins, with citations]
Kaplan, R. 2001. Science says: a collection of quotations on the history, meaning, and practice of science. NY: W.H. Freeman, 254 pp.
Mackay, A. L., 1991. A Dictionary of Scientific Quotations. Bristol; Philadelphia: A. Hilger, 297 pp.
--Quotations arranged by speaker, with subject index. Rev. ed. of: Mackay, A. L., ed. by M. Ebison. 1977. The Harvest of a Quiet Eye: A Selection of Scientific Quotations. Bristol: Institute of Physics, 192 pp.
Science (General): Chronologies
Asimov, I. 1994. Asimov's Chronology of Science and Discovery. NY: HarperCollins, 790 pp.
Bruno, L. C. 1996. Science & Technology Firsts. Detroit, MI: Gale Research, 636 pp.
--Prehistory-1996. Arranged in chapters by subjects. Includes medicine. Name/subject index.
Elliott, C. A. Chronology of Science in the United States 1790-1910 in: History of Science in the United States: Research Aids for the Nineteenth Century.
--Print version: History of Science in the United States: A Chronology and Research Guide. NY: Garland, 1996, 543 pp.
Francis, R. L. 1997. The Illustrated Almanac of Science, Technology, and Invention Day by Day: Facts, Figures, and the Fanciful. NY: Plenum Press.
--Arranged by day of year, then by year. Name, but no subject, index.
Gascoigne, R. M. 1987. Chronology of the History of Science, 1450-1900. NY: Garland, 585 pp.
Hellemans, A. & B. Bunch. 1988. The Timetables of Science: A Chronology of the most Important People and Events in the History of Science. NY: Simon & Schuster, 656 pp.
Magill, F. N., ed. 1991. Great Events from History. II. Science and Technology. 5 v. Pasadena: Salem Press. [20th century] Not at Harvard
Marcorini, E., ed. 1988. The History of Science and Technology: A Narrative Chronology. 2 v. NY: Facts on File. [V. 1: Prehistory-1900; v. 2: 1900-1970]
Mount, E. & B. A. List. 1994. Milestones in Science and Technology: The Ready Reference Guide to Discoveries, Inventions and Facts. 2nd ed. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 206 pp.
Ochoa, G. 1997. The Wilson Chronology of Science and Technology. NY: H.W. Wilson, 440 pp.
--Prehistory-1997. Appendix with birth/death dates . Substantial (pp. 373-440) name and subject index.
Parkinson, C. L. 1985. Breakthroughs: A Chronology of Great Achievements in Science and Mathematics, 1200-1930. Boston: G. K. Hall, 576 pp.