Secondary Sources, Context, and Background

Chronologies, Dictionaries, Directories, Encyclopedias, Handbooks

Ballentyne, D. W. G. & D. R. Lovett. 1980. A Dictionary of Named Effects and Laws in Chemistry, Physics and Mathematics. 4th ed. London: Chapman and Hall, 346 pp.

Cajori, F. 1928-29. A History of Mathematical Notations. 2 v. Chicago, IL: Open Court.

Gaither, C. C. and A. E. Cavazos-Gaither. 1996. Statistically Speaking: A Dictionary of Quotations. Bristol, UK; Philadelphia: Institute of Physics Pub., 420 pp.

Quotations on statistics and probability theory grouped under major topics, with author and subject indexes.

Grattan-Guiness, I., ed. 1993. Companion Encyclopedia of the History and Philosophy of Mathematics. 2 v. London: Routledge.

Spencer, D. D. 1995. Key Dates in Number Theory History: from 10,529 B.C. to the Present. Ormond Beach, FL: Camelot Pub., 126 pp.

Biographical Sources

Abbott, D. 1985. The Biographical Dictionary of Scientists. Mathematicians. NY: Peter Bedrick, 175 pp.

Andonie, G. St. 1965-67. Istoria matematicii in România. 2 v. Bucuresti: Editura Stiintifica. [With biographical notes and portraits] Not at Harvard

Andonie, G. St. 1971. Istoria matematicilor aplicate clasice din România. Mecanica si astronomie. Bucuresti: Editura Academiei Republicii Socialiste România, 640 pp. [With bio-bibliographies] Not at Harvard

Bell, E. T. 1937. Men of Mathematics. NY: Simon and Schuster, 592 pp.

Biographical Dictionary of Mathematicians: Reference Biographies from the Dictionary of Scientific Biography. 4 v. NY: Scribners, 1991. [Reprint of the mathematical portion of the Dictionary of Scientific Biography]

Chenette, J. 1983. Women of Mathematics from Hypatia to Emmy Noether: A Bibliography of Sources at Harvard. Cambridge, MA: Cabot Science Library, Harvard University, 15 pp.

Rosenfield, B. A. 1993. Reminiscences of Soviet mathematicians. Pp. 75-100 in Golden Years of Moscow Mathematics, ed. by S. Zdravkovska, S. and P. L. Duren. (History of mathematics, v. 6). Providence: American Mathematical Society; London: London Mathematical Society, 271 pp.

Personal accounts of 26 mathematicians.

Fang, J. 1972. Mathematicians from Antiquity to Today. A prelim. ed. Only 1 vol. published. Hauppauge, NY: Paideia, [Pp. 145-341 contain brief biographical information on roughly 600 mathematicians with names beginning A - D].

Franceschetti, D. R. 1999. Biographical Encyclopedia of Mathematicians. 2 v. NY: Marshall Cavendish.

Garding, L. 1998. Mathematics and Mathematicians: Mathematics in Sweden before 1950. (History of mathematics, v. 13). Providence, RI: American Mathematical Society; London: London Mathematical Society, 288 pp.

Biographical information and accounts of contributions, with 40 portraits.

Gottwald, S., H. -J. Ilgauds & K. -H. Schlote, eds. 1990. Lexikon bedeutender Mathematiker. Thun: H. Deutsch, 504 pp. [Around 1800 mathematicians included]

Grinstein, L. S. & P. J. Campbell, eds. 1987. Women of Mathematics: A Biobibliographic Sourcebook. NY: Greenwood Press, 292 pp.

Halmos, P. R. 1987. I Have a Photographic Memory. Providence, RI: American Mathematical Society. [606 photographs of Twentieth Century mathematicians]

Jaguszewski, J. M. 1997. Recognizing Excellence in the Mathematical Sciences: An International Compilation of Awards, Prizes, and Recipients. Greenwich, CT: JAI Press, 275 pp.

Johnson, N. L. and S. Kotz, eds. 1997. Leading Personalities in Statistical Sciences: From the 17th Century to the Present. NY: Wiley, 399 pp.

Mathematics Genealogy Project.

Includes dissertation titles, universities and advisors for over 28,000 mathematicians worldwide, 1796 - . Plan is to include all 20th century mathematicians.

May, K. O. 1973. Bibliography and Research Manual of the History of Mathematics. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 818 pp.

Includes list of biographical publications.

Morrow, C. & T. Perl, eds. 1998. Notable Women in Mathematics: A Biographical Dictionary. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 302 pp.

