Primary Sources: Bibliographies
Science (General): Guides to Sources (Primary and Secondary)
Brush, S. G. 1988. The History of Modern Science: A Guide to the Second Scientific Revolution, 1800-1950. Ames: Iowa State University Press, 544 pp.
Corsi, P. and P. Weindling, eds. 1983. Information Sources in the History of Science and Medicine. London: Butterworth, 531 pp. [Bibliographical essays]
Durbin, P. T., ed. 1980. A Guide to the Culture of Science, Technology, and Medicine. NY: Free Press; London: Collier Macmillan, 723 pp.
Review essays and bibliographies on:
- History of science
- History of technology
- History of medicine
- Philosophy of science: historical, social, and value aspects
- Philosophy of technology
- Philosophy of medicine
- Sociology of science and technology
- Medical sociology and science and technology in medicine
- Science policy studies
Elliott, C. A. 1985. Bibliographies, reference works, and archives. Pp. 295-310 in Historical Writing on American Science: Perspectives and Prospects. Ed. by S. G. Kohlstedt & M. W. Rossiter. Osiris, v. 1 (new series), 321 pp. Reissued by Johns Hopkins University Press, 1986.
Knight, D. M. 1975. Sources for the History of Science, 1660-1914. Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press, 223 pp. [On the use and varieties of primary sources]
Russo, F. 1969. Elements de bibliographie de l'histoire des sciences et des techniques. Paris: Hermann, 214 pp.
Sarton, G. 1952. Horus: A Guide to the History of Science. A First Guide for the Study of the History of Science with Introductory Essays on Science and Tradition. Waltham, MA: Chronica Botanica; NY: Ronald Press Co., 316 pp.
Thornton, J. L., ed. by A. Hunter. 2000. Thornton and Tully's Scientific Books, Libraries, and Collectors: A Study of Bibliography and the Book Trade in Relation to the History of Science. 4th ed. Aldershot; Brookfield, VT : Ashgate, 405 pp.
Weiss, B. 1990. Wie finde ich Literatur zur Geschichte der Naturwissenschaft und Technik. 2nd ed. Berlin: Verlag Arno Spitz, 454 pp.
Science (General): Primary Sources: Printed
Besterman, T. 1965-66. A World Bibliography of Bibliographies and of Bibliographical Catalogues, Calendars, Abstracts, Digests, Indexes, and the Like. 4th ed. 5 v. Lausanne, Societas Bibliographica.
Includes the references in: Besterman, T. 1971. Physical Sciences: A Bibliography of Bibliographies. 2 v. Totowa, NJ: Rowman & Littlefield, 677 pp. Not at Harvard
Crombie, A. C. 1994. Styles of Scientific Thinking in the European Tradition: The History of Argument and Explanation Especially in the Mathematical and Biomedical Sciences and Arts. 3 v. London: Duckworth.
Bibliography. I. Sources (v. 3, pp. 1831-1960) lists primary sources used. Often includes citations for translations and modern printed versions in larger works (e.g., anthologies).
Gascoigne, R. M. 1984. A Historical Catalogue of Scientists and Scientific Books: From the Earliest Times to the Close of the Nineteenth Century. NY: Garland, 1177 pp.
Kafker, F. A., ed. 1981. Notable Encyclopedias of the Seventeenth and Eighteenth Centuries: Nine Predecessors of the Encyclopedie. (Studies on Voltaire and the Eighteenth Century, 194). Oxford: Voltaire Foundation, 252 pp.
Klebs, A. C. 1938. Incunabula Scientifica et Medica. Osiris, v. 4, pp. 1-359. Reprint, Hildesheim: Georg Olms, 1963.
A List of Bibliographies of Special Subjects, July, 1902. Chicago, IL: John Crerar Library, 1902, 504 pp.
Bibliographies arranged by subject largely on science, technology, and technical subjects. Works included date from the late 19th and early 20th centuries.
Medicine and Science: A Bibliographical Catalogue of Historical and Rare Books from the 15th to the 20th Century. London: William Dawson and Sons (Catalogue no. 91), 1956, 610 pp.
Peddie, R. A. 1933-48. Subject Index of Books Published before 1880, A-Z. Series 1-[4]. 4 v. London, Grafton.
Series 1, 1933, 745 pp.; Series 2, 1935, 857 pp.; Series 3, 1939, 945 pp.; Series [4] New Series, 1948, 872 pp.Peddie emphasizes smaller, more obscure subjects, hitherto poorly covered in standard bibliographical works. Thus mineral waters are covered in more detail than law. Especially good for technology and out-of-the-way medical subjects. A subject may occur in more than one of the 4 volumes. Series 3 includes cross-references to subjects in Series 1 and 2.