59 living and deceased mathematicians, with portraits, selected works by and about, and appendixes listing subjects by date of birth and by country of employment and origin.

Newell, V. K. et al. 1980. Black Mathematicians and their Works. Ardmore, PA: Dorrance, 327 pp. [62 bio-bibliographies] Not at Harvard

Nielsen, N. 1910-12. Matematiken i Danmark ... bidrag til en bibliografisk-historisk oversigt. 2 v. Kobenhavn, Kristiana, Gyldendal, Nordisk forlag. [v. 1: 1528-1800; v. 2: 1801-1908]

Brief biographical data and bibliography.

Riesz, M. 1913. Acta Mathematica, 1882-1912. Table generale des tomes 1-35. Uppsala: Almqvist & Wiksells, 179 pp. [With brief biographical information and photographs of authors]

Sanchez Perez, J. A. 1921. Biografias de matematicos arabes que florecieron en Espana. Madrid: Impr. de E. Maestre, 1921. 163 pp.

Siegmund-Schultze, R. 1998. Mathematiker auf der Flucht vor Hitler: Quellen und Studien zur Emigration einer Wissenschaft. (Dokumente zur Geschichte der Mathematik, Bd. 10). Freiburg: Deutsche Mathematiker-Vereinigung; Braunschweig: F. Vieweg, 368 pp.

Biographies and photographs of emigrated mathematicians. Also includes lists of emigrated, murdered, and persecuted German-speaking mathematicians. References to published sources and locations of personal papers given.

Taylor, E. G. R. 1954. The Mathematical Practitioners of Tudor and Stuart England. Cambridge University Press, 443 pp. [Includes c. 500 biographies; covers 1485-1715]

Taylor, E. G. R. 1966. The Mathematical Practitioners of Hanoverian England, 1714-1840. Cambridge University Press, 503 pp. [Includes c. 2200 biographies]

Theseus lists source material on Danish scientists, mainly mathematicians.

Bostock, K., S. Hurt, S. & M. Hurt. 1980. An Index to The Mathematical Practitioners of Hanoverian England, 1714-1840 by E.G.R. Taylor. London: H. Wynter, 23 pp.

Young, R. V. & Z. Minderovic. 1998. Notable Mathematicians: from Ancient Times to the Present. Detroit, Mich.: Gale Research, 1998, 612 pp.

Each article has bibliographies of major books by and of books ad articles about each subject. Many articles portraits. A chronology, Milestones in the History of mathematics, pp. 529-564; Selected Mathematics Awards and Prizes [lists of recipients], pp. 565-577, Bibliography of books, newsletters anmd periodicals, and Internet sites, pp. 579-583.

Primary Sources

Periodical Indexes

Bibliografia matematica italiana, 1950-1972.
LOCATION: Cabot Science: PER 2324

Current Index to Statistics (1974-)

International Catalogue of Scientific Literature A. Mathematics (1901-14). 14 v.

Mathematical book review index, 1800-1940, by L. S. Grinstein.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC QA36.Z99 G75 1992x

Répertoire Bibliographique des Sciences Mathématiques (1894-1912) (Gallica-Math)

Revue semestrielle des publications mathematiques (1893-1934; Societe Mathematique d'Amsterdam) was absorbed by Jahrbuch über die Fortschritte der Mathematik. Article summaries in English, French, or German, arranged by journal, with author and subject indexes, and lists of journals by country. For 1932-34 there are no abstracts, no author index, and an exiguous subject index. 5-year cumulated indexes of authors, subjects, and journals.
LOCATION: Cabot Science: Sci 900.50

Statistical theory and method abstracts, 1964-
LOCATION: Countway Medicine: Abst & Ind Z 7551 I5 (1964-1973)
LOCATION: Littauer: Serials (1964-1976)
LOCATION: Statistics: PERIODICAL (1975- )
LOCATION: Widener: Econ 7901.14. v.5-30 (1964-89) at Harvard Depository. Unbound issues: Periodical Room - Upper Level

Continues:
International journal of abstracts on statistical methods in industry, 1954-1963.
LOCATION: Baker Business: DB.1 I615 (1954-1963)

and

International journal of abstracts: statistical theory and method, 1959-1963.
LOCATION: Countway Medicine: Abst & Ind Z 7551 I5 (1959/1960-1962/1963)
LOCATION: Widener: Harvard Depository Econ 7901.14 (1959/1960-1963)