Modeled on: Fortesque, G. K., ed. 1902-03. Subject Index of the Modern Works Added to the Library of the British Museum in the Years 1881-1900. 3 v. London: British Museum. Dept. of Printed Books., 1902-03.
Taylor, A. 1966. General Subject-Indexes since 1548. Philadelphia, PA: University of Pennsylvania Press, 336 pp. [Peddie, pp. 274-277]
Poggendorff, J. C. 1863- . Biographisch-literarisches Handwörterbuch zur Geschichte der exakten Naturwissenschaften. Leipzig: Barth; Berlin: Akademie Verlag. Reprint: Ann Arbor: Edwards, 1945.
Important source providing brief biographical information and full bibliographies for workers in the exact sciences. Includes both deceased and living scientists. Citations for one person may be in more than one volume. Best coverage is for the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.Salié, H. 1966. Poggendorff and Poggendorff. Isis, v. 57, no. 3, pp. 389-392. Information on history and scope.
Köstler, M. 1997. J. C. Poggendorff, Biographisch-literarisches Handwörterbuch zur Geschichte der exakten Naturwissenschaften: Zum 200. Geburtstag der Johann Christian Poggendorff 1996. NTM, v. 5, pp. 174-176.
Stillwell, M. B. 1970. The Awakening Interest in Science during the First Century of Printing: An Annotated Checklist of First Editions Viewed from the Angle of their Subject Content. NY: Bibliographical Society of America, 399 pp.
Books by author under major subject areas, e.g., Medicine. Each subject area is preceeded by a "Subject Analysis" in which authors are listed under narrower topics, e.g., pathology, pediatrics. Main section followed by lists of commentators, editors, places of printing, printers and publishers, and translators; and chronologies of authors (alphabetical under centuries) and of first editions, 1454-1550. Index of authors, titles and subjects, etc.
Young, T. 1807. A Course of Lectures on Natural Philosophy and the Mechanical Arts. 2 v. London: Joseph Johnson. Reprint, NY: Johnson Reprint Corp., 1971. [V. 2, pp. 87-520, has an indexed subject-classified bibliography of over 20,000 references to 1804]
Zeitlinger, H. & H. C. Sotheran. 1921, 1932, 1937, 1952. Bibliotheca Chemico-Mathematica: A Catalogue of Works in many Tongues on Exact and Applied Science with a Subject Index. 2 v. & 3 suppl. in 4 v. London: Henry Sotheran. Reprint: Munich: Kraus, 1980.
Science (General): Primary Sources: Printed - National/regional Focus
Bibliographia scientiae naturalis Helvetica. Bernae, Apud Bibliothecam Nationalem, 1925- .
Bibliographie scientifique francaise. 1re section, Sciences mathematiques et physiques. Paris: Gauthier-Villars et cie, 1903-1950.
Bibliographie scientifique francaise. 2e section, Sciences naturelles et biologiques. Paris: Gauthier-Villars, 1903-1950.
Deniker, J. & R. Descharmes, eds. 1895-1922. Bibliographie des travaux scientifiques (sciences mathématiques, physiques et naturelles) publiés par les sociétés savantes de la France depuis l'origine jusqu'en 1888. Paris: Imp. Nationale, t. 1, t. 2, livr 1.
Arranged by départements and then by city. Incomplete, covers Ain through Sarthe. Complete contents for each volume given. No index.
Florilege des sciences en Belgique pendent le XIXe siecle et le debut du Xxe. 2 v. Bruxelles: Academie royale de Belgique, 1968, 1980. [Reviews of the disciplines with biographical sketches]
Haan, D. B. de. 1883. Bibliographie néerlandaise historique-scientifique des ouvrages importants dont les auteurs sont nés aux 16e , 17e, et 18e siècles: sur les sciences mathématiques et physiques, avec leurs applications. Rome: Imp. des Sciences Mathématiques et Physiques, 424 pp. Reprint, Nieuwkoop: B. De Graaf, 1960. [Bio-bibliography]
Helfer, C. 1994. Dissertationes Latinae: europaische Hochschulschriften des 16.-19. Jahrhunderts. Saarbrucken: Verlag der Societas Latina, Universitat des Saarlandes, 247 pp.
Müller, J. 1883-87. Die wissenschaftlichen Vereine und Gesellschaften Deutschlands im neunzehnten Jahrhundert. Bibliographie ihrer Veroffentlichungen seit ihrer Begrundung bis auf die Gegenwart. 2 v. in 1, Berlin: A. Asher, 878 pp.
Schubring, G. 1986. Bibliographie der Schulprogramme in Mathematik und Naturwissenschaften (wissenschaftliche Abhandlungen) 1800-1875. Bad Salzdetfurth: Franzbecker, 526 pp.
Stapleton, D. H. 1985. Accounts of European Science, Technology and Medicine Written by American Travelers Abroad, 1735-1860, in the Collections of the American Philosophical Society. (Publication of the American Philosophical Society Library, no. 9). Philadelphia: American Philosophical Society Library, 48 pp.
Tibensky, J., M. Hrochová & M. Mauerová. 1976. Biobibliografia prirodnych, lekarskych a technickych vied na Slovensku do roku 1850. 2 v. Specialna bibliografia. Zakladne bibliografie vednych odborov. Martin: Matica slovenska. [Bio-bibliography; v. 1 by person, v. 2 by subject]
Znanost u Hrvata: prirodoslovlje i njegova primjena = Centuries of natural science in Croatia: theory and application. Zagreb: MGC, 1996.
Bilboul, R. R. & F. L. Kent. 1975-76. Retrospective Index to Theses of Great Britain and Ireland, 1716-1950. 5 v. Santa Barbara, CA; Oxford. [Science in v. 2-5]
Schuler, R. M. 1979. English Magical and Scientific Poems to 1700: An Annotated Bibliography. NY: Garland, 148 pp.
Voigts, L. E. and P. D. Kurtz, eds. 1999. Scientific and Medical Writings in Old and Middle English: An Electronic Reference. CD-ROM. Society for Early English and Norse Electronic texts. Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press.
Information on over 8,500, catalogued by incipit, searchable with six indices.
Batschelet, M. W. 1990. Early American Scientific and Technical Literature: An Annotated Bibliography of Books, Pamphlets, and Broadsides. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 136 pp. [Works published between 1665 and 1799]
Pure and Applied Science Books, 1876-1982. 6 v. NY: Bowker, 1982.
Arranged by subject, author and title indexes.
Richardson, R. A. & B. H. MacDonald. 1987. Science and Technology in Canadian History: A Bibliography of Primary Sources to 1914. (Research Tools for the History of Canadian Science and Technology no. 3) Thornhill, Ontario: HSTC Publications, 105 microfiches.
Rink, E. 1981. Technical Americana: A Checklist of Technical Publications Printed before 1831. Millwood, NY: Kraus, 776 pp.
Science (General): Primary Sources: Printed - Library Catalogs
Bernabeu Mestre, J., G. Olague de Ros & G. Peiro Cabrera. 1991. Cataleg del fons cientific (segles XVI/XVIII) de la Biblioteca "Fernando de Loaces", Oriola. Valencia: Edicions Alfons el Magnanim, Institucio Valenciana d'Estudis i Investigacio; Alacant: Institut de Cultura Juan Gil-Albert, 417 pp. (Ciencia 5).
Linet, J. & D. Hillard. 1980. Catalogue des ouvrages imprimés au XVIe siècle. Sciences-techniques-médicine. [Bibliothèque Saint-Genevieve, Paris] Paris: K. G. Saur, 493 pp.
Neidhardt, E. & M. Nida-Rümelin. 1976. Deutsches Museum Bibliothek. Katalog der Druckschriften bis 1750. Libri rari. Munich: Ziffer, 312 pp.
Pietro, Giuseppe di & M. L. Righini Bonelli, eds. 1970. Catalogo della Biblioteca Mediceo-Lorenese. (Istituto e Museo di Storia della Scienza, Biblioteca 8) Florence: Olschki, 578 pp.
Sallander, H. 1955. Bibliotheca Walleriana. The Books Illustrating the History of Medicine and Science Collected by Dr. Erik Waller. 2 v. Stockholm: Almquist & Wiksell. Reprint, NY: M. Martino, 1993.
Zachert, U. et al., ed. 1976-1987. Herzog August Bibliothek [Wolfenbüttel]. Verzeichnis medizinischer und naturwissenschaftlicher Drucke, 1472-1830. 13 v. Millwood, NY: Kraus International; München: Saur. [Access by chronology and place of publication]
Brody, J. & J. Field. 1979. A Catalogue of Books Printed before 1641 in the Science Museum Library. London: Science Museum Library, 43 pp.
Clark, A. J. 1982. Book Catalogue of the Library of the Royal Society of London. 5 v. Frederick, MD: University Publications of America.
Union Catalogue of Scientific Libraries in the University of Cambridge. Books Published before 1801. London: Mansell, 1977. [9 microfiches]
Wightman, W. P. D. 1962. An Annotated Bibliography of the 16th Century Books Relating to the Sciences in the Library of the University of Aberdeen. (v. 2 of his Science and the Renaissance) Edinburgh: Oliver & Boyd. [760 works]
Crowther, S. J. & M. Fawcett. 1968. Science and Medicine to 1870: Pamphlets in the American Philosphical Society Library. Philadelphia: American Philosophical Society Library Publication No. 1, 164 pp.
Gottlieb, J. S. 1992. A Checklist of the Newberry Library's Printed Books in Science, Medicine, Technology, and the Pseudosciences, ca. 1460-1750. NY: Garland, 312 pp.
Hook, D. H. & J. M. Norman. 1991. The Haskell F. Norman Library of Science and Medicine. 2 v. San Francisco: Jeremy Norman.
Roller, D. H. D. & M. M. Goodman. 1976. The Catalogue of the History of Science Collections of the University of Oklahoma Libraries. 2 vols. London: Mansell.
University of Oklahoma. Libraries. 1992. History of Science Collections. Chronological Short-title Catalog [19 microfiches]; History of Science Collections. Short-title Catalog [18 microfiches]. Norman, OK: University of Oklahoma Libraries.
Science (General): Primary Sources: Printed - Lists of periodicals
Bolton, H. C. 1897. A Catalogue of Scientific and Technical Periodicals, 1665-1895; Together with Chronological Tables and a Library Check-List. 2nd ed. Washington, DC: Smithsonian Institution (Smithsonian Miscellaneous Collections, v. 40), 1247 pp. Reprint, NY: Johnson Reprint Corp., 1965
Two alphabetical lists of titles. No geographical access. Subject index.Excludes publications of learned societies, for which see Scudder, below; See also: W. J. Fox. 1908. A list of American books omitted from Bolton's Catalogue of Scientific and Technical Periodicals, 1665-1895. Bulletin of Bibliography, v. 5: 82-85. [Largely local natural history.]
Brown, P. & G. B. Stratton, eds. 1963-65. World List of Scientific Periodicals Published in the Years 1900-1960. 4th ed. 3 v. London: Butterworth.
Catalogue of the Periodical Publications in the Library of the Royal Society of London. London: Royal Society of London, 1912, 455 pp.
Fowler, M. J. 1966. Guides to Scientific Periodicals: Annotated Bibliography. London: Library Association, 318 pp.
Includes geographical and subject guides, but not retrospective guides; emphasis is on journals currently published.
Gascoigne, R. M. 1985. A Historical Catalogue of Scientific Periodicals, 1665-1900, With a Survey of Their Development. NY: Garland, 205 pp.
Periodicals grouped by subject, no geographical access.
Kronick, D. A. 1991. Scientific and Technical Periodicals of the Seventeenth and Eighteenth Centuries: A Guide. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 332 pp.
Magrini, G. 1934. Periodici italiani scientifici, tecnici e di cultura generale. 4a ed. Roma: Tipografia delle Terme, 478 pp.
Scudder, S. H. 1897. Catalogue of Scientific Serials of all Countries Including the Transactions of Learned Societies in the Natural, Physical and Mathematical Sciences 1633-1876. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Library, 358 pp. Reprint, NY: Scholarly, 1965.
Listed by cities under countries; with indexes of cities, titles, and subjects.
Science (General): Primary Sources: Printed - "Great Books" lists
Bruno, L. C. 1987. The Tradition of Science: Landmarks of Western Science in the Collections of the Library of Congress. Washington, DC: Library of Congress, 351 pp.
Dibner, B. 1980. Heralds of Science, as Represented by Two Hundred Epochal Books and Pamphlets Selected from the Burndy Library. Norwalk, CT: Burndy Library/ Washington, DC: Smithsonian Institution, 96 pp.
Horblit, H. D. 1964. One Hundred Books Famous in Science. NY: Grolier Club, 449 pp.
Waleson, A. 1984. Nature Disclosed: Books from the Collections of the John Crerar Library Illustrating the History of Science. Chicago: John Crerar Library, 77 pp